• October 19, 2020, 05:55:58 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: What does this error mean:? netMakeChannDial: err=-3000  (Read 28236 times)

hamdon

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
What does this error mean:? netMakeChannDial: err=-3000
« on: January 05, 2015, 01:36:47 AM »

I am using a DSL-320B Z1, Firmware 1.05.
My error log is full of this repeating message.   What does it mean?

01/05/2015 09:28:31   netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=80392a6c
01/05/2015 09:28:31   Last errorlog repeat 2 Times
01/05/2015 09:28:36   netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=80392a6c
01/05/2015 09:28:42   Last errorlog repeat 14 Times
01/05/2015 09:28:44   netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=80392a6c
01/05/2015 09:28:45   Last errorlog repeat 2 Times
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: What does this error mean:? netMakeChannDial: err=-3000
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2015, 07:20:49 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your modem? Look at the sticker under modem.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the modems web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

I recommend that you have your ISP check the cabling going to the ISP modem, check signal levels going to the ISP modem. For DSL or Fiber service lines, ensure that the ISP is using good working phone or cable lines to the DSL modem and that the phone lines are filtered correctly. I recommend having the ISP service physically check the lines going from the out side to the ISP modem. Connecting to the ISP modem could result in a false positive as the signal to the modem could be just enough to that point then adding on a router, could see problems. The router operation is dependent upon getting good data flow from the ISP modem and the modem is dependent upon getting good signal from the ISP Service.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

hamdon

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: What does this error mean:? netMakeChannDial: err=-3000
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2015, 09:14:05 AM »

Thank you for the welcome and for the constructive response.

I thought I indicated Hardware/Firmware versions at the start of my post (DSL-320B Z1,  1.05) what more information can I give?  As for region it is UK.
I do not have an ISP modem,  I am currently using the DSL-320B as my DSL modem in PPPoA/PPPoE mode.

These errors occur consistently, including periods when my download speeds are high (>9 Mbs), my ISP is not overly helpful,  does not think I have a problem and does not want to undergo the expense of a physical line check.

I have no means of ruling out a filtering problem, but I have experimented today with swapping over my DLINK filters with other high quality ones which I have, it seems to make no difference.

You have pointed to some potential causes of this message,  I am still interested to know a bit more about what it actually means.   Is there some kind of document listing error codes?  I am also wondering if there is something in the low level DSL settings that can be adjusted.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: What does this error mean:? netMakeChannDial: err=-3000
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2015, 09:51:10 AM »

There isn't any document or listing for error codes. These are internal to D-Link and you'd have to talk with level 2 or higher support about it.
I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!