• November 11, 2019, 09:16:09 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Internet problem with 1.37EU  (Read 2833 times)

kenny01

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Internet problem with 1.37EU
« on: January 01, 2015, 02:52:11 AM »

Hello,
I've recently updated my DIR-655 Rev A2 from 1.31EU to 1.37EU firmware and I've started to encounter web browsing problems.

I often receive an error page in my web browser when opening multiple websites.
If I refresh the page, 1 or 2 times, then the web page loads correctly.

I've attached a screenshot.


So, after reading some topics in this forum, I've tried to disable DNS Relay and manually add my ISP DNS servers.
After that my computers cannot surf the web: my computers cannot get the DNS servers.

I've also tried to empty the DNS servers fields (and they "0.0.0.0") but the results are the same.

How can I disable DNS relay and let the computers get the ISP DNS servers, then?
Or how can I get rid of the error message posted above?

Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47888
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Internet problem with 1.37EU
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2015, 09:14:45 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values

After DNS Relay is disabled and you input new DNS addresses and save settings and reboot the router, ALL other devices need to be rebooted as well so they can collect the new DNS address changes.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

kenny01

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Internet problem with 1.37EU
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2015, 09:24:56 AM »

Region: Italy.
My PC is connected via WiFi, while the router is connected to my ISP DSL modem by ethernet cable (CAT 5e).
A factory reset had been performed right after upgrading to the new firmware.
No factory reset had been performed before the upgrade. The settings (WiFi SSID, key, etc etc) have been set up from scratch (no backup file has been used).

The router was working fine before, with the firmware 1.31.

My ISP is Fastweb (Italy), DSL modem provided by the ISP. Only ethernet connection (4x Ethernet ports) provided by this DSL modem.
IP, subnet, DNS automatically provided by the ISP....so Dynamic WAN IP addressing.
DL speed 7 Mbit. UL speed 1MB.
The ethernet cable used to connect the DIR-655 and my ISP modem is CAT 5e.
The MTU had always been 1500 on my DIR-655 with no problems (when I had the 1.31 firmware).

I flushed the DNS cache on my computer (Windows 8 x64) after disabling DNS Relay and rebooting the router, but the computer couldn't get the DNS from the router even if the Status page of the DIR-655 was showing the correct DNS servers (the ones provided by my ISP).

I'll try to factory reset again and reboot the computer...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47888
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Internet problem with 1.37EU
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2015, 10:09:00 AM »

  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on Router
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

kenny01

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Internet problem with 1.37EU
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2015, 01:11:28 PM »

I've done a Hardware Reset, using the button on the back of the DIR-655.

Disabled everything not needed, like SPI/Firewall and WISH (I don't actually need them), and now the router seems to work fine.
DNS Relay disabled, DNS servers correctly received by the network clients.

I guess I just needed to restore the factory default settings through the rear button.

Thank anyway for your support!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47888
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Internet problem with 1.37EU (RESOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2015, 03:55:10 PM »

Glad you go it working. Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting