• July 16, 2019, 03:00:44 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Link Aggregation/Trunkin  (Read 4209 times)

Pehesis

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Link Aggregation/Trunkin
« on: May 01, 2015, 06:30:54 PM »

Hi

I could use some help with setting up my network my current configuration is



Everydevice on the network is controlled by the DNS/DHCP server and has their own static IP. When i enable the Link Aggregation on the RT-AC66u and the DGS-1224t everything work fine for a few hours then everything come to a crashing halt. im thinking that the DHCP leases have expired and are not being renewed, so i guess that would mean the devices are not talking to the DHCP server. Any new device after the link aggregation is enabled will not connect to the network regardless of current VLAN

So im thinking i might have something to do with VLANS on the RT-AC66U i noticed under GENERAL>TOOLS>SYSINFO it shows the 5 ports and the VLAN currently assgined

WAN - VLAN2
P1 - VLAN1
P2 - VLAN1
P3 -VLAN3
P4 -VLAN4

I new to VLAN and static routes and not sure how to implement them on the RT-AC66u. I have read some where about VLANs and they should have there own seperate subnet so i was think about creating 2 subnets. Everything that connects through port 1 / vlan1 will be 192.168.2.0 and everthing on LinkAgg p3/4 will be on 192.168.1.0 the RT-AC66U will also be on the 192.168.1.0 subnet

Any info would greatly be appreciated
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47562
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Link Aggregation/Trunkin
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2015, 12:26:26 PM »

Any status on this?  ???
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Pehesis

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Link Aggregation/Trunkin
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2015, 06:52:15 PM »

Any status on this?  ???

Apologize for the late reply. As of now still unsolved i was thinking or trying it again this weekend mess around with some of the settings and see what happens
Logged

PacketTracer

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 425
Re: Link Aggregation/Trunkin
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2015, 03:45:11 PM »

Hi,

yes, using several VLANs generally means you will have a separate IP subnet per VLAN. But in your scenario you only need a second VLAN (VLAN 2) for the WAN port of your RT-AC66U router while all other ports (P1-P4) should use the same VLAN 1, because you only need one single IP subnet (either 192.168.1.0/24 or 192.168.2.0/24) for your internal LAN. Hence, what (at least) is wrong with your configuration is to use VLANs 3 and 4 for ports P3 and P4 of your RT-AC66U router. You should change the VLAN settings of both ports P3 and P4 to "VID 1 untagged".

In additon use your DGS-1224T in default configuration which is also "VID1 untagged" for any port, especially ports P23 and P24 which connect to ports P3 and P4 of your RT-AC66U router.

If you use link aggregation (LAG), as depicted in your configuration illustration, each pair of ports P3 and P4 on your router and ports P23 and P24 on your DGS switch gets logically merged to a single port of double bandwith, while each member port of this bundle loses its identity. This means that the needed VLAN settings (VID 1 untagged) have to be configured for the logical merged port but not for the 2 member ports that the logical port consists of. I don't know how RT-AC66U and DGS-1224T present this "logical port" that comprise the aggregated ports on each device, or if they present a logical port for LAG at all. If not, you have to bear in mind that you have to configure the same VLAN settings for all ports that are member ports of a LAG.

If you use LAG you have to decide if you want to use static LAG or a LAG control protocol like LACP. Whatever your choice is, take care that you use the same method on both sides of the LAG (RT-AC66U and DGS-1224T). In case of LACP both ends of the LAG may be configured to be "active" or "passive". With LACP the LAG only works if at least one end (either RT-AC66U or DGS-1224T) is active. You may also configure both ends to be active.

PT
« Last Edit: June 19, 2015, 04:19:39 PM by PacketTracer »
Logged