• October 21, 2018, 06:31:21 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Is camera broken? On net, but no image.  (Read 2901 times)

jjd

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Is camera broken? On net, but no image.
« on: May 10, 2016, 07:34:11 AM »

I have a DCS-2630L that is just two months old.  It has been working fine, but stopped yesterday.

Here's the symptoms: I can connect to the web interface just fine and it seems to operate normally.  Except: when I get to Setup -> Image Setup, the live video box shows a broken image.  Further, I typically grab image frames using wget from the command line from the URL http://<cameraip>/image/jpeg.cgi and now, that retrieves an empty file:

Code: [Select]
$  wget  --user=<user> --password=<password> http://<hostname>/image/jpeg.cgi -O jjd.jpg
--2016-05-10 10:08:13--  http://<hostname>/image/jpeg.cgi
Resolving <hostname> (<hostname>)... <ip address>
Connecting to <hostname> (<hostname>)|<ip address>... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 401 Unauthorized
Reusing existing connection to <hostname>.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 0
Saving to: `jjd.jpg'

    [ <=>                                   ] 0           --.-K/s   in 0s     

2016-05-10 10:08:13 (0.00 B/s) - `jjd.jpg' saved [0/0]

$

As you can see, there is no error, but the resulting file is zero length.  (If I do the same thing but substitute the IP address of my DCS-5222L, it works fine.)

And lastly, connecting via RTSP (which used to work fine) now doesn't connect.

Given that I can connect to the camera's web interface and it works fine seems to indicate there is no network issue with the camera setup.  The fact that the images retrieved are empty and don't generate errors seems to me like there's a hardware problem.  I have rebooted the camera with no success. Suggestions?

I can't try factory reset until I'm in the same physical location as the camera which might be a couple weeks.

Thank you.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46019
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Is camera broken? On net, but no image.
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2016, 07:02:05 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your DCS? Look at the sticker behind or under the camera.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DCSs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

What Mfr and model is the main host router?
What wireless modes are you using?
What is the distance between the Camera and the main host router?
How many other wireless devices do you have connected to the main host router?
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?

I recommend setting a static IP address ON the cameras outside of the main host routers default DHCP IP address pool as a troubleshooting step: 192.168.#.26 DHCP

Test cameras with uPnP and uPnP Port Forwarding both enabled on ALL cameras: DCS Cloud (L) Series Camera Configuration and Mydlink.com

PC Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8, 9, 10 or 11, set compatibility mode and test again.
Disable any security browser Add-ons like No Script and Ad-Block or configure them to allow All Pages when connected to the camera.
Clear all browser caches.

Java up to date?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

jjd

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Is camera broken? On net, but no image.
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2016, 11:14:47 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your DCS? Look at the sticker behind or under the camera.

I cannot tell you as I'm currently a hundred miles away from it.  I'll check when I'm there next.  However, it was just purchased two months ago, so I would expect it would be the latest.

Quote from: FurryNutz
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DCSs web page under status.

The firmware is 1.01.02.  I see there is now a 1.02.02.  I'll give that a try.  Thanks.

Quote from: FurryNutz
  • What region are you located?

I'm in the USA.

Quote from: FurryNutz
What Mfr and model is the main host router?

It's a Asus RT-AC87U, running DD-WRT v3.0-r29440 std (04/11/16).  The RT-AC87U is a dual-band, 802.11ac router, with beamforming enabled on both bands.

Quote from: FurryNutz
What wireless modes are you using?

The router is running in mixed mode, so 802.11b, g, n, ac.

Quote from: FurryNutz
What is the distance between the Camera and the main host router?

It is perhaps 40 feet.  It had been working fine with this router at this distance until one morning it just stopped and images retrieved are empty.  And the web application in the camera works fine and is snappy indicating it has a fine connection.

Quote from: FurryNutz
How many other wireless devices do you have connected to the main host router?

Perhaps 6-7 low bandwidth devices (nest thermostat, nest protect, 2 other D-Link cameras, Chumby, a couple laptops and android devices when I'm there).  Also TiVo, Sony Blu-ray, Raspberry Pi on the Ethernet.

Quote from: FurryNutz
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?


Other wifi APs are a hundred feet or more away and site survey shows that they use different channels.  There is nothing else nearby on the 5ghz band.  There is a 2.4ghz phone in the house, but it is rarely used and is not being used now.  Again, this was working fine (100% reliability) and then just stopped.


Quote from: FurryNutz
I recommend setting a static IP address ON the cameras outside of the main host routers default DHCP IP address pool as a troubleshooting step: 192.168.#.26 DHCP

I use DHCP, but with static lookup by MAC addresses.  I know there's no problem with the IP address as I can connect to the web server just fine.

Quote from: FurryNutz
Test cameras with uPnP and uPnP Port Forwarding both enabled on ALL cameras: DCS Cloud (L) Series Camera Configuration and Mydlink.com

UPnP is enabled. I think UPnP port forwarding is irrelevant because it fails on the local network which doesn't need port forwarding.

Quote from: FurryNutz
PC Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8, 9, 10 or 11, set compatibility mode and test again.
Disable any security browser Add-ons like No Script and Ad-Block or configure them to allow All Pages when connected to the camera.
Clear all browser caches.
Java up to date?

Well, my main test case is using the wget command line browser which only retrieves the JPG from http://<cameraname>/image/jpeg.cgi.  Thus there is no cache, no plugins, no Java.  However, it also fails in Chrome on Linux, Chrome on MacOS and Firefox on MacOS.  In particular, the cameras web app in Setup->Image Setup which shows an embedded video (as motion jpg) also fails, and doesn't use any plugins.  It shows a broken image icon.  It also fails when trying to stream RTSP to VLC, and it fails in the Android app "IP Cam Viewer" (which I recommend) and which works with my two other D-Link cameras.

I still think it's a hardware error.  Does anyone think differenly?

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46019
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Is camera broken? On net, but no image.
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2016, 11:20:38 AM »

Try the FW update and see. Be sure the camera has a good wireless signal before updating FW.

You might try changing your main host routers wireless modes from BGN to GN if you don't have any B mode devices.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

jjd

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Is camera broken? On net, but no image.
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2016, 11:56:55 AM »

Try the FW update and see. Be sure the camera has a good wireless signal before updating FW.

Thanks.  I successfully (and remotely) updated the firmware to 1.02.02, but sadly for me, the symptoms remain the same.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46019
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Is camera broken? On net, but no image.
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2016, 01:52:29 PM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: Is camera broken? On net, but no image.
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2016, 02:54:20 PM »

Try the FW update and see. Be sure the camera has a good wireless signal before updating FW.

Thanks.  I successfully (and remotely) updated the firmware to 1.02.02, but sadly for me, the symptoms remain the same.

So no video in any browser while logged into the f/w is the complaint here?

Which Windows version?

Does mydlink app work? Or did you not register it to dlink cloud?
Logged

jjd

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Is camera broken? On net, but no image.
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2016, 06:51:56 AM »

So no video in any browser while logged into the f/w is the complaint here?

Which Windows version?

Does mydlink app work? Or did you not register it to dlink cloud?

Correct.  No video using any method -- the jpg URL, the mjpeg URL, the Web application or 3rd party application using any browser or app.  (While at the same time, the camera appears to otherwise be operating correcatly.  i.e. the web application.)

I don't use Windows, typically.  I have tried Linux, MacOS and Android.

I also don't typically use the mydlink app, preferring the IP Cam Viewer android app.  I had registered with mydlink and checking just now, it shows my other cameras working fine and a red X next to the failing one.

Responding to FurryNutz suggestion to contact DLink -- I will do that once I get my physical hands on the camera. 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46019
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Is camera broken? On net, but no image.
« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2016, 07:10:11 AM »

So was the camera replaced after the power company fixed the problem they created?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

jjd

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Is camera broken? On net, but no image.
« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2016, 07:35:05 AM »

So was the camera replaced after the power company fixed the problem they created?

No, you misunderstood.  I didn't have any cameras in the house at the time the neutral problem happened.  I acquired them subsequently.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46019
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Is camera broken? On net, but no image.
« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2016, 07:37:06 AM »

Ok, reading your other post mentioning that you had a power problem. Just wanted to verify when that happened. I would remove that post or modify it so they know cameras were not apart of that problem. Clarify is best.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46019
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Is camera broken? On net, but no image.
« Reply #11 on: May 12, 2016, 08:19:29 AM »

Thanks for clarifying that. A bit early here this morning. Coffee still kicking in.  :P
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

jjd

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Is camera broken? On net, but no image.
« Reply #12 on: May 17, 2016, 07:21:55 AM »

I finally was in the same location as the camera.   After power cycling the camera, it worked fine.

I have this camera sitting in a window where the sun sometimes shines on it.  I wonder if this could be a symptom of overheating?

I'll keep monitoring the situation.

Thanks for your advice.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2016, 06:49:53 AM by jjd »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46019
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Is camera broken? On net, but no image.
« Reply #13 on: May 17, 2016, 07:33:34 AM »

If sun is getting to it, possible over heating issue. Try a shady spot or place some sun block material over the unit if possible, depending on sun light direction. Keep us posted.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: Is camera broken? On net, but no image.
« Reply #14 on: May 17, 2016, 09:56:17 AM »

Keep it away from anything flammable.  The thing run pretty hot as it is.
Logged