Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: DIR-825 B1 new 2.02NA Firmware - Does it fix issues?  (Read 83235 times)
BigBlueShock
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 7


« on: July 14, 2009, 09:03:23 AM »

My DIR-825 B1 is basically a brick now with the WAN connection issues, so I figured might as well update to this 2.02NA Firmware posted on the Softpedia website. 
http://drivers.softpedia.com/get/NETWORK-CARD/DLINK/DLINK-DIR-825-Rev-B-Xtreme-N-Dual-Band-Gigabit-Router-Firmware-202NA.shtml

Firmware update went through with no problems.  Will be testing for previous WAN issues, and keep the forum updated if they were fixed or not.

Edit: So far so good!! Seems the WAN disconnect problem was fixed Smiley  If I encounter any issues I will post

Fixes:
1. Fixed cannot run Web Filter and MAC filtering at the same time issue.
2. Fixed GUI show allowed char for setting of Device name and Local Domain name.
3. Fixed Link-local only for IPv6 issue.
4. Fixed login format same as DIR-655.
5. Fixed the wps_pin and wps_default_pin is changed to 00000000 when we do reset to unconfigured.
6. Fixed the wps_pin value is changed to default pin when device is reboot.
7. Fixed Manual Uplink speed issue.
8. Add HTTPS option.
9. Fixed DCC cause user could not access internet.
10. Fixed SSID string display for Widget/Gadget.
11. Fixed BT Test fail => DUT will reboot when TCP sessions over 1200
12. Verify BT Cert.
13. Modify IPv6 PPPoE DNS Setting only can set specific DNS server.
14. Fixed when set "http://" inf url filter, the function will fail.
15. Fixed SSID cannot display ´´ on status page.
16. Fixed port forwarding cannot save over 8 rules.
17. Fixed when Enable "Turn MAC Filtering ON and ALLOW computers listed to access the network" function and no input any MAC Address rule, it should appear warning message.
18. Fixed Help page don´t need "BigPond Connection" description.
19. Fixed Help Page does not have "Advanced DNS service" description.
20. Fixed Help Page does not have "USB SETTINGS" description and Hyper-Link Title.
21. Fixed Access Control - MAC Address filter for Block Some Access.
In Status->Logs page, it should display which one MAC address to access, not display IP Address.
22. Fixed Set Access control rule – Block All first then set MAC filter ALLOW, that LAN PC can access Internet.
23. Fixed Device Reboot issue.
24. Changed firmware version to 2.02NA.
25. Support Mac Safari can display autograph pictures.
26. Support Advanced DNS.
27. Support Schedule cannot over 24HR issue.
28. Fixed cipher type default is TKIP and AES on wizard.
29. Fixed 802.11n only not support WPA-Enterprise TKIP.
30. Fixed schedule can´t select data that include space char.
31. Fixed can´t save space char.
32. Modify cipher type from TKIP to both.
33. Fixed wireless title error word string.
34. Removed advanced wireless - Extra Wireless Protection help file.
35. Fixed WPS does not support WEP-Shared KEY and WPA-Enterprise.
36. Fixed WAN disconnect or release Network Status still show Establishing (include DHCP/PPPoE/PPTP/L2TP).
37. Fixed the countdown = 40s when setting internet.
38. Removed RTS Threshold on help.
39. Removed ap mode.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2009, 09:57:19 AM by BigBlueShock » Logged
cessna1466u
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 30


« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2009, 09:27:12 PM »

How safe is it to download a firmware from another company that is not the manufacturer of your router?
Logged
lizzi555
Level 5 Member
*****
Posts: 614


« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2009, 06:10:17 AM »

It is also on thr D-Link FTP:

ftp://ftp.dlink.com/Gateway/dir825_revB/Firmware/

Shareport:
ftp://ftp.dlink.com/Gateway/dir825_revB/Apps/
Logged
TheNerd
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2009, 09:45:01 AM »

I'm having so much trouble with my DIR-825 that I am even scared to update the firmware.  I have issues with even being able to connect/ping the router from a wired connection during the random WAN "blackouts", so I am a little afraid that the firmware update will fail and I will have a REAL brick.

Anyway, I am so dissatisfied with this router so far that if I have to hit it with a hammer it'll be worth the cost.

Has anyone else with the B1 version updated to the new firmware?  If so, is the router "fixed" or are there still issues?
Logged
claykin
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 112


« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2009, 07:47:40 AM »

I'm having so much trouble with my DIR-825 that I am even scared to update the firmware.  I have issues with even being able to connect/ping the router from a wired connection during the random WAN "blackouts", so I am a little afraid that the firmware update will fail and I will have a REAL brick.

Anyway, I am so dissatisfied with this router so far that if I have to hit it with a hammer it'll be worth the cost.

Has anyone else with the B1 version updated to the new firmware?  If so, is the router "fixed" or are there still issues?

Purchased a B1 rev last week.  Immediately upgraded to V2.02NA firmware.  I have not had a single problem with it yet.  I have wired connections and am actively using both 2.4 and 5Ghz bands.
Logged
TheNerd
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2009, 07:13:03 AM »

Firmware 2.02NA has fixed all the issues I was having with the router...
Logged
dioden
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2009, 11:17:12 PM »

Firmware 2.02NA has fixed all the issues I was having with the router...

Just bought mine 825 yesterday, delivered with v2.00EU, was trying to upload v2.02NA but it revokes that firmware, now I'm sitting with a 655 and a 825 and both works like ****. Wonder why they make a firmware that don't works on the product. ..
Logged
ChickenMan
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 50


« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2009, 09:15:21 AM »

Try downloading the proper firmware
--> 2.02NA (The NA is short for North America)
--> 2.02EU (The EU is short for Europe and Canada)

NA
ftp://ftp.dlink.com/Gateway/dir825_revB/Firmware/dir825_revB_firmware_202NA.zip


EU
ftp://ftp.dlink.de/dir/dir-825/driver_software/DIR-825_fw_revb_201EUb15_ALL_multi_20090612.zip
ftp://ftp.dlink.co.uk/dir_products/dir-825/DIR-825EU_B1_Beta.zip
Logged
PapaBaugh
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 10


« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2009, 09:08:29 AM »

Upgraded to 2.02NA to correct the WAN disconnect problem.  Now It Does Not Connect AT ALL!

Yes, I unplugged the cable modem a few times during the ordeal.  I can still plug the desktop directly into the cable modem and it works fine. 

Can someone please help me? 

HW: B1
Service: Comcast
Cable Modem: "SURFboard SB3100"

I thought someone reading this post might have encountered this issue.... but I'm on this thread too:  http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=7791.0
Logged
brtlatjgt
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2009, 09:16:01 AM »

try resetting router.  It will keep your updated firmware.  Just reset and then let the auto wizard config and see what happens
Logged
PapaBaugh
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 10


« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2009, 10:05:43 AM »

Thank you, brtlatjgt,

I tried that (again) just now.  No luck.  I've read elsewhere that holding down the reset button for 40 seconds might do something different.  Anyone know?  -Ryan
Logged
brtlatjgt
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2009, 10:38:19 AM »

When resetting my linksys It would make a difference if I held it down for 30 sec.

I'm sure your doing this--but your not plugging into the lan port.  Your plugging into wan port--right? Smiley
Logged
PapaBaugh
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 10


« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2009, 11:14:11 AM »

 Smiley thanks.  ports are correct. 
Logged
BassMan
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 70



« Reply #13 on: September 04, 2009, 07:49:28 PM »

Thank you, brtlatjgt,

I tried that (again) just now.  No luck.  I've read elsewhere that holding down the reset button for 40 seconds might do something different.  Anyone know?  -Ryan

When I was configuring mine, at one point, I reset for 30-50 seconds (didn't time), and the firmware itself was reset; the firmware itself was "wiped" (or so it seems).  Not just the settings, but the firmware itself!  When I went to 192.168.0.1, I was prompted by some sort of "boot-loader" (my term), asking for the binary containing the firmware.  Fortunately, I had 2.02NA on-hand. 

My sequence of events was:
1) Original HW:B1
2) Upgraded firmware
3) Long reset (30-50 seconds)
4) Boot-loader prompted for firmware binary (I gave it 2.02NA)
Logged
PapaBaugh
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 10


« Reply #14 on: September 06, 2009, 09:53:37 AM »

I'll try this sequence to see if it works.  Haven't tried the long reset yet.  Thanks, I'll let you know! 

-Ryan
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.