• December 09, 2019, 01:43:06 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: NVR connection with switch  (Read 8103 times)

coszam

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
NVR connection with switch
« on: January 25, 2015, 09:40:30 AM »

I have a Dahua 4216 NVR, I had it connected to a Dlink 1008G with 4 cameras and everything worked fine.
I needed more ports due to expansion(more ip camera's) so I bought a Dlink DGS-1016A but the Switch will not recognize the NVR, Why ?

I replugged into the 1008A and it works again but still won't when i plug into 1016A.

Any Help would be appreciated.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NVR connection with switch
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2015, 11:08:12 AM »

Swap LAN cables between the NVR and switch. Try a different port on the switch.
Check the link speed settings on the NVR if any. Should be set for automatic or 1000Mb.

Now old is the NVR?

The switch is a unmanaged switch and not a smart one so the switch should be compatible and work. All other devices or on the switch right?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

coszam

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: NVR connection with switch
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2015, 11:27:00 AM »

NVR is less than 6  months old.
cable from NVR to Switch is good
I already tried a different port on the switch, no luck.

Everything else that i have plugged into the 1016A switch works fine(3 desktops and 2 camera's)
Is there another name for link speed setting ? cause i can't find anything by that name on NVR settings.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NVR connection with switch
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2015, 11:35:12 AM »

You'll need to refer to the NVRs Mfr support sight and information regarding what this device support. Most nomenclature around this area is link speed. Maybe connection speed or LAN connection speed. it may not have any features like this.

One thing you can try, connect the NVR to the older swtich, then connect the older switch to the new switch...what happens here?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

coszam

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: NVR connection with switch
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2015, 12:53:13 PM »

One thing you can try, connect the NVR to the older swtich, then connect the older switch to the new switch...what happens here?

I did this yesterday, and that works, but I'd really like to only keep one switch on the shelf,  And find out the reason why the DGS-1016A wont recognize the NVR and yet the Dlink 1008G does cause basically they are the same switches.

By the way, I make my own cable, does it matter whether the Straight-through cable  is T568A or T568B Pin Out from NVR to Switch ?  I used T568B.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2015, 12:59:35 PM by coszam »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NVR connection with switch
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2015, 01:14:31 PM »

What happens if you try the A mode cable?

I presume that the NVR is using standard straight through. Seems like either there is a cable issue or a compatibility issue between the NVR and the newer model switch when directly connected.  :-\
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

coszam

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: NVR connection with switch
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2015, 01:41:07 PM »

I'll make up a cable in "A mode" sometime tonight or tomorrow and see if that does the trick.
I'll let you know when after i try it.

do you think i should try a crossed cable if "A mode" doesn't work ? or do you think that would be a waste of time ?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NVR connection with switch
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2015, 01:48:55 PM »

Get ahold of the NVR mfr and ask them specifically what the LAN Port supports. See what they say. I don't think a xover cable will help. I presume the 108 and 1010 are similar in nature, just seems like a handshake issue between the NVR and the newer switch. You might call up D-Link and ask for information as well. 
Is the DGS-1016A a Rev A or Rev B?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Rara Avis

  • Imperator
  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: NVR connection with switch
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2015, 11:34:26 AM »

A crossover would be the first thing I try.  These are unmanaged switches, no settings or setup of any kind, as such I would jump directly to cabling.

Auto-MDIX is the name of the feature that is supposed to mean that you will get a link regardless of cable combination, but it can be both a blessing and a curse.  When there are issues, it is not uncommon for it to be very specific (I am talking this chip to that chip with cables wired this way and that are this long kind of specific).

An EIA/TIA 568-A to EIA/TIA 568-A straight-thru is 100% functionally identical to an EIA/TIA 568-B to EIA/TIA 568-B straight-thru.  Normal procedure is to choose one and pin everything in you plant to that pinout (and B is usually the one chosen in my experience).
Logged
Nullum magnum ingenium sine mixtura dementiae fuit. - Seneca
There has never been a great genius without a element of madness.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NVR connection with switch
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2015, 11:43:08 AM »

Thank you Rara Avis for the additional information. Hope it helps.  ;)

A crossover would be the first thing I try.  These are unmanaged switches, no settings or setup of any kind, as such I would jump directly to cabling.

Auto-MDIX is the name of the feature that is supposed to mean that you will get a link regardless of cable combination, but it can be both a blessing and a curse.  When there are issues, it is not uncommon for it to be very specific (I am talking this chip to that chip with cables wired this way and that are this long kind of specific).

An EIA/TIA 568-A to EIA/TIA 568-A straight-thru is 100% functionally identical to an EIA/TIA 568-B to EIA/TIA 568-B straight-thru.  Normal procedure is to choose one and pin everything in you plant to that pinout (and B is usually the one chosen in my experience).
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

coszam

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: NVR connection with switch
« Reply #10 on: January 27, 2015, 09:11:23 AM »

Sorry I didn't get back to you sooner but we have this blizzard going on here in the NE.
ANYWAY !
 
I made a crossover cable, hooked it up and it worked perfectly,
Thanks to both of you for your help.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NVR connection with switch (RESOLVED)
« Reply #11 on: January 27, 2015, 09:21:01 AM »

Interesting that the NVR and switch connects with a xover cable. Makes me wonder if the auto sensing feature of the new switch is working as designed or if the NVR is designed differently.

Well, glad you got it working. Enjoy the snow. Hehe.  ::)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting