• December 07, 2019, 04:26:40 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5

Author Topic: Now getting disconnects from 2.4Ghz on 890L with 1.09 firmware - help  (Read 14417 times)

mystiky

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37

About 4 weeks ago, I finally upgrade to the 1.09 firmware.  I reset the router, cleared the cache and manually re-entered all of the data.

For some reason, during this past week, two times my 2.4Ghz has stopped working.  I have NOT changed anything in the household, and the 5Ghz streams continue to work like a charm (and does the Ethernet connected devices).   We use the 2.4Ghz for our 3 Smartphones and wireless printers.  So we can rule-put the issue with those devices, as each of them is experiencing the same issues.

I do not use SC, as to me, I wish to use my router the "old-fashioned" way.   I never had these problems with the 1.08x firmware (not the BETA, but the last official release), and I am thinking of flashing back down to it.

My 2.4Ghz settings are as follows:

WPA/WPA2-Personal
Mixed 802.11b/g/n
Wi-Fi Channel AUTO
Transmission Power: High
Channel Width: AUTO 20/40Mhz
H20/40 Coexistance: ENABLED

I have tried chaning to 8021g/n only, or making Channel 11 as the Wifi Channel, but again, after about 48-72 hours, this happens again.

Also:  If I go and turn ON the Guest Mode (which is 2.4 Ghz), it does appear on the list of WIFI's, but upon entering the password, one cannot connect to it also.

Anyone have any suggestions / ideas? 
« Last Edit: May 12, 2016, 08:18:33 AM by mystiky »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Now getting disconnects from 2.4Ghz on 890L with 1.09 firmware
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2016, 08:17:18 AM »

Try changing to Mixed G and N mode or single mode N if you don't have any B or G mode devices.
Try channel 1 or 6.
Any other wifi neighbors near by? How many and what channels are they using?
Disable Coexistence while testing single mode N.

I would enable SC and test again. I'm currently using SC and don't see any issues in regards to the time frame you mentioned.


Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mystiky

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37

So, I tried all those and nothing worked until I turned OFF and then back ON the 890L router.  That fixed everything, but I am not about to make a habit of this to every 2-3 days.

I can assure you that something within the 2.4Ghz is the issue, and again, I am uncomfortable with using SmartConnect.  I had so many issues previously that I don't wish to re-live this.

I am thinking of downgrading to the 1.08 firmware if this happens again.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Please try SC enabled to see if the problem continues. I'll ask D-Link about this to see if there is any known issues.

Update, no known issues on 2.4Ghz.

Others have reported good experiences with SC enabled. Please try it.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2016, 09:04:56 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mystiky

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37

When I have SC enabled, I see one name for all of my network names  This "hidden" auto-switching between each is not what I am looking for.  If D-Link did not want us to use these individual 2.4Ghz / 5 GHz modes (or have control over each of them), they would have not made it an option, right?  So, I need this working steadily in the way I want the setup to be.

Facts are:
1) Never had any such problems with 1.08 -- the reason for the upgrade was I thought it was supposed to improve the 2.4Ghz (as its being listed as one of the things)
2) This problem did not happen for the first 3/4 weeks of using 1.09
3) Problem has now repeated itself twice.  No change in the setup fixed the situation. 
4) The only solution.  Turn router OFF and back on 20 seconds later, and everything works.
5) I am using Verizon FIOS , so the DIR-890L is plugged into the Verizon's Actiontec (as it has for the last 9 months since I have owned the 890L).   The DIR-890L is running in ROUTER mode (yes, not AP, as that was also causing problems).

If they can help or anyone else has gone through this, please chime in.

By the way, I am running Windows 7, but that really should not matter in this case.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

What is the Mfr and model # if the Ationtec.

SC should be tested so as to see if the problem continues or not. SC has been working well for others and myself. I presume that since others have not posted about this, that this maybe a local problem with your unit. Were here to help you rule out all areas and to narrow down where the problem maybe coming from. We ask you to enable SC as a step in this direction. Yes I agree that both methods should work either way. However you need to try SC enabled since the last time you did was way back before v1.09 and things have changed since then.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mystiky

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37

Actiontec MI424WR rev I.

I would agree on your SC point, IF after my upgrade from 1.08 to 1.09 developed immediately.  But they did not.  Actually I left SC on v1.08 because if exactly this issue.

But it worked without ANY problems for nearly a month, and suddenly this start last weekend.

I just don't have time to re-program everyone's devices again.  Also the fact that the guest mode was turned on, and that still did not ix the problem tells me that the issue with 2.4Ghz might be a hardware issue.

I would rather downgrade to 1.08 and leave things as they are than try 1.09 in SC mode.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2016, 09:41:19 AM by mystiky »
Logged

Kakashi::.

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 270

When I have SC enabled, I see one name for all of my network names  This "hidden" auto-switching between each is not what I am looking for.  If D-Link did not want us to use these individual 2.4Ghz / 5 GHz modes (or have control over each of them), they would have not made it an option, right?  So, I need this working steadily in the way I want the setup to be.

Facts are:
1) Never had any such problems with 1.08 -- the reason for the upgrade was I thought it was supposed to improve the 2.4Ghz (as its being listed as one of the things)
2) This problem did not happen for the first 3/4 weeks of using 1.09
3) Problem has now repeated itself twice.  No change in the setup fixed the situation. 
4) The only solution.  Turn router OFF and back on 20 seconds later, and everything works.
5) I am using Verizon FIOS , so the DIR-890L is plugged into the Verizon's Actiontec (as it has for the last 9 months since I have owned the 890L).   The DIR-890L is running in ROUTER mode (yes, not AP, as that was also causing problems).

If they can help or anyone else has gone through this, please chime in.

By the way, I am running Windows 7, but that really should not matter in this case.

mystiky,

Disconnects have been reported with the 5Ghz radios but not with 2.4Ghz.  Are most of your devices on 2.4Ghz frequency band? could you try 5Ghz if possible?  and you are correct, you don't need to take advantage of the Smart Connect function if you don't want to, it is only there for those that may not want to manually configure the 3 independent 2.4/5Ghz radios of the router. You are free to assign which wireless client connects to what radio by setting up individual SSIDs and attaching to those as you please. 

I had the problem in the beginning, for now, I have been using the reboot schedule to sort of work around the issue.  You can find the Auto Reboot configuration under Management -> System Admin -> System -> Auto Reboot Configuration.

The problem with the wireless disconnects has ben seen to follow iOS devices although is may be possible that other devices may also see the issue. Please let us know what devices are disconnecting  and describe the symptoms if any in particular.

In my case, trying to connect the device back to the wireless network prompts for the Wi-Fi password again, even though this is part of the WiFi profile already part of my iOS device. Entering the correct password/passphrase for the network will show an "Incorrect password, try again"  message until one of these two action happened: 1- Reboot the router or 2- Turn off wireless on the device and turn back on.  Again this did not happen immediately after the update but about 4 to 6 days of heavy Wi-Fi usage, both on 2.4 and 5Ghz networks.

If you could,  please share the details of what you are seeing. 

Thank you!
« Last Edit: May 12, 2016, 09:43:54 AM by Kakashi::. »
Logged

mystiky

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37

Okay - that's a great idea!

We have 3 Samsung S4 smartphones (soon to be S7) + a HP Laptop.  All 4 lost connectivity to the SSID which is assigned the 2.4Ghz (mixed, as it has ALWAYS been).  Also, we have the phones setup to NO for the smart network switch (which automatically switches between Wi-Fi and mobile networks, and also between 2.4 GHz and 5 Ghz bands), as we are only offering the 2.4 on our SSID for them.

Upon trying to "connect" back to the Samsung S4, I would be told that I was "Saved" by the phone.  If I try to "forget" the SSID and logon with re-entering the password, it would again say "Saved" but in no time did my phone actually say "Connected to WiFi".

Side note:  You know sometimes you get connected to a network somewhere, you see the WiFi bars but nothing on the internet works.  This was never the case.

I  would see all 3 of my SSID networks in my "Network Connections" list, and during my time of trying to make changes on the router and then while it was "saving those" changes, the SSID's would disappear from my Network Connections lists on the phone and then re-appear after the changes were implemented.  So it's not as if the 2.4Ghz SSID just disappears and is not being found by any of the devices.  Its there, but you cannot establish a handshake with it.

Meanwhile, while that was going on, I turned on our Samsung SmartTV, which has 5Ghz WiFi & SSID assigned and started a Youtube video which streamed without any problems.  This tells me that:

1) There is NO problem between DIR890-L / ActionTech (FIOS) / Verizon
2) There is NO problem between DIR890-L and the wired internet connections
3) Our HP laptop had the same issues, therefore this is not smartphone ONLY issue.

Hope this kind of helps...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

I'll add to the Auto Reboot suggestion that I don't have this enabled on my 890L.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mystiky

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37

I'll add to the Auto Reboot suggestion that I don't have this enabled on my 890L.

So let's say this problem creeps-up every 2-3 days.  I can't do a daily reboot, as it will screw-up some things that run for me overnight.  So if I choose a weekly option, most likely it will need to be done sooner than that.

Since we don't have UNLIMITED minutes plans for our phones, having the GREATER RANGE means more than speed for WIFI.  So the idea of moving everything to 5Ghz might solve the connectivity issue, but it will limit the range of our phones to use WiFi.  And yes, we live in a 2 story solid brick house, so it does matter as regards to the signal strength.

I will wait to see if this happens the 3rd time, and I will then go back down to the 1.08 firmware.

« Last Edit: May 12, 2016, 11:09:17 AM by mystiky »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

I'll see if I can replicate this issue as well. I'll disable SC and set up my 2 phones, 2 Nests, camera and iPad to connect to the 2.4Ghz radio only and see what happens.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mystiky

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37

Thanks.  By the way, I am sure I speak for all that we do really appreciate your work!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

I try my best. Just want problems resolved as fast as possible.  ::)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Do you notice when before or after if the usage of the wifi was heavy usage or average or lite?

Any details on what you are doing before this happens? Happen in the middle of something or do you come back the next day or morning and can't get connected?

I'll add to the Auto Reboot suggestion that I don't have this enabled on my 890L.

So let's say this problem creeps-up every 2-3 days.  I can't do a daily reboot, as it will screw-up some things that run for me overnight.  So if I choose a weekly option, most likely it will need to be done sooner than that.

Since we don't have UNLIMITED minutes plans for our phones, having the GREATER RANGE means more than speed for WIFI.  So the idea of moving everything to 5Ghz might solve the connectivity issue, but it will limit the range of our phones to use WiFi.  And yes, we live in a 2 story solid brick house, so it does matter as regards to the signal strength.

I will wait to see if this happens the 3rd time, and I will then go back down to the 1.08 firmware.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5