• October 29, 2020, 04:51:01 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: What the heck is going on with SD Recording  (Read 2147 times)

MikeSD

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
What the heck is going on with SD Recording
« on: July 26, 2016, 06:53:55 PM »

I have been using DCS-2330L cameras for over a year.  Have 2 that are working great.  Capture event and motion detection videos and continuous recording at specific times, to SD. Works great.

I just bought a few more of these nice cameras.  But I can't get them to record to SD card.  Everything else works great, with the cameras. Firmware is same on working ones as well as non-working ones.  SD cards are formatted and show the proper folders of Video and Picture.  And on the Live Video page the SD status says, "Ready". So it can be seen.  Why can't I select it? 



Nothing exists in source dropdown, except NONE.  ON the cameras that work they have an option for SD.  Cards have been formatted and you can see in the first image that the folders are correct.



The only thing I can see that is different is the size of the card. But I don't see any limits in the manual on size or type.  This is what's in the non working cameras. I'd just swap memory but the non-working one is up on the roof and it's hard to get to.



Anyone have any idea why SD is not showing up in the option box for recording destination?
« Last Edit: July 26, 2016, 07:12:35 PM by MikeSD »
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2192
Re: What the heck is going on with SD Recording
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2016, 07:23:52 PM »

I'm very sure that generation of camera only supports 32GB cards.

The newer ones support more. (2330L, 2630L, 960L).

Logged

MikeSD

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: What the heck is going on with SD Recording
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2016, 07:38:32 PM »

Solved:

Oh Duh! Forgot to create a Server for SD.   The drop down is a list of servers that are compatible with continuous recording (i.e. the SD card). Once I created the server, there was an option for it.  Records perfectly now.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2016, 07:41:15 PM by MikeSD »
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2192
Re: What the heck is going on with SD Recording
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2016, 06:11:46 PM »


Awesome! Good to know it works on the 2330L.
Logged

echandler

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: What the heck is going on with SD Recording
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2016, 10:45:27 PM »

Can the camera use the entire 64 gigabytes or just 32?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: What the heck is going on with SD Recording
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2016, 07:46:51 AM »

Something in the cameras UI that he seems to reference?: " The drop down is a list of servers that are compatible with continuous recording (i.e. the SD card). Once I created the server, there was an option for it. "
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!