• July 04, 2020, 05:58:24 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Propagate deletions over LAN backup?  (Read 798 times)

iron83

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Propagate deletions over LAN backup?
« on: March 07, 2016, 07:04:43 AM »

Hi I have just bought one of these and overall like what I have seen so far. I have created a backup job from a PC on the LAN to the NAS and it works except if I delete a file on the PC, it does not delete on the NAS. I understand some people might want this behaviour to make sure nothing is ever deleted, but I was hoping for a 'mirroring' behaviour from PC -> NAS. I don't really want to have to install sync software on the PC unless I have to.

Any ideas?

Thanks
Will
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1474
Re: Propagate deletions over LAN backup?
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2016, 01:23:32 PM »

Since you have created a BACKUP job from your PC to the NAS you are getting exactly what you asked for, a backup.

The fact you want to delete backed up files (you lose your backup) you will have to do that manually from something like 'Network' in windows explorer.  Just open the folder on the NAS and delete away to your hearts content but please realise unless you have another copy of those files they are gone for ever.
Logged