• July 23, 2019, 01:09:35 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Is there a way to get a notification if cameras are down?  (Read 5623 times)

taymag

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Is there a way to get a notification if cameras are down?
« on: June 16, 2015, 11:50:47 AM »

I have 4 DCS-932L with a DNR-202L and was wondering if there is a way to get a notification if the cameras are down or if the wifi goes down so I know? Thanks
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: Is there a way to get a notification if cameras are down?
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2015, 11:51:53 AM »

Can you write a script to ping the cameras?

Logged

taymag

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: Is there a way to get a notification if cameras are down?
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2015, 11:56:39 AM »

Not exactly sure what that means.. I would rather it be something dlink has in their settings rather than customize with a script and chance a security hole
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47585
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Is there a way to get a notification if cameras are down?
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2015, 12:23:07 PM »

What RYAT is referring to is that a script can be made up or compiled to ping the IP addresses of each camera and give the results. The results could provide successful pings of cameras that are working and give IP addresses of cameras that are not returning ping results while on the LAN side. This would not present a security problem as using the PING command on the LAN side is a normal networking troubleshooting feature for testing any device on any LAN side network.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

taymag

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: Is there a way to get a notification if cameras are down?
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2015, 12:36:18 PM »

Ok. How do I do this? And will it provide an email notification?
Logged

taymag

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: Is there a way to get a notification if cameras are down?
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2015, 07:07:01 AM »

Any help? I am really trying to figure this out. I had an attempted break in and now I am trying to crack down on any flaws I might have. Thanks!!
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: Is there a way to get a notification if cameras are down?
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2015, 07:38:30 AM »

You need an alarm system then.

I went with lowe's iris system in the usa (no monthly cost if you stay within parameters).
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47585
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Is there a way to get a notification if cameras are down?
« Reply #7 on: June 17, 2015, 07:47:31 AM »

Is this for a business or home?

If your experiencing break ins and criminal activity, then I recommend doing as RYAT suggested and getting into a security alarm system ASAP.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

taymag

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: Is there a way to get a notification if cameras are down?
« Reply #8 on: June 17, 2015, 08:18:51 AM »

I have an alarm. It wasn't a break in but someone was in my backyard looking in the window at 4am that clearly didn't belong there and was a potential break in. This is for home security
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47585
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Is there a way to get a notification if cameras are down?
« Reply #9 on: June 17, 2015, 08:24:28 AM »

Do you have a montion sensor light in the back yard? I recommend getting one placed as well. Is the DCS capturing video to a storage device like a DNS?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

taymag

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: Is there a way to get a notification if cameras are down?
« Reply #10 on: June 17, 2015, 08:33:49 AM »

Yes I do, the motion light did nothing but I got him on camera. Everything is fine and it was probably just random but I am concerned about if the internet went out for a day or so which happens every few months sometimes.
Logged

taymag

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: Is there a way to get a notification if cameras are down?
« Reply #11 on: June 17, 2015, 08:34:40 AM »

Here you go.... No better reason to have a camera than knowing this guy is in the backyard at 4am
Logged

taymag

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: Is there a way to get a notification if cameras are down?
« Reply #12 on: June 17, 2015, 08:35:56 AM »

And I live in the last place you would expect someone to snoop around, its a quiet family neighborhood in sunny south florida. The neighborhood is well lit and everyone knows everyone
Logged

taymag

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: Is there a way to get a notification if cameras are down?
« Reply #13 on: June 17, 2015, 08:38:04 AM »

So back to the original question. We have bad storms here and the occasional hurricane which throws the internet off. I just want to get an email notification when this happens. And yes I have it recording (posted is a screenshot from the recording)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47585
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Is there a way to get a notification if cameras are down?
« Reply #14 on: June 17, 2015, 08:46:25 AM »

Hope that was given to the authorities.

I don't have much programming experience so hopefully someone may be of more help with script generation. Usually there isn't any kind of feature to send notification if there is a power failure...

Only other thing I can suggest for power outages, would be to install a UPS battery back up for the ISP modem, router and if you need the cameras to be powered on during this time frame, you'd have to install UPS on each camera.  :-\  The UPS wold keep the internet going for a short time frame until the main power was restored.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2