• November 19, 2019, 05:15:35 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: How can I retrieve the virtual MAC address from the WiFi Range Extender  (Read 5503 times)

Willem1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Hello,

How can I retrieve the virtual MAC address from the WiFi Range Extender to setup an Access List (mac address filtering) in my router?
Dap 1320
H/W Ver: B1
F/W Ver: 2.03

greetings,

Willem1
« Last Edit: April 30, 2015, 08:33:01 AM by Willem1 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

Not sure if a virtual MAC can be used. Are you setting up the list on the main host router? If so, then I presume just using the main MAC address for the DAP would work if needed. I recommend not using any controls for the DAP. Any controls or filtering should be handled on the main host router.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Willem1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

Not sure if a virtual MAC can be used. Are you setting up the list on the main host router? If so, then I presume just using the main MAC address for the DAP would work if needed. I recommend not using any controls for the DAP. Any controls or filtering should be handled on the main host router.

Thanks for your quick reply. And yes I'm setting up the list on the main host router.
If I employ MAC filtering on my router I'm able to turn the filtering off to allow the DAP to connect and be assigned an IP address. If after that I turn MAC filtering back on in the router setup after entering the MAC address for the DAP in the filter list the DAP will not function correctly(no internet connection).

greetz Willem1
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Does your router have a DHCP or connected clients list that shows whats connected along with MAC addressing? Some routers to. Try to enter in the MAC address of the DAP found on the box that the DAP came in. I personally would not set up a filter for the DAP, rather filter any connected client devices accept for the DAP. Just use the DAP as a pass thru and even though device may attempt to connect to the DAP, the actual connection will be checked by the MAC filters on the main host router.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Willem1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Does your router have a DHCP or connected clients list that shows whats connected along with MAC addressing? Some routers to. Try to enter in the MAC address of the DAP found on the box that the DAP came in. I personally would not set up a filter for the DAP, rather filter any connected client devices accept for the DAP. Just use the DAP as a pass thru and even though device may attempt to connect to the DAP, the actual connection will be checked by the MAC filters on the main host router.

Checking the clients list along with mac addressing did the trick for me. Thanks!!

greetz Willem1
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How can I retrieve the virtual MAC address (RESOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2015, 11:47:52 AM »

Glad you found it. Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Jerry4all

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1


Checking the clients list along with mac addressing did the trick for me. Thanks!!

greetz Willem1


I have the same dilemma, I tried your solution but get this response while trying to add the mac no: "MAC address cannot be a broadcast address"

Any help with that?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your DAP? Look at the sticker under the DAP.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DAPs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

What is the device your trying to add as a MAC address?
Is the DAP in AP or Bridge mode?
What is the Mfr and model of the main host router?

u]PC Web Browser Configurations[/u]
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8, 9, 10 or 11, set compatibility mode and test again. (For older generation routers.)
Disable any security browser Add-ons like No Script and Ad-Block or configure them to allow All Pages when connected to the router.
Clear all browser caches.
Be sure to log into the Admin account on the router.
Try turning off these features in Chrome:
Top right corner, little bars for options > Settings > Settings (on left) > Show advanced settings.
Uncheck these:
Use a web service to help resolve navigation errors
Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar
Predict network actions to improve page load performance
Enable phishing and malware protection
Also...
http://www.ghacks.net/2015/04/15/chrome-42-blocks-java-silverlight-other-plugins-by-default-now/


Checking the clients list along with mac addressing did the trick for me. Thanks!!

greetz Willem1


I have the same dilemma, I tried your solution but get this response while trying to add the mac no: "MAC address cannot be a broadcast address"

Any help with that?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting