• October 23, 2019, 03:20:24 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Problems with Using as Access Point  (Read 3619 times)

CM1977

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Problems with Using as Access Point
« on: December 13, 2015, 06:49:37 AM »

Hi,

My networking knowledge is fairly limited, but I've managed to configure my new DIR-868L to connect as an access point to my Archer C7 router. My configuration is as follows:

Modem > Archer C7 > Powerline > DIR-868L

I followed the default instructions online, deviating only to set the 868's IP to 192.168.0.150 (as 192.168.0.50 wouldn't work for some reason). I've set the SSID and security settings to mirror the Archer C7's and can now move seamlessly between the two routers. However, the internet light is off on the 868 and even though it's allowing devices to access the internet through it, the 868 itself doesn't see the internet. I also can't seem to connect properly to network devices connected to the Archer C7 via the 868L (e.g. Logitech Squeezebox devices, Chromecast, etc).

Does anyone have any ideas for fixing this? Thanks in advance for any assistance.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Problems with Using as Access Point
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2015, 11:09:19 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Does it pass internet if connected directly to the main host router? By pass the PLs.
Please follow this for setting up the 868L as an AP:
Turning a router into an AP.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

CM1977

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Problems with Using as Access Point
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2015, 03:15:13 AM »

Thanks very much for the reply.

The hardware version is B1, the firmware version is 2.03, and I'm based in the UK. I've now tried it without the powerlines but it's still reporting that it's not connected to the internet (both on the admin page and the light on the front of the router). Just to clarify from my original message, the Squeezeboxes and other network devices now seem to be okay (e.g. NAS and network PCs), bar the Chromecast which can be seen won't stream video.

I really can't get why it can pass on the internet to connected devices but not to itself!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Problems with Using as Access Point
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2015, 06:51:54 AM »

How do you have the 868L connected to the main host router? It's needs to be connected to the LAN port on the back of the 868L to the LAN port on the main host router. DHCP needs to be disabled on the 868L and the 868L IP address needs to be changed from 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.0.86.

I presume that the Rev B model can do AP mode as my Rev A does and has before.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

CM1977

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Problems with Using as Access Point
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2015, 02:52:54 AM »

I've run the ethernet cable from the powerline/router into the LAN1 port of the 868L (rather than the WAN port). The DHCP is disabled on the 868L and I've now changed the IP from 192.168.0.150 to 192.168.0.86, but the 868L still isn't able to connect to the internet. It's working perfectly well as an access point in other ways though, i.e. the devices connected to the 868L all have access to the internet. The main annoyance is just not being able to use the mobile app or internet sharing functions.
Logged

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: Problems with Using as Access Point
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2015, 03:13:50 AM »

However, the internet light is off on the 868 and even though it's allowing devices to access the internet through it, the 868 itself doesn't see the internet.

I believe this is working by design. When you set the 868 as a AP, your basically using it as a wireless switch. The 868 device itself get's it internet connection from the WAN port, and all App access is through that WAN on port 80. Since you have the LAN of the Archer C7 going to the LAN of the 868, the WAN port on the 868 isn't being used. The reason devices work THROUGH the 868 is because it is acting as a bridge with the C7 as the gateway. If you want to use any Apps, they would need to be the ones designed for the C7. Basically, if your using the 868 as a AP, you can't also use it as a router.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Problems with Using as Access Point
« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2015, 11:32:12 PM »

Any status on this?

I've run the ethernet cable from the powerline/router into the LAN1 port of the 868L (rather than the WAN port). The DHCP is disabled on the 868L and I've now changed the IP from 192.168.0.150 to 192.168.0.86, but the 868L still isn't able to connect to the internet. It's working perfectly well as an access point in other ways though, i.e. the devices connected to the 868L all have access to the internet. The main annoyance is just not being able to use the mobile app or internet sharing functions.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

CM1977

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Problems with Using as Access Point
« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2015, 12:05:01 AM »

Thanks for everyone's responses. It's still operating as it was and, assuming the above post is correct about the 868L being unable to access the internet when acting as an access point, looks as though it's probably stuck like that!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Problems with Using as Access Point
« Reply #8 on: December 24, 2015, 12:44:10 AM »

Can you by pass the powerline and temporarily connect the 868L directly to the main host router?

ALso, would it be better to test the 868L out as a main host router then maybe test the other router configured as a wired AP?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

CM1977

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Problems with Using as Access Point
« Reply #9 on: December 24, 2015, 04:45:31 AM »

Thanks for the continued help. I've tried connecting it directly to the router but this doesn't seem to make any difference. Swapping the routers would be an option, but I don't fancy reconfiguring everything again so will just leave it as it stands.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Problems with Using as Access Point
« Reply #10 on: December 24, 2015, 11:08:27 AM »

Ok, just making sure all options have been explored. I presume that either the FW doesn't allow manual configuration of AP mode or possible the router is faulty. I tend to think possible fault with the router as I have had my 880L in AP Mode and it's FW code is similar to Rev B model 868L FW. You might contact D-Link on the phone and ask them about this. I would do this soon as the 868L model router is headed to EOL as far as any development goes.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

CM1977

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Problems with Using as Access Point
« Reply #11 on: December 27, 2015, 06:45:57 AM »

Thanks - I'll give them a call and post back if I get anything useful.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Problems with Using as Access Point
« Reply #12 on: December 27, 2015, 09:59:51 AM »

Let us know what you find out.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting