• November 22, 2019, 01:25:23 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Setting DNS manually on 2890AL  (Read 2507 times)

Kiwi-guy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Setting DNS manually on 2890AL
« on: January 02, 2015, 12:46:14 PM »

Hi,

I just bought a DSL-2890AL modem to use but am having all sorts of issues trying to manually set up the DNS severs I use. Everything works fine when I choose to obtain from my ISP but when I change the option to Enter DNS manually and enter either the DNS I want (103.6.212.24) or even googles (8.8.8.8) and reboot the modem I get no internet connection. I have tried looking through for something which could be preventing the modem from accepting my preferred DNS.

All other modems in the house work fine with the DNS I m trying to use so logically my thinking is its the D-Link modem and a setting I just haven't found yet.

I am on the latest firmware (AU 1.02.06)

Any other information I can provide to help just let me know
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setting DNS manually on 2890AL
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2015, 01:24:47 PM »

Did you reboot the modem and ALL devices after making the changes?
« Last Edit: January 02, 2015, 01:56:18 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Kiwi-guy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Setting DNS manually on 2890AL
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2015, 06:24:46 PM »

Hey thanks

I logged a call the help desk and after a long argument withthe guy in the call that the use of my own preferred DNS server should be possible it was found that a soft reboot was not enough. The modem needed to be physically unplugged for the setting to take effect.

Also should I mark this a solved in the title or is that not needed in this forum?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setting DNS manually on 2890AL (RESOLVED)
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2015, 07:22:44 AM »

Glad you got it working. Enjoy. ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting