• September 19, 2019, 08:07:52 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Resetting orange blinking router  (Read 1717 times)

olivierr1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Resetting orange blinking router
« on: December 18, 2015, 07:40:52 AM »

hi all,

I bought this DIR 868L router yesterday and wanted to install it today, went to the 'online settings page' via its IP adress.. suddenly it says me there is a new firmware version, i update it and now the router is blinking orange and not doing anything. i already tried to reset it via the paperclip hole... i found the topic on this forum about emergency reset.. but this router doesnt seem to want to reset.. any solution or someone that can lead me through the reset procedure (i don't think i did it wrong but.. its just not working)

thanks in advance
olivier
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47761
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Resetting orange blinking router
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2015, 07:43:31 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?

Do you follow this procedure to the letter?
Emergency Recovery Mode

Be wired to the router and disable all browser add-ons and PC security software.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

olivierr1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Resetting orange blinking router
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2015, 08:01:52 AM »

thanks for the fast reply,

I am located in Belgium, europe..

hardware version B1 fW version 2.00
i always learnt to use wired connection to setup a router so.. wired

i did follow i quite good, to be honest the only thing i didnt do was disable security software.

to be sure you know, i cannot access the any webpage of the router anymore..
via the dos prompt I am able to ping to it weird enough..

also: in the emergency procedure, they say power down ( i suppose the on off button) and disconnect the power cord, but some further you have to connect the power cord again but NOT press the power button? isn't this powerbutton preventing the router from starting up?

thanks again,
Olivier
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47761
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Resetting orange blinking router
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2015, 08:05:19 AM »

Leave the power butting in the ON position when you do the recovery procedure.

If you can't get the recovery procedure to work and get the router back to a ready condition, you'll need to either return the router for another one or phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for an RMA.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

olivierr1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Resetting orange blinking router
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2015, 08:20:52 AM »

for one or other strange reason, I suddenly got a page for the recovery, so i was able to do firmware update! the power indicator is now turned green, but now I can not enter the router ip adress via internet browser  ???

thanks again for the advise!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47761
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Resetting orange blinking router
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2015, 08:25:07 AM »

Clear any browser caches and try again to get access at 192.168.0.1. Try a different PC to see if you can get the routers web page.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting