• October 29, 2020, 04:00:10 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: How to get 802.11 AC wireless ?  (Read 2052 times)

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2192
How to get 802.11 AC wireless ?
« on: August 21, 2016, 08:23:05 PM »


The box says "Minimum requirements: wireless network with 802.11 ac/n/g"  which I assume means 5Ghz.

And I suspect this is the reason for H/W version A2 - the wireless guts got upgraded for 5Ghz AC.  (This is F/W 1.12).

Or maybe not. On another part of the box it says "HD Wireless N outdoor Cloud Camera (DCS-2330L)".

H/W ver A1 says for minimum requirements state: "Wireless (802.11g or 802.11n) Network".


I'm trying to connect to a DIR-890L.  I turned off smart connect and used separate names.  Only the 2.4Ghz shows up in WiFi list.

Forcing 5Ghz name fails to connect.

My DCS-960L is connected via 5Ghz.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How to get 802.11 AC wireless ?
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2016, 07:09:26 AM »

I'll pass this on and see if we can get some info...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2192
Re: How to get 802.11 AC wireless ?
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2016, 08:04:36 AM »

I have a feeling it's probably a misprint on the box. 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How to get 802.11 AC wireless ?
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2016, 08:22:59 AM »

Can you post a capture of the box and this info on it?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2192
Re: How to get 802.11 AC wireless ?
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2016, 09:26:12 PM »

Can you post a capture of the box and this info on it?


newer box on left with "min requirements"





It does state N on the newer box bottom..but odd to throw in 802.11ac in min requirements?




Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How to get 802.11 AC wireless ?
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2016, 06:30:22 AM »

Possible that is a generic compatibility listing in saying that even though you might have a AC mode supporting router, the camera should work with it in hopes that the AC router is broadcasting N mode or mixed modes as well. Seems a bit mis-leading though.  ::)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!