• October 19, 2019, 11:02:07 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Direct connect button. How does it work?  (Read 3386 times)

gonza

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Direct connect button. How does it work?
« on: October 12, 2015, 12:37:06 AM »

Hi
I am thinking of buying a 935L  (I have a couple of 933 so I am familiar with them) , but I noticed that the 935 does not have an ethernet port anymore.
I normally use the cameras directly, without using the cloud service, so I configure them manually through the web-GUI.

I imagine that the Direct Connect button is there to connect to the camera to configure it the first time... but I have found no information (the manual is not on the support site)

So how does it work?  Does it place the camera in Access Point mode, with a known SSID?    Or it'supposed to connect client-to-client in Ad Hoc mode?
Will it give me an IP address using DHCP,  or do I have to configure a static address?

Any info about this will be greatly appreciated

Thanks
Gonzalo

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Direct connect button. How does it work?
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2015, 06:39:50 AM »

Is there any information about this in the User manual?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

gonza

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Direct connect button. How does it work?
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2015, 10:21:20 AM »

The manual is not on the support site ,  but I googled and I found it somewhere else.
There is absolutely no mention of this button on the manual.

Only a phrase that I found suspicious ... it's something like this "when connecting directly to the camera the ip address is 10.x.x.x"
That's all...Nothing more...

EDIT

Here's the manual.  No mention of the direct button at all
http://www.dlink.com/-/media/Consumer_Products/DCS/DCS%20935L/Manual/DCS_935L_A1_Manual_v1_03_EU.pdf

Page 18 says
Note: If you are directly connecting your PC to the camera, the default IP is 10.255.255.1

That's all.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2015, 10:26:12 AM by gonza »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Direct connect button. How does it work?
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2015, 10:22:49 AM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

gonza

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Direct connect button. How does it work?
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2015, 10:26:51 AM »

Thank you.
I just edited my previous message, in case you did not see it.

Thanks!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Direct connect button. How does it work?
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2015, 10:29:23 AM »

Thank you.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting