• January 29, 2020, 05:40:26 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Backup configuration and user updated settings  (Read 1591 times)

chaitanyakumar0

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Backup configuration and user updated settings
« on: April 18, 2015, 11:30:20 AM »

Hi All,

I was using DIR 600L router at home from last 10 months and I have changed lot of settings in it like, enabled traffic restriction, created 8-9 dhcp reservations, updated my dns server ip address etc etc.. I dont know how and what happened, but sometime back everything was reset. When I tried to connect my mobile, it didnt give my router name, instead, it gave the default name, Dlink, without any password. I have configured it again. So, I checked to save the configuration file so that if such thing happens again, i can simply restore it from the file. As of now, I got the option, maintenance, save and restore settings option, then click save. Now my question is, can I automate this with any script on the router?

Please help!!

Chaitanya.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48250
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Backup configuration and user updated settings
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2015, 11:51:39 AM »

Yes, once you configure the router for your needs and settings, do a save to file of the routers configuration file so you can easily restore the settings should the router be reset to factory defaults.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting