• October 23, 2020, 01:36:15 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: May I know how to set up the Quick VPN of the DIR-890L and how to access it usin  (Read 16061 times)

Aswanghari30

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5

May I know how to set up the Quick VPN of the DIR-890L and how to access it using the iPhone when I am on a remote location?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Have you reviewed the User Manual for this feature?
You may need to refer to Apple on VPN access thru there phones as additional configuration and applications maybe needed for VPN...

 Basic VPN Troubleshooting and Suggestions
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=56861.0
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53692.0
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Aswanghari30

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5

HW: A1
FW:1.07
Connection: Cable
ISP:Time Warner
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Aswanghari30

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5

Time Warner (ISP)
SBG6580 SURFBOARD® EXTREME WIRELESS CABLE MODEM (ARRIS)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Aswanghari30

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5

He is using Standard modem and got public IP on it
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Does the router get the public IP address?  ???
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Krabby127

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9

I too am in a similar predicament with my router https://imgur.com/IRmszNr
I've never set up my own VPN before, but the router said this would be relatively quick and painless to do. I tried to follow similar instructions here http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=13352.0, but the interface is different and I don't know what to put where he puts "192.168.0.101".

Many thanks to the community members on Dlink.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Let me look into this and see if I can get some additional information. I too am not an expert in VPNs and I presume there is additional applications that are needed to be able to access a VPN configuration. What I don't know.  ???
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Aswanghari30

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Logged

Rara Avis

  • Imperator
  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76

Looking at the manual, the setup on the router side should be as simple as flipping a switch to enable it and setting the username/password/PSK you would like to use.

The difficult part is going to either be
A) ISP issues (such as the bridging concern Mr. Nutz brought up, or the fact that some ISPs are unfriendly towards VPNs)

or they are going to be (and this is where my money is, generally)

B) Involving the setup and environment of the remote side.  The good news is that with an iPhone, there is plenty of documentation to throw at you.  I have a link to the Apple doc below.  In order to make this as simple as possible, you should test the VPN (at least initially) with wifi off, as I am fairly certain that no cellular provider is going to have any issues with VPNs.

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201550

Please note:
D-Link L2TP over IPSec = iOS L2TP
D-Link Username = iOS Account
D-Link PSK = iOS Secret
« Last Edit: September 01, 2015, 09:51:09 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Nullum magnum ingenium sine mixtura dementiae fuit. - Seneca
There has never been a great genius without a element of madness.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Thank you sir.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Krabby127

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9

Looking at the manual, the setup on the router side should be as simple as flipping a switch to enable it and setting the username/password/PSK you would like to use.

The difficult part is going to either be
A) ISP issues (such as the bridging concern Mr. Nutz brought up, or the fact that some ISPs are unfriendly towards VPNs)

or they are going to be (and this is where my money is, generally)

B) Involving the setup and environment of the remote side.  The good news is that with an iPhone, there is plenty of documentation to throw at you.  I have a link to the Apple doc below.  In order to make this as simple as possible, you should test the VPN (at least initially) with wifi off, as I am fairly certain that no cellular provider is going to have any issues with VPNs.

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201550

Please note:
D-Link L2TP over IPSec = iOS L2TP
D-Link Username = iOS Account
D-Link PSK = iOS Secret

Would you happen to know how to set this up on a Windows PC? Or even a Linux machine? I imagine it should be simple, but I have never set up my own VPN before so I may be missing some obvious steps.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Some search results for setting up VPN on Windows:
https://www.dogpile.com/info.dogpl/search/web?fcoid=417&fcop=topnav&fpid=27&q=Setup+VPN+client+on+windows&ql=

Let us know what works best for you.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2015, 02:38:12 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: [1] 2