• July 07, 2020, 07:13:55 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7

Author Topic: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS  (Read 55969 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48944
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #60 on: August 13, 2015, 07:51:38 AM »

Maybe due to the fact that Smart Connect and the Hidden feature are not compatible with each other. Hidding and SSID name may work for the most part however some scanners can work around this and find hidden SSIDs.


I recently purchased a DIR-890L and while the smart connect was one of the features that attracted me to the device. While I have searched extensively online I am unable to find why smart connect SSID can not be made invisible. While I understand I can turn off Smart Connect and hide each individual band it defeats the purpose of one of the key features.

I am in Canada running the latest 1.08 FW
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48944
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #61 on: September 17, 2015, 06:55:30 AM »

Any status on this?  ???

Really disappointed in the Router. Smart Connect  DOES NOT WORK! It put me on channel 1 along with my neighbors, and I was unable to maintain a connection to the devices in my bedroom. One reason may be that the bedroom is at the front of my house, is nearer to the interfering neighbors, and the router in my computer room in the center of the house cannot easily detect the interferers. I manually set the DIR-890L to channel 6, turned off Smart Connect, and everything worked. But now I cannot take advantage of the nice features of Smart Connect—a bummer!
Why can't you let the user choose the channel and still use Smart Connect? The whole neat thing about the router is thus impossible to use.

Also, your "high-level" support claimed that you dropped the ability to reserve an ip address for a device. You can, but it is totally hidden on the home page. See my review at http://jamesrome.net/drupal/DIR-890L
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Yaoshi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #62 on: October 08, 2015, 06:22:45 PM »

... but the setup is lacking many of useful features like Access Control, it was the most useful feature for me ...

Jamal - I can't agree with you more regarding the lack of useful features. I, too, need to configure "Access Control" in order to block Google DNS. This is necessary for streaming Netflix on Roku. I also need to ensure that "Advanced DNS" is disabled. It would be fantastic if the DIR-890L firmware allowed more granular configuration options ... like my old DIR-655! The old DIR-655 is what I'm using for the Roku to work ... and the DIR-890L has been shelved for the time being.

I know the moderator directed you to call technical support. Did you have any luck? Where I am in the world (Korea) ... there's practically no support. When I finally got through to them (I think it's in the Philippines) ... they were of no assistance. :(
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48944
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #63 on: October 09, 2015, 07:06:01 AM »

To take advantage of the 890Ls wireless capabilities, why not turn OFF the 655s wireless radio and set up the 890L as a wired AP connected to the 655 and use the 890L as your main wireless AP?  ??? Then you can have the best of both routers.



... but the setup is lacking many of useful features like Access Control, it was the most useful feature for me ...

Jamal - I can't agree with you more regarding the lack of useful features. I, too, need to configure "Access Control" in order to block Google DNS. This is necessary for streaming Netflix on Roku. I also need to ensure that "Advanced DNS" is disabled. It would be fantastic if the DIR-890L firmware allowed more granular configuration options ... like my old DIR-655! The old DIR-655 is what I'm using for the Roku to work ... and the DIR-890L has been shelved for the time being.

I know the moderator directed you to call technical support. Did you have any luck? Where I am in the world (Korea) ... there's practically no support. When I finally got through to them (I think it's in the Philippines) ... they were of no assistance. :(
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Yaoshi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #64 on: October 10, 2015, 10:58:21 PM »

... take advantage of the 890Ls wireless capabilities ... set up the 890L as a wired AP connected to the 655 ... you can have the best of both routers.

I appreciate your suggestion.

I'll give it a try following your instructions here - http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=40856.0. Please share if there's anything else I need to keep in mind when setting up the DIR-890L as a wired access point.

Thank you!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48944
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #65 on: October 10, 2015, 11:08:14 PM »

Actually, there is an actual AP mode setting with in the router menu to select...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48944
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #66 on: November 10, 2015, 09:07:14 AM »

Any status on this?  ???

... take advantage of the 890Ls wireless capabilities ... set up the 890L as a wired AP connected to the 655 ... you can have the best of both routers.

I appreciate your suggestion.

I'll give it a try following your instructions here - http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=40856.0. Please share if there's anything else I need to keep in mind when setting up the DIR-890L as a wired access point.

Thank you!
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48944
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #67 on: November 11, 2015, 07:29:04 PM »

New beta code. Should some issues. Working great for me:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=63787.0
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48944
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #68 on: November 20, 2015, 08:17:15 AM »

Bugs v1.08/09:
1. Firewall Settings IPv4 Rules disappear after save - http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=63841.0 Also confirmed in v1.09 Beta.
2. Configuration of QoS fails after a period of time and no longer allows any saved settings until the router is factory reset, user walks thru the set up wizard then goes directly into the QoS and makes changes to the the ISP settings. Saves the changes then the router will reboot and the configuration will be saved. This is fixed in v1.09 Beta.
3. Some issues seeing reserving IPs and naming devices and not being able to reserve any more than 15-17 devices when 24 was reported as being supported on the 890L. This is fixed in v1.09 Beta. Needs some additional testing to confirm reserved device count.
4. Manually setting the time adds one hour to entered time - http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=63837.0 Need some review and additional testing to confirm problem and design behavior and function with DST and Automatic NTP services.
5. Display of changed IP addresses in QoS is incorrect when initial IP address given in DHCP is changed when doing a reservation and changing to a different IP address then saving the change. The new IP address is not displayed in QoS, the old initial IP address is displayed. v1.09 http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=63786.msg262311#msg262311
« Last Edit: November 25, 2015, 12:07:09 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Merlin309

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #69 on: December 22, 2015, 09:45:15 PM »

Just received the DIR-890L/R - Looks cool, but setup is not as intuitive as the TP-Link Archer C3200 it is replacing.
Hardware Ver A1, Firmware updated to ver 108b03, SmartConnect disabled {I'm smarter than it is}
Anyway - - I finally had to call Customer Service to find out where the Reserve IP menu was located.
-
#1:  Please increase the number of reservable IP slots to 50
-
CS also confirmed there is no WiFi MAC Whitelist nor Blacklist capability.
This is NOT good.  The TP-Link, as well as ancient dual-band routers have this capability.
The Linksys E1200 permits separate Whitelists or Blacklists for each of the 2.4 and 5 GHz bands
The Archer C3200 applies the same MAC list and either Whitelist or Blacklist function to all 3 radios (which I find more convenient to set up)
-
#2:  Please enable a MAC White/Blacklist function with AT LEAST 62 MAC ID slots.
-
Everyone knows your default Admin user ID is - - ADMIN.  NOT very secure !
-
#3:  Please allow me to Change the Name of the ADMIN login. 
-
#4:  Under the Wireless Menu; there NEEDS to BE a WPS Disable selector.
-
#5: Daylight Savings Selector - when enabled, this should automatically adjust when the time changes in the Spring and Fall.
As it is currently programmed, when enabled, it unintelligently just seems to add an hour to the current time.
-
#6: There should be a selector that will DISABLE access to the Configuration Menu from ANY WiFi connected device
AND from Any Device located outside the internal network as defined by the IP Address range assignable by the router.
-
Thanks
« Last Edit: December 22, 2015, 09:46:49 PM by Merlin309 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48944
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #70 on: December 22, 2015, 10:11:18 PM »

Update to v1.09 will be better for SC.
Most of your requests will probably not be added. This is a home class router not a business router.

Current IP reservation is 24. If you need more, It's recommended to use STATIC IPs on devices that don't need any or much router management.
DHCP
This will help with reserving IPs for devices that really need reservations and router management.

Just received the DIR-890L/R - Looks cool, but setup is not as intuitive as the TP-Link Archer C3200 it is replacing.
Hardware Ver A1, Firmware updated to ver 108b03, SmartConnect disabled {I'm smarter than it is}
Anyway - - I finally had to call Customer Service to find out where the Reserve IP menu was located.
-
#1:  Please increase the number of reservable IP slots to 50
-
CS also confirmed there is no WiFi MAC Whitelist nor Blacklist capability.
This is NOT good.  The TP-Link, as well as ancient dual-band routers have this capability.
The Linksys E1200 permits separate Whitelists or Blacklists for each of the 2.4 and 5 GHz bands
The Archer C3200 applies the same MAC list and either Whitelist or Blacklist function to all 3 radios (which I find more convenient to set up)
-
#2:  Please enable a MAC White/Blacklist function with AT LEAST 62 MAC ID slots.
-
Everyone knows your default Admin user ID is - - ADMIN.  NOT very secure !
-
#3:  Please allow me to Change the Name of the ADMIN login. 
-
#4:  Under the Wireless Menu; there NEEDS to BE a WPS Disable selector.
-
#5: Daylight Savings Selector - when enabled, this should automatically adjust when the time changes in the Spring and Fall.
As it is currently programmed, when enabled, it unintelligently just seems to add an hour to the current time.
-
#6: There should be a selector that will DISABLE access to the Configuration Menu from ANY WiFi connected device
AND from Any Device located outside the internal network as defined by the IP Address range assignable by the router.
-
Thanks
« Last Edit: December 22, 2015, 10:22:27 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Blueyed1

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #71 on: March 14, 2016, 07:54:04 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

PC Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8, 9, 10 or 11, set compatibility mode and test again.
Disable any security browser Add-ons like No Script and Ad-Block or configure them to allow All Pages when connected to the router.
Clear all browser caches.
Be sure to log into the Admin account on the router.
Try turning off these features in Chrome:
Top right corner, little bars for options > Settings > Settings (on left) > Show advanced settings.
Uncheck these:
Use a web service to help resolve navigation errors
Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar
Predict network actions to improve page load performance
Enable phishing and malware protection

Thank you for your feed back and details on what your experiencing.

When you are selecting a time frame, to de-select, are you highlighting the same selected area to remove the time frame with the mouse cursor to remove the highlighted section?

Some features may or may not be supported on these newer model routers as seen before with older generation routers. These routers are classified as home class routers and seem to be designed around a more simplified UI and use for the average home users. I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. Express your desire and request that the features be added. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.



I just purchased and setup my DIR-890L (HW:A1 - FW:1.00) today and noticed several bugs and surprisingly missing features.

- Parental Controls / Schedule: (BUG) - I have set a "Bed time" schedule and encountered several issues.
 * The schedule does not allow to de-select hours once already high-lighted, requiring to delete the schedule and start over. Tried different browsers to validate it was not a browser issue (Chrome and Firefox)
 * The highlighted area of the schedule should indicate FUNCTIONAL time, not DOWN time, or should allow you to define what the highlighted area means.

- Parental Controls / multiple devices: (BROKEN)
 * When enabling Parental controls for a connected client, it renders any other clients assigned to the same schedule to "ALWAYS-OFF". We should be able to assign the same schedule to multiple connected clients. As it is I have had to disable parental controls pending a fix.
 * When Parental Controls are enabled on a client, the schedule always indicates "ALWAYS OFF" even if a schedule is applied.
    ie: apply schedule "Bed Time", SAVE, logout and back in; viewing client shows "ALWAYS OFF" schedule being applied.

- System Logs: (MISSING FEATURE)
 * No way to view logs without a syslog server???
 * If/when logs are viewable from the console, we should be able to set detail level of logs (ie: alerts only, all, etc)
 * We should be able to view what load each client is putting upon the network and their respective traffic.

* Connected Clients:  (MISSING FEATURE)
 * There should be some way to view/manage disconnected clients. As it is one must wait for the client to connect to the network to manage it.
 * There should be a way to view what frequency each client is connected to at any given time. ie: wires, 2.4ghz, 5.0ghz(1), 5.0ghz(2)

WiFi / SmartConnect: (MISSING FEATURE or BUG?)
 * When using SmartConnect there doesn't seem to be a way to force a specific WiFi channel. Does SmartConnect automatically choose the least busy channel? Either way we should be able to specify the channel even when using SmartConnect.

mydlink lite / Notifications: (BUG)
 * We should have the option to only send notification when a new / previously unknown device connects. As it is, every time any user (wired or wifi) joins the network a notification is sent. My email box is flooded after several reboots while struggling with the schedule issue above.
 * Notifications don't show the manually entered given names, only the original/oem/hardware names.

Website filter: (MISSING FEATURE)
 * We should be able to filter/block sites to specific clients. As it is any web filters apply to the whole network community.


I think there is more but can't think of it right now...

I nice feature could be the ability to prioritize some cliens to the 5Ghz band and others to the 2,4 Ghz band. Like the Qos engine, just for 2,4 and 5 Ghz bands.

On connected clients, feature to filter, LAN cliens, wifi 2,4, wifi 5Gz, offline cliens, online ciiens and more.

Statistics: usage per client, LAN, wifi 2,4, 5Ghz

/Blueyed1
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48944
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #72 on: March 14, 2016, 07:55:52 AM »

Thanks for the feed back.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

BiggShooter

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
  • BiggShooter is BACK!
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #73 on: April 25, 2016, 07:07:01 AM »

 I've reached point where I can NO LONGER rename additional devices.  I've come to the conclusion that the 890L has a maximum number of devices that can be "edited" or "renamed", similar to the 24 max device IP reservation.  THIS DOES NOT APPLY TO DEVICES ALREADY EDITED / RENAMED.  I CAN rename / edit any/ all devices that I previously renamed / edited.

I'm hoping this can get forwarded to D'Link for review.  Also, if any other 890L users can confirm whether or not they've experienced this same issue, that would be beneficial (especially for D'Link).  It's difficult to determine how many devices I've already renamed / edited, but I'm guessing it is somewhere between 24 an 30.

Hopefully this issue can get addressed in a future beta firmware / official firmware update.
Logged
My Setup: Cable (200Mbps / 12 Mbps) > Modem (Netgear CM1000) > Router (D-Link DIR-XXXX) > Switch (Netgear Nighthawk S8000 Gaming & Streaming Switch) (HP Pro Curve Switch x2 - J9449-60001)

aka Vigilante

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48944
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #74 on: April 25, 2016, 01:10:09 PM »

Are the devices your trying to edit Dynamic, Static or Reserved?

I presume you are getting up to 24 reserved devices then after that I believe setting newer reservations wont work.
Just wondering if adding new Dynamic or Static device are not able to be edited...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7