• September 18, 2019, 02:00:14 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: 850L Cant acces internet  (Read 2725 times)

changrudy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
850L Cant acces internet
« on: December 16, 2014, 02:43:53 PM »

Hi all,

Been troubleshooting this router all week and was wondering if anyone can help me.

It keeps dropping the internet after several hours, meaning the light turns orange. Once I reboot it, it works fine so the modem to router connection is fine. its an A1, with firmware 1.05 DIR850L.

I have to mention that I have two routers at home, the LAN on the first one is connected to the WAN of this one. Theyre both setup on DHCP, and they both have different IP. 192.168.0.2 and 192.168.1.1

Any help would be appreciated,

Rudy
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 850L Cant acces internet
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2014, 05:29:16 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
>FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on a Router

What is the Mfr and model of the 1st router?
Does the 1st router have WiFi? Channels should differ as being on or near the same channel will cause interferences on the WiFi.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 36 or 149 on 5Ghz.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

changrudy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: 850L Cant acces internet
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2014, 06:26:11 PM »

See answers below


Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
Canada
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
both, wired to computer, and wireless to iphones
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
>FW Update Process I did try a factory reset after firmware upgrade. Didnt work properly before or after.
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?
Yes, but only for a couple of hours and then I lose connection.

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations videotron direct from modem
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
cable
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
....not sure if this is relevant, I dont have it handy
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
Dynamic
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
not sure how thats relevant
like I said, internet works after restart of router
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
Where do I find this?
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
cable
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems:  Nope, seperateLink>Double NAT and How NAT Works. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on a Router

What is the Mfr and model of the 1st router? linksys WRGT54
Does the 1st router have WiFi? Channels should differ as being on or near the same channel will cause interferences on the WiFi. Yes, ok I will try that. Should I try it on the DIR850? My first router works fine and prefer not messsing with that one.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 36 or 149 on 5Ghz.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 850L Cant acces internet
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2014, 08:01:17 PM »

What Mfr and model is the ISP modem?

I recommend using the 850L as your primary router instead. You maybe introducing a bottle next using the old router in between the ISP modem and the newer generation 850L router.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting