• October 20, 2019, 10:18:22 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: I'm swimming in the pond!!!!!  (Read 10235 times)

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
I'm swimming in the pond!!!!!
« on: March 07, 2015, 01:10:24 PM »

 I know many of you have had the 890 unit for awhile and I have been reading all your growing pains, some of which  are common with new routers these days. Until thursday of last week I was running the Netgear R8000 and although Netgear has pushed some 5-6 FW releases, it had/has some bugs as well. I was fortunate enough to have been asked by Netgear to help in the development of the latest FW, which for the most part is VERY stable. Enough about that unit, I digress ;D

890 setup and review:

As mentioned earlier I bought the unit last Thursday night from Frys, they had 2 units on the shelve and nabbed one and took it home to get it configured ontu my network. Configured the router, using Win 10 Tech preview and FF 37 beta. Download the latest FW1.03, installed it. No I did not do the 30-30-30 reset as the router came with FW1.0, untouched, I saw no reason to do the "dance".

I have TWC 300 down/20 up, using a Motorola SB6141 modem, to support the 16 lanes of traffic, TWC is using to bring me all that bandwidth goodness :D ALL of my wired and wireless clients ARE STATIC IP ADDRESS on my network....reason.... security and more control over the clients the router has to shake hands with, in other words less confusion and decision making the router has to do.

There where only 4 items I configured on the new DLINK GUI, underneath the settings tab:
1) Internet
    Device mode= Router mode
    internet connection= Dynamic IP
2) wireless
  Turned off Smart Connect and setup a DIfferent SSID for my 2.4 GHZ network and left the (2) 5ghz with the same SSID
3) network
  Changed my LAN IP address

ALL my clients connected fine and the broadband speed was good with 1.03. The wireless side was great for 1.03, but there is no question, that the 2.4 and 5 ghz stability needs some work in regards to distance. XBOX 1 is connected to the 5ghz side and is receiving 20up and 20down..... not bad, but my R8000 is seeing 45 down and 20 up.
I had assigned a reserve IP to all of my clients underneath the Dlink GUI, and as many have mentioned a "true" static IP and mac addressing would be beneficial.

In addition, I wish there was some way to see which clients are connected to which SSID, Netgear R8000 has this function and it's nice!!!

The unit has been running 48hrs straight, thus far it's working well, when the new FW comes out I am expecting
1) better wireless stability and range
2) If Dlink is going the keep the GUI rather than the older Dlink router config that we are all accustomed to, then they should integrate it into the new GUI and MORE GRANULAR INTERFACE, for an advance consumer configuration. I for 1 would expect that in a $300 router.

Dlink now is your chance to innovate and regain some of your market share, for years I've been using your competitor because of the lack of innovation. You have the hardware, just need to offer a more "granular" FW for us.

« Last Edit: March 07, 2015, 10:48:58 PM by Lexist2112 »
Logged

yuppicide

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: I'm swimming in the pond!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2015, 08:32:54 PM »

Did you get your numbers wrong? Download is usually larger than upload. You wrote 300 up / 20 down. Did you mean to say 30 down? Because I don't see a 300 on their website. I wanted to check prices even though I don't live in a TWC area, I was just curious. Your numbers later seem backwards too.. 45 up and 20 down.

I get 105Mbps down and 11Mbps up.. down is data coming to you.. websites, videos, files, etc. Up is data sending to someone else.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2015, 08:39:05 PM by yuppicide »
Logged

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: I'm swimming in the pond!!!!!
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2015, 10:38:33 PM »

Did you get your numbers wrong? Download is usually larger than upload. You wrote 300 up / 20 down. Did you mean to say 30 down? Because I don't see a 300 on their website. I wanted to check prices even though I don't live in a TWC area, I was just curious. Your numbers later seem backwards too.. 45 up and 20 down.

I get 105Mbps down and 11Mbps up.. down is data coming to you.. websites, videos, files, etc. Up is data sending to someone else.

Thanks...I stand corrected 300 down and 20 up ;D
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I'm swimming in the pond!!!!!
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2015, 07:07:05 AM »

Just curious, how is reserving MAC addressing used vs detected IP address>?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: I'm swimming in the pond!!!!!
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2015, 07:24:14 AM »

Just curious, how is reserving MAC addressing used vs detected IP address>?

"MAC addresses are typically used only to direct packets in the device-to-device portion of a network transaction. That means that your computer’s MAC address will be in network packets only until the next device in the chain. If you have a router, then your machine’s MAC address will go no further than that. Your router’s MAC address will show up in packets sent further upstream, until that too is replaced by the MAC address of the next device – likely either your modem or your ISP’s router.

So your MAC address doesn’t make it out very far. Even if someone knows your MAC address, that knowledge certainly doesn’t help anyone do anything either good or bad.



An IP address is assigned to every device on a network so that device can be located on the network. The internet is just a network after all, and every device connected to it has an IP address so that it can be located. The server that houses Ask Leo!, for example, is at 72.3.133.152. That number is used by the network routing equipment so that when you ask for a page from the site, that request is routed to the right server.

The computers or equipment you have connected to the internet are also assigned IP addresses. If you’re directly connected, your computer will have an IP address that can be reached from anywhere on the internet. If you’re behind a router, that router will have that internet-visible IP address, but it will then set up a private network that your computer is connected to, assigning IP addresses out of a private range that is not directly visible on the internet. All internet traffic must go through the router, and will appear on the internet to have come from that router."
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I'm swimming in the pond!!!!!
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2015, 07:26:17 AM »

Any does the average home use need the configuration of Mac addresses? Just curious here. I guess i can see some use in configuration of MAC addresses however maybe in a business class environment where access controls are needed based on MAC addressing. Not sure about home class aside the basic MAC filtering feature that some routers have.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: I'm swimming in the pond!!!!!
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2015, 08:15:25 PM »

Update:
So if any of you are having any wireless degradation, always run a check your neighborhood and see what the wireless traffic is like.

I had the router on Auto channel when I configured the wireless on the 2.4 & 5ghz channel. Wireless speeds degraded in the first 48 hrs, unplugged the AC adaptor and powered back up. It was better, but not stable.
Then I realized, my Netgear R8000 was set on a fixed wireless channel, in my case I reconfig and set the 2.4 on CH-6 and the (2) 5ghz channel on 48 & 165. After I saved the config and retested I am now getting a stable reliable wireless connection on all my devices.....DEFINITE IMPROVEMENT ;D
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I'm swimming in the pond!!!!!
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2015, 07:11:30 AM »

Curious, whats your neighborhood surroundings look like on InSSIDer?

Update:
So if any of you are having any wireless degradation, always run a check your neighborhood and see what the wireless traffic is like.

I had the router on Auto channel when I configured the wireless on the 2.4 & 5ghz channel. Wireless speeds degraded in the first 48 hrs, unplugged the AC adaptor and powered back up. It was better, but not stable.
Then I realized, my Netgear R8000 was set on a fixed wireless channel, in my case I reconfig and set the 2.4 on CH-6 and the (2) 5ghz channel on 48 & 165. After I saved the config and retested I am now getting a stable reliable wireless connection on all my devices.....DEFINITE IMPROVEMENT ;D
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: I'm swimming in the pond!!!!!
« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2015, 09:53:36 AM »

A jaw dropping congestion ON ALL freqs >:(, in other words, it sucks and nothing but competition for air space
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I'm swimming in the pond!!!!!
« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2015, 11:42:54 AM »

Probably why SC and Autoscan are having some difficulty if you have congestions. Try lowering the output power to medium and see...I think this router has adjustable power settings. I only have a few near me so SC and Autoscan seems to work for me in my area.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: I'm swimming in the pond!!!!!
« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2015, 05:25:09 PM »

Thanks  ;)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I'm swimming in the pond!!!!!
« Reply #11 on: March 11, 2015, 08:26:13 AM »

Let us know how it goes...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: I'm swimming in the pond!!!!!
« Reply #12 on: March 13, 2015, 11:02:57 AM »

Just a wee bit of an update. As of now the router has been up for about a week and has been running smoothly. Past Sun I had did to reset the router trying to figure out why the wireless was so unreliable. After I made some adjustments, the router is VERY stable on the wireless side.

Recommended adjustments to ALL users out there:
1) Turn off Smart Connect
2) Name your 2.4ghz wireless SSID different from your (2) 5ghz SSID
3) In my case I have all my transmission power set to high
4) Manual channel settings are set to:
        2.4ghz=6
       Primary 5ghz=48
       Secondary 5ghz=165

All wireless clients are connected..reliably and quickly, no drops

I Like to add the hardwired Cat6 connected to my Dlink 8-port Gigabit switch has been working flawlessly, in regards to the wireless, I suggest users to use inSSIDer to do a sweep of the neighborhood to find the best wireless channel.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2015, 11:05:02 AM by Lexist2112 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I'm swimming in the pond!!!!!
« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2015, 11:04:58 AM »

Thanks for the feedback. Ya mines been working well since turning off SC. I presume that there maybe a bit more work needed on that feature. Other than this and a few others, router is stable.

Have you done any Read and Write testing using wireless yet?
« Last Edit: March 13, 2015, 11:10:40 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: I'm swimming in the pond!!!!!
« Reply #14 on: March 13, 2015, 08:32:40 PM »

Thanks for the feedback. Ya mines been working well since turning off SC. I presume that there maybe a bit more work needed on that feature. Other than this and a few others, router is stable.

Have you done any Read and Write testing using wireless yet?

Have not done any read/write testing yet, however the transfer rate is on par with the Netgear R8000 50-70 mb/sec
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3