• May 26, 2018, 04:50:56 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DNS 346 - no volume detected  (Read 3998 times)

ogygoo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
DNS 346 - no volume detected
« on: October 08, 2015, 01:35:37 AM »

I bought DNS 346 NAS device and added 3 1T WD Barracuda 7200/64bit HDDs + 1 1T WD Barracuda 7200/32bit HDD.
I have formatted them as NTFS, but when I plug them in the NAS I get "No Volume detected"
The HDDs are on the list of supported HDDs.
I have access via browser to application and configuration.
Fans are working and printer attached to it is recognized as well.
HDDs are recognized on my external box where I formatted them - Win 7

What state does HDD needs to be in order to be recognized? RAW?
HELP!  ;D Thanks
Logged

philphil61

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 256
Re: DNS 346 - no volume detected
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2015, 06:10:47 AM »

I'm no techy

But D Link NAS uses it's own format (can't for the life of me remember the name - sorry had bad sleep, only just woken up and on my first cuppa)

You need to allow the installation software to format the HD's to be able to recognise.  Once formatted correctly they'll work in your NAS but not in normal PC (I think)

I found this  http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=47053.msg172917#msg172917
« Last Edit: October 08, 2015, 06:13:56 AM by philphil61 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45010
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DNS 346 - no volume detected
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2015, 07:34:20 AM »

Is this a DNS-346 or 345?

Besure that the HDDs are compatible. Some newer generation HDDs may not be. SATA 3 vs SATA 2.

Best practice is the not format the HDDs prior to DNS intallation. The DNS will format the drives using it's own formatting.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1366
Re: DNS 346 - no volume detected
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2015, 03:49:49 PM »

As others have said there is no way that the NAS can read NTFS formatted drives.  The NAS firmware is based on the Linux operating system and uses the Ext2/3/4 format for the drives.

If you are looking for something to read external windows formatted drives a NAS is generally not the thing you want (there are some NAS boxes that allow that but they are rather expensive because they have to cover the MS patent costs as well as the fact that NTFS is not a good NAS format.

You should let the NAS format the drives after you have decided what setup you want, RAID 0/1, JBOD, Standard.  This should set them up as required but if not it will be necessary to restore them to the unpartitioned unformatted state using the WD disk tools. 
Logged

ogygoo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DNS 346 - no volume detected
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2015, 01:36:35 AM »

Thanks for the replays.

I would let NAS format them, but they can`t be recognized at all to do so. I thought it`s because of the format, but it`s seems not to be the case.
The drives can`t be seen not on the box, nor in the web UI. I had Promise NAS for few years (much older then DLINK) and I`m trying to use same drives.
I even updated the firmware to latest V1.08 and still nothing. Printer connected is working so I don`t think it`s technical issue.
 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45010
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DNS 346 - no volume detected
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2015, 06:53:13 AM »

Is this a DNS-346 or 345?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1366
Re: DNS 346 - no volume detected
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2015, 07:58:26 AM »

I don't think there is anything wrong with your NAS box just the fact that you let windows format the drives.

What we usually do in that situation (we do have clients that want to reuse drives from damaged computers) is to start by giving the drive a new MBR which sets the drive back to factory conditions and yes we do have specialised software that does that and other things as well.  you should download the WD disk tools, put a drive in a USB/SATA caddy or adapter and let the disk tools check it first then use the tools to reset the drive to factory conditions.  After that put it in the NAS and, using web web UI check if it is seen.  If it is do the same with the other drives.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45010
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DNS 346 - no volume detected
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2015, 07:52:56 AM »

Any status on this?  ???

Thanks for the replays.

I would let NAS format them, but they can`t be recognized at all to do so. I thought it`s because of the format, but it`s seems not to be the case.
The drives can`t be seen not on the box, nor in the web UI. I had Promise NAS for few years (much older then DLINK) and I`m trying to use same drives.
I even updated the firmware to latest V1.08 and still nothing. Printer connected is working so I don`t think it`s technical issue.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ogygoo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DNS 346 - no volume detected
« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2016, 11:01:34 AM »

Issue solved with new  firmware update to b1.02 that I got ONLY from Dlink support in Russia! Local support had had b1.01 update. No issue with HDDs. Works as expepcted
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45010
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DNS 346 - no volume detected
« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2016, 12:50:28 PM »

Is this for a DNS-346?
Glad the FW from Russia worked.

Enjoy.  ;)

Issue solved with new  firmware update to b1.02 that I got ONLY from Dlink support in Russia! Local support had had b1.01 update. No issue with HDDs. Works as expepcted
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ogygoo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DNS 346 - no volume detected
« Reply #10 on: October 29, 2016, 01:38:44 PM »

Yes

Is this for a DNS-346?
Glad the FW from Russia worked.

Enjoy.  ;)

Issue solved with new  firmware update to b1.02 that I got ONLY from Dlink support in Russia! Local support had had b1.01 update. No issue with HDDs. Works as expepcted
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45010
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DNS 346 - no volume detected
« Reply #11 on: October 29, 2016, 01:43:38 PM »

Thank you.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting