• August 19, 2019, 02:38:33 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: DWA-162 does not see 5GHz network...  (Read 9482 times)

Brett6915

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
DWA-162 does not see 5GHz network...
« on: February 09, 2016, 04:51:15 PM »

So I just purchased a DIR-836L and a DWA-162... The router 5GHz radio is enabled and I have a DAP-1513 connected to the 5GHz network along with some other "Netgear" USB adpters.
The DWA-162 however does not see any 5GHz networks.
Windows 10 Pro...

Any known solution for this? Will there be a Windows 10 driver released?

TYIA
« Last Edit: February 10, 2016, 08:40:46 AM by Brett6915 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47689
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DWA-162 does not see 5GHz network...
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2016, 08:42:23 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Wireless Configurations
  • What wireless modes are you using on the router?


Temporarily disable WPA on the router and see if the 162 sees either 2.4 or 5Ghz radios. Re-enabled after testing.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Brett6915

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: DWA-162 does not see 5GHz network...
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2016, 09:16:14 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Wireless Configurations
  • What wireless modes are you using on the router?


Temporarily disable WPA on the router and see if the 162 sees either 2.4 or 5Ghz radios. Re-enabled after testing.

The DIR-836L is H/W version A1
Firmware is 1.04.
USA
2.4ghz is on N only channel 9, 5ghz is N only channel 149, SSID is being broadcast.
I disabled WPA as requested... The DWA-162 still does not see the 5ghz network.
I do have a DAP-1513 and wnda-3100v2 connected to the 5ghz netwok.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2016, 10:18:44 AM by Brett6915 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47689
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DWA-162 does not see 5GHz network...
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2016, 10:11:12 AM »

Let us know if the 162 connects to the 836 with out WPA enabled. Try manual channel 48 on the 836L. You might try setting up either the 1513 or the 3100 as a main AP, disable the 836s radios fully then check to see if the 162 will connect to either 1513 or 3100. If it does then there maybe a problem between the 836L and 162. If the 162 fails to connect to either 1513 or 3100 then the problem is the 162.

I see there isn't any new drivers for the 162 and it's not on the Windows 10 compatibility list.

Keep us posted.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Brett6915

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: DWA-162 does not see 5GHz network...
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2016, 10:21:38 AM »

Let us know if the 162 connects to the 836 with out WPA enabled. Try manual channel 48 on the 836L. You might try setting up either the 1513 or the 3100 as a main AP, disable the 836s radios fully then check to see if the 162 will connect to either 1513 or 3100. If it does then there maybe a problem between the 836L and 162. If the 162 fails to connect to either 1513 or 3100 then the problem is the 162.

I see there isn't any new drivers for the 162 and it's not on the Windows 10 compatibility list.

Keep us posted.
I disabled WPA as requested... The DWA-162 still does not see the 5ghz network.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47689
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DWA-162 does not see 5GHz network...
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2016, 10:23:08 AM »

Ok, let us know if you can set the 1513 or 3100 up as a primary AP, disable the radios on the 836L and then test.

Eh, scratch that, after looking at the 1513 web page, I forgot that this model is a bridge only I think. Can your other 3100 do any AP modes?
« Last Edit: February 10, 2016, 10:24:59 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Brett6915

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: DWA-162 does not see 5GHz network...
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2016, 10:35:11 AM »

Ok, let us know if you can set the 1513 or 3100 up as a primary AP, disable the radios on the 836L and then test.

Eh, scratch that, after looking at the 1513 web page, I forgot that this model is a bridge only I think. Can your other 3100 do any AP modes?
Sorry nope... I have manually set the 5ghz radio to channel 48 and 149 to see if the DWA-162 would see either channel... and still not working.

I find it really sad that DLink is not supporting Win10 on a product they still sell.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47689
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DWA-162 does not see 5GHz network...
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2016, 10:39:34 AM »

Do you have a different router or AP that you can test the 162 out on?
Has the 162 worked at all on 5Ghz?  ???

Is the 836L using the latest FW from the web site or from here? http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=64375.0

I'll inquire about the 162 and Windows 10 support.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Brett6915

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: DWA-162 does not see 5GHz network...
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2016, 10:49:57 AM »

Do you have a different router or AP that you can test the 162 out on?
Has the 162 worked at all on 5Ghz?  ???

Is the 836L using the latest FW from the web site or from here? http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=64375.0

I'll inquire about the 162 and Windows 10 support.
I purchased the DIR-836l and DWA-162 to move my network to 5ghz... most of my immediate neighbors are using 2.4 and the air is getting crowded.
So I do not own another 5ghz device... and there are no other 5ghz networks in my area.

The firmware version is 1.04 from the main support page... is that different than the one you linked me?

TYIA
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47689
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DWA-162 does not see 5GHz network...
« Reply #9 on: February 10, 2016, 11:25:27 AM »

Ok.
The one from the link is different has it has some security fixes in it. I'm not sure if it would fix this issue or not. You can try it and see. If something happens you can roll back and use the one from the main site. Just follow the FW update process if you do.

Any chance you have a friend or neighbor with a 5Ghz router you can take the 162 too and test?
Only other test would be to try a windows 7 PC.

I'll check with D-link on this. It maybe a 162 driver issue for windows 10. 
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Brett6915

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: DWA-162 does not see 5GHz network...
« Reply #10 on: February 10, 2016, 11:41:20 AM »

So normally I read reviews before I buy tech products... but I have never had any issues with DLink products in the past so did not do any "homework" on the DWA-162 before buying.
I liked the remote mount/free standing design to get the adapter out from behind the PC.
Well just looking at the "reviews" on Amazon... Lets say that I'm not the only person with this issue.

I'll give the "beta firmware" a try but i doubt it will fix the driver issue.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47689
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DWA-162 does not see 5GHz network...
« Reply #11 on: February 10, 2016, 11:47:25 AM »

I do as well. I also have the 836L however I don't have the DWA-162.

I think the 162 had limited development time and certainly could use an update for it's drivers. I'll check with D-Link.
Are you with in your return period for the 162 still?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47689
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DWA-162 does not see 5GHz network...
« Reply #12 on: February 10, 2016, 11:58:56 AM »

I think I found some newer drivers for the 162 that you should try: DWA-162 A1 FW v1.01(for WW)
http://tsd.dlink.com.tw/downloads2008detailgo.asp
There dates just last Nov. There only for up to windows 8, however might work for you on 10. Worth a try. I'd remove fully the current drivers, reboot, then resinstall using the new and see.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Brett6915

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: DWA-162 does not see 5GHz network...
« Reply #13 on: February 10, 2016, 12:05:59 PM »

I think I found some newer drivers for the 162 that you should try: DWA-162 A1 FW v1.01(for WW)
http://tsd.dlink.com.tw/downloads2008detailgo.asp
There dates just last Nov. There only for up to windows 8, however might work for you on 10. Worth a try. I'd remove fully the current drivers, reboot, then resinstall using the new and see.
Alrighty tyvm... I'll give it a shot.
Yes I could return the DWA-162 if needed.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47689
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DWA-162 does not see 5GHz network...
« Reply #14 on: February 10, 2016, 12:22:02 PM »

Let us know how it goes.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2