• November 14, 2019, 01:53:39 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: 890 L random reboot and ping jump sky high  (Read 3558 times)

Perfod

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
890 L random reboot and ping jump sky high
« on: April 01, 2016, 04:02:29 AM »

Hi , i just bought a 890L a few month ago.
I got a little problem with the Router , it Reboots randomly sometimes.
Using latest official firmware.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2016, 03:05:23 PM by Perfod »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 890 L random reboot
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2016, 07:34:04 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Ensure that different SSID names are used between each WiFi 2.4/5Ghz radios when SmartConnect is disabled. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighbouring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N or AC on 5Ghz?
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 48 or 149 on 5Ghz.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are default.
  • For routers with Smart Connect Technology , try disabling this feature and test. Under Wireless.

Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
3-6' feet minimum safe distance between devices.
Placement on main level floor and central in the building and WELL ventilated is preferred. Not in basements or closets as building materials, or near by electronics devices could interfere or hinder good signal propagation.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-basics/31083-smallnetbuilders-wireless-faq-the-essentials
http://www.foxnews.com/tech/2015/10/27/how-to-get-stronger-wi-fi-signal.html?icid=maing-grid7|main5|dl31|sec1_lnk3%26pLid%3D1839803170
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-features/32896-will-a-new-ac-router-bring-you-wifi-joy
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Perfod

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: 890 L random reboot and ping jump sky high
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2016, 03:11:25 PM »

Hardware version is your router? HW:A1
Firmware version FW:1.08
Region : Eu
Router is mounted on the wall away from other electrical devices.
Wireless connected , tried with smart setup and normal/manuel , same problem.

Another problem i have is that, when my son is playing Counter Strike the ping is 40 about 2 days , after 2 days the ping jumps sky high to about 250-260.
If i restart the pc the problem is the same , i need to restart the router to make if go back to normal.
Any suggestion to that problem. 

Sp the bottom line is there is two problems, The ping problem , and the problem with the router suddenly reboots.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2016, 03:14:05 PM by Perfod »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 890 L random reboot and ping jump sky high
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2016, 07:06:43 AM »

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Ensure that different SSID names are used between each WiFi 2.4/5Ghz radios when SmartConnect is disabled. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighbouring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N or AC on 5Ghz?
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 48 or 149 on 5Ghz.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are default.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Perfod

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: 890 L random reboot and ping jump sky high
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2016, 12:31:44 PM »

I just installed the 1.09 beta yesterday , and so far it is working fine.
I will post in a few days hows going.
It seem slike the 1.09 is much better to put the clients on the different network.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 890 L random reboot and ping jump sky high
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2016, 12:48:54 PM »

Let us know how it goes. Please fill in details so we can get a good idea of the situation.

Hope it works better.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Perfod

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: 890 L random reboot and ping jump sky high
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2016, 05:43:42 AM »

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?  CABEL
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?  NETGEAR CG3200

Wireless Configurations

What wireless modes are you using? SmartConnect
Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N or AC on 5Ghz? Working with Smart Connect
Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 48 or 149 on 5Ghz. Working with Smart Connect
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES. USING WPA2
What wireless devices do you have connected? 3x Android Phone tabs, 3x Iphone, 3x Ipad, 1x Panasonic TV, 1x Synology Nas server 416, 1x Wifi Printer Canon, 2X Media player "little black box and WD TV LIVE" , 1x Onklyo Reciever , 1x Macbook Air, 1 Laptop
Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated. THEY ARE
Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences? NO
Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many? 13x 2,4Ghz and 2x Ghz
If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are default. Using Smartconnet and it works
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 890 L random reboot and ping jump sky high (RESOLVED)
« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2016, 06:59:36 AM »

Glad it working. Be aware that your ISP modem is a gateway and had a build in router and wifi. If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.

Let us know if you encounter anything else.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Perfod

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: 890 L random reboot and ping jump sky high
« Reply #8 on: April 05, 2016, 07:07:37 AM »

Netgear Ip Adress is 192.168.100.1 NAT is turned Off so it should be ok
D-Link 890 Up adress is 192.168.0.1 and set to router mode.
 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 890 L random reboot and ping jump sky high
« Reply #9 on: April 05, 2016, 07:09:49 AM »

Ok.

If the 890L isn't getting a public IP address, then there is possibly a NAT condition here however if your not experiencing any issues. You'll be ok. Most problems with NAT are seen with gaming consoles.  ::)

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Perfod

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: 890 L random reboot and ping jump sky high
« Reply #10 on: April 06, 2016, 08:43:05 AM »

The Dlink 890 is getting the IP Adress from my ISP , no IP adress in the Netgear router/modem
« Last Edit: April 06, 2016, 09:10:09 AM by Perfod »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 890 L random reboot and ping jump sky high
« Reply #11 on: April 06, 2016, 08:44:35 AM »

 ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting