• December 07, 2019, 09:09:09 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Can't Access Remote Computer.  (Read 1250 times)

lydnsn

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Can't Access Remote Computer.
« on: July 15, 2015, 09:36:13 PM »

Hello I have just purchased the new tri band router.DIR-890L. I am quite pleased with it so far It is fast and very stable. I know very little about routing. What i am trying to do is access one computer. I need to have full access to all programs on that computer. I also need to access a printer. So far i haven't had any luck. I am able to reach the router by typing  hostname.info:8080 but that is as far as i can go. I have tried port forwarding but still cant seem to get anywhere. Can someone give me some instructions on how to do this . It is probably very simple but i am doing something wrong. Thankyou
« Last Edit: July 16, 2015, 04:11:00 AM by lydnsn »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't Access Remote Computer.
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2015, 08:28:48 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

You'll need to contract Microsoft or Apple for network sharing from PC to PC to make sure sharing and remote access is configured on the LAN side of the network. There shouldn't be any configurations need for the LAN side of the router.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

lydnsn

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Can't Access Remote Computer.
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2015, 09:35:45 AM »

Hardware version is A1.  Firmware  is 1.06  Located in Canada
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't Access Remote Computer.
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2015, 09:40:24 AM »

Let us know how it goes...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting