• October 19, 2019, 12:42:58 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: power meter is not working  (Read 2926 times)

lysningen

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
power meter is not working
« on: March 03, 2015, 10:31:11 PM »

dsp-w215 power meter is not working it just goes away quickly
Logged

Doctor Doom

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
Re: power meter is not working
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2015, 01:23:25 PM »

I haven't seen this issue before.

What firmware is loaded on your W215?
What device are you using (make/model/OS version)?
If you turn the device on/off is the behavior different?
Do you have a screenshot to show what doesn't work with the power meter
If you unplug and replug the smart plug and try again is it the same issue?


Logged

lysningen

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: power meter is not working
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2015, 02:07:56 PM »

android 4.3 / 5.1
I have two W215
just bought was good enough. apps before it was updated yesterday
I will try it you write

Device Name: DSP-W215 2 mydlink No.:
Model Name: DSP-W215 MAC:
Device activated on: 2015-03-03 15:59:17
Hardware Version: B1 :-\
« Last Edit: March 04, 2015, 02:15:00 PM by lysningen »
Logged

lysningen

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: power meter is not working
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2015, 02:12:40 PM »

firmware is 2.02
it just goes away quickly
If you unplug and replug the smart plug and try again is it the same issue. does not work
If you turn the device on/off is the behavior different?.does not work

Do you have a screenshot to show what doesn't work with the power meter.it comes up so fast that you can not see it  and shuts down again
« Last Edit: March 04, 2015, 02:27:04 PM by lysningen »
Logged

Doctor Doom

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
Re: power meter is not working
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2015, 10:29:29 AM »

I only have Rev_A and Firmware 1.12. The mydink home version is 2.1.0 build 31. Android version is 4.4.2 and I don't see the issue. When I tap on the meter, the screen appears and stays there.

Probably best to contact technical support in your country to have them look into the issue further.

Also try uninstalling and re-installing the app and see if that helps.
Logged