• December 09, 2019, 09:41:56 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5

Author Topic: Now getting disconnects from 2.4Ghz on 890L with 1.09 firmware - help  (Read 14427 times)

BiggShooter

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
  • BiggShooter is BACK!

Just wanted to "chime" in and provide my two cents  :D

After switching to the 890L some time ago, I initially set it up like mystify (controlling all three wifi radios and using three unique SSID's).  I really didn't like the idea of using SC.  I do remember having some issues where my NEST thermostats would "disconnect" from wifi periodically.  I even remember not being able to get them to "connect" back up to the 890L 2.4Ghz radio.  I had to reset the router in order for the Nest Thermostats to "connect" to the 2.4Ghz radio on the 890L. 

After the latest firmware release, I decided "what the hell, I'm going to give SC a try".  Not only was it very simple to setup (less work assigning devices to specific wifi radios), all my issues seen previously with the 2.4GHz radio and my Nest Thermostats did not happen. 

Now, when it comes devices connected both wired and wirelessly, i think I have most people beat!  I have at any given time between 18 and 25 devices connected to the 890 L (wired / wireless).  In all, I have almost 40 devices that COULD be connected.  (iMac / 2 MacBooks / 4 iPhones / 2 iPads / 1 iPad Mini / 2 Apple TV's / 2 Xbox One gaming consoles / 2 Xbox 360 gaming consoles / 2 Nest Thermostats /  2 DirecTV boxes / 3 DirecTV Mini Genies / HP Printer / Phillips Hue / Chamberlain Garage Door / Harmony Smart Control / Withings Scale / 3 Smart TV's).  I've missed a few devices, but I think you get my point.  SC handles these without any issues!  I have no plans of going back to "manually" managing each specific wifi radio.

I too was a bit skeptical switching to SC, and one of the reasons was I didn't want to have to go to each device and change the SSID (it is a lot of work with all the devices I have in my home network).  In all reality, it wasn't a huge issue and now, after switching to SC, I don't have to worry about three different SSID's and only having one SSID makes things less complicated all around.

If I may offer one suggestion, it would be to reset the router to factory default and set it up using SC.  You will have just one SSID to worry about and the router will handle everything else!  it does a great job handling all of my devices connected to 890L.  If anyone has put this router to the test, I think I would be at the front of the line.  The 890L is the most solid performing router I've ever owned.  I've tried a lot of other routers (both D'Llink and other manufactures).  Nothing has performed better for me than the 890L.  I almost gave up on D'Link after the horrid DGL-5500 experiences >:( .  I'm glad I didn't.  Give SC a try - I'll bet you'll be glad you did and see your 2.4Ghz issues go away.

Anyway, just my two cents  ;D

BTW - anyone got two cents I can borrow???   ;D
Logged
My Setup: Cable (200Mbps / 12 Mbps) > Modem (Netgear CM1000) > Router (D-Link DIR-XXXX) > Switch (Netgear Nighthawk S8000 Gaming & Streaming Switch) (HP Pro Curve Switch x2 - J9449-60001)

aka Vigilante

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Im I could have sworn you were asked to use SC Sir.  ::)

LOL

Thanks for the feed back and experience.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BiggShooter

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
  • BiggShooter is BACK!

Im I could have sworn you were asked to use SC Sir.  ::)

LOL

Thanks for the feed back and experience.

 ::) 

Yes, several times.  But, I ultimately chose to use it.  Polish up your COD - BO3 killin' skills, I hate getting shot in the back when I'm entrusting you to cover my "SIX"  ;D
Logged
My Setup: Cable (200Mbps / 12 Mbps) > Modem (Netgear CM1000) > Router (D-Link DIR-XXXX) > Switch (Netgear Nighthawk S8000 Gaming & Streaming Switch) (HP Pro Curve Switch x2 - J9449-60001)

aka Vigilante

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Keep on topic Sir, has nothing to do with my CoD Bo3 Schills.  :P
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mystiky

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37

Okay.  I decided to try the SC.

I manually re-set the 890L to factory defaults, and set everything up.

Will keep you posted.
Logged

BiggShooter

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
  • BiggShooter is BACK!

Okay.  I decided to try the SC.

I manually re-set the 890L to factory defaults, and set everything up.

Will keep you posted.

 :)  Keep us posted!   :)  I'm hoping SC works as well for you as it is for me  ;)
Logged
My Setup: Cable (200Mbps / 12 Mbps) > Modem (Netgear CM1000) > Router (D-Link DIR-XXXX) > Switch (Netgear Nighthawk S8000 Gaming & Streaming Switch) (HP Pro Curve Switch x2 - J9449-60001)

aka Vigilante

mystiky

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37

Okay.  I decided to try the SC.

I manually re-set the 890L to factory defaults, and set everything up.

Will keep you posted.

 :)  Keep us posted!   :)  I'm hoping SC works as well for you as it is for me  ;)

Well, the "grand SC experiment" took just 10 hours -- I am back to NO SC.

1) My Youtube video streams on both TV's would get stuck after about 1 /2 minutes maximum.
2) my Samsung smart-phone had at least two disconnects from WiFi - albeit it did reconnected within 2 minutes automatically.

So, I am back to 1.09 (after I again factory reset the 890L and manually entered my Wireless Info) and have 3 different WIFI networks going using everything that is AUTO / Default -- except for in the Firewall section, where I ENABLED both SPI Pv4 and the Anti-Spoof checking. 

If I continue to have problems, I will downgrade my firmware to the 1.08 version.

In the meantime, I wish had better news for SC but believe me, I wanted it to work out and be proven wrong.  Alas, that was (is) not the case.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Do you know which frequency your devices were connected too when SC was enabled?

I'm thinking your unit maybe faulty rather a FW issue. You seem to be the only one reporting problems and experiencing this particular problem.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mystiky

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37

I have no idea which channels were being used in SC mode, but I am done with the option.  For sure.

I have been running the non-SC WiFi for over 6 hours now, and not one problem so far on all of the 2 bands that are being used (the 2nd 5Ghz is just there, not being used).  I tried Youtube stream, using phones, using the HP laptop...

Again, my unit worked perfectly for 3 or 4 weeks after the initial firmware 1.09 flash.  So I doubt it has gone bad.  But then again, I will keep a close watch on things in the meantime.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2016, 12:31:41 PM by mystiky »
Logged

BiggShooter

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
  • BiggShooter is BACK!

Okay.  I decided to try the SC.

I manually re-set the 890L to factory defaults, and set everything up.

Will keep you posted.



 :)  Keep us posted!   :)  I'm hoping SC works as well for you as it is for me  ;)

Well, the "grand SC experiment" took just 10 hours -- I am back to NO SC.

1) My Youtube video streams on both TV's would get stuck after about 1 /2 minutes maximum.
2) my Samsung smart-phone had at least two disconnects from WiFi - albeit it did reconnected within 2 minutes automatically.

So, I am back to 1.09 (after I again factory reset the 890L and manually entered my Wireless Info) and have 3 different WIFI networks going using everything that is AUTO / Default -- except for in the Firewall section, where I ENABLED both SPI Pv4 and the Anti-Spoof checking. 

If I continue to have problems, I will downgrade my firmware to the 1.08 version.

In the meantime, I wish had better news for SC but believe me, I wanted it to work out and be proven wrong.  Alas, that was (is) not the case.

Sorry to hear SC didn't work out for you.  I'm guessing it is something with the ruuter, as I've had NO issues with SC enabled.  I do have reserved IP addresses for most of my devices, as well as "static" IP address for some devices as well.  I really hope you can get this issue resolved.  It's a great ruuter (even with some existing "bugs" / issues).   :)
« Last Edit: May 14, 2016, 02:56:03 PM by BiggShooter »
Logged
My Setup: Cable (200Mbps / 12 Mbps) > Modem (Netgear CM1000) > Router (D-Link DIR-XXXX) > Switch (Netgear Nighthawk S8000 Gaming & Streaming Switch) (HP Pro Curve Switch x2 - J9449-60001)

aka Vigilante

mystiky

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37

I want to thank everyone who has tried to help me with the issue.   I have been around computers for 30+ years, and I realize that things can start  "slowly" dying -- meaning perhaps my 2.4 GHz antenna technology is failing or getting weaker and weaker BUT I am going to see if the 3-way split band (non SC) holds up after my last factory re-set.  If this again starts to act-up, then I will probably seek to have my unit replaced as I still have 3 months of warranty on it.
So far, after nearly 24 hours, everything is working like it is supposed to.

One thing that is very strange:  Remember when I tried SC two days ago, and told you that my Youtube videos streams would hang after about 1-2 minutes of playing on my TV (yes, I did twice try restarting the TV, but same results)?   Well, the TV is not more than 8 feet physically from my router, and has 5 Ghz capability (it's a 2012 Samsung Smart TV).   I cant imagine that the DIR 890  SC technology would not had been using 5Ghz channels for streaming as I have DLNA set to ON.  Last night, my kids were watching streams for over an hour without any problems using the 5Ghz channel allocated specifically for that TV.

To answer one last question:  No, I have not tried reserving IP (or MAC) addressed to each individual device.   Once again, I never had problems with firmware  1.08 (non SC mode), and no problems until about a month after upgrading to 1.09.   

I'll leave things as they are now,...  and keep you all posted.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Whats the model of this Samsung TV?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mystiky

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37

Its: UN55ES8000 (2012 version)

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/product/UN55ES8000FXZA

I never had a problem streaming to it with my previous router either (Netgear)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

I presume the TV supports 5Ghz frequencies?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mystiky

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37

I presume the TV supports 5Ghz frequencies?

One thing that is very strange:  Remember when I tried SC two days ago, and told you that my Youtube videos streams would hang after about 1-2 minutes of playing on my TV (yes, I did twice try restarting the TV, but same results)?   Well, the TV is not more than 8 feet physically from my router, and has 5 Ghz capability (it's a 2012 Samsung Smart TV).   
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5