• October 14, 2019, 09:35:51 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: ports 0 and 1 show closed but not stealth  (Read 4917 times)

rjm65

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
ports 0 and 1 show closed but not stealth
« on: November 02, 2015, 07:54:59 AM »

Hello, I am new here and I hope I am posting this in the right area...
I own a dlink dir-632 8 port router,  I was surprised when i tested it at gibson research shields up that both ports 0 and 1 were closed but not stealth giving me a fail in the test... 
my firmware version at that time was the stock version 1.01 I upgraded it to 1.03 today but no changes at shields up, they still show closed but not stealth?
is there a setting in the router to stealth these ports and also is there a newer firmware then the one I installed today?
thank you   :)

Product Page: DIR-632   Hardware Version: A1     Firmware Version: 1.03NA
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: ports 0 and 1 show closed but not stealth
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2015, 08:01:45 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Ensure no apps or services are using the ports and if not, could be faults negatives as if the ports are closed, there just not being used.

Be aware that this model router is been discontinued and no longer has any more updates for it. v1.03 is the last version of FW.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

rjm65

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: ports 0 and 1 show closed but not stealth
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2015, 08:32:26 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
USA Pennsylvania
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
Wireless for all computers and tablets wired to 7 ports with misc devices...

uhm if the firmware update did not do this then no a reset was not done...
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process
my guess is no cause i didn't reset anything?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
rcn cable
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
no clue, whatever they use at rcn, its an ugly thing but it works...  Flipped it over it ays it is made by Arris...

Ensure no apps or services are using the ports and if not, could be faults negatives as if the ports are closed, there just not being used.

Be aware that this model router is been discontinued and no longer has any more updates for it. v1.03 is the last version of FW.

I will attempt a factory rest and get back to you with the results of it...  thank you for responding so quick...   :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: ports 0 and 1 show closed but not stealth
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2015, 08:34:19 AM »

Be sure to test with all applications closed on the PC accept for the browser. Ensure any background running apps are closed as well.

Try other port testing sites as well.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

rjm65

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: ports 0 and 1 show closed but not stealth
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2015, 09:25:42 AM »

Be sure to test with all applications closed on the PC accept for the browser. Ensure any background running apps are closed as well.

Try other port testing sites as well.
Factory reset was done, still shows port 0 and 1 closed not stealth on shields up, what other sites should i try to check if this is a glitch on their site or actual router issue...
Also is this router safe to use???
« Last Edit: November 02, 2015, 09:32:44 AM by rjm65 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: ports 0 and 1 show closed but not stealth
« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2015, 10:01:12 AM »

www.dslreports.com/tools

http://ping.eu/

I would say it would be ok if your not experiencing any problems. As time goes one you may experience some issues with conneting devices that are newer and more up to date where they may become inconmpatible or fail to connect with the router. Until such time, if it's working, don't fix it!  ;) Ports are ok closed if there not being used.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

rjm65

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: ports 0 and 1 show closed but not stealth
« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2015, 10:13:35 AM »

port 0 on shields up says ( 0/<nil> reserved ) and port 1 says ( 1/ tcpmux tcp port service multiplexer )
both say blue and closed all other ports show green and stealth, should these results cause me to worry?
the other test sites both say closed also not stealth....
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: ports 0 and 1 show closed but not stealth
« Reply #7 on: November 02, 2015, 10:53:39 AM »

If your not seeing any abnormal activity on the router or on your network. I presume your ok. It may have not been a big deal at the time and D-Link didn't set Stealth on those ports and Closes is there status. Unfortunately, I don't think D-link will make a change. You can ask them and see. If you've been using the router and haven't been having any problems, you'll be ok. At some point you can try out a newer generation router and see how it performs for you.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

rjm65

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: ports 0 and 1 show closed but not stealth
« Reply #8 on: November 02, 2015, 11:27:31 AM »

thanks for all your help, the router is performing just fine, i have not noticed anything abnormal with it at all...
if and when i look for another router newer than this one I will need an 8 port setup just like this one has...
right now i have 7 of those ports operational with devices like 3 tivo's and 1 tivo stream and my obihai telephone box a lacrosse weather station and a hd homerun prime unit for wireless tv to 3rd floor of my house...  :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: ports 0 and 1 show closed but not stealth
« Reply #9 on: November 02, 2015, 11:30:41 AM »

If you get another router, most routers only have 4 ports now days. The 632 was a special model with 8 ports. I haven't seen a 8 port router since. However you can add an external Gb switch for additonal port. I have a 24 and 8 port units running round my house.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting