• October 31, 2020, 04:16:56 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Problem with DIR 850L and openDNS  (Read 2581 times)

tronman61

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Problem with DIR 850L and openDNS
« on: November 19, 2014, 04:49:08 PM »

There have been a couple of posts on this before, but neither of them seem to have come up with a definitive answer.

I am running 850L A1, Firmware 1.1 on the back of a virginmedia superhub in modem mode.
The purpose of this setup was to enable me to use openDNS as the superhub does not allow changes to be made to DNS settings

It's been hit and miss.
I had it set up happily yesterday and working fine, but today (for most of the day) I was back to not being able to use it.

I have followed the various bits of advice on this thread as well as I can
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=55734.0

I also updated the firmware to 1.10. Nothing changed.
In the end, as suggested right at the end of the thread, I tried 1472 as a test MTU and, lo and behold, open DNS starts to work.

I am on a cable modem.

I don't know if this is what made the difference to my connection, or if I have inadvertently changed something else that has made the difference.
I am a relative newbie to all this.

Can anyone advise/explain?

I will update if anything changes.

Thanks

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Problem with DIR 850L and openDNS
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2014, 07:10:30 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
>FW Update Process

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values

If you change the MTU value and everything is working then you found your solution and keep this value. You need to verify if your on a Cable system or DSL or other kind of ISP system. MTU values differ between them.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Problem with DIR 850L and openDNS
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2014, 01:45:45 PM »

Any status on this?  ???

There have been a couple of posts on this before, but neither of them seem to have come up with a definitive answer.

I am running 850L A1, Firmware 1.1 on the back of a virginmedia superhub in modem mode.
The purpose of this setup was to enable me to use openDNS as the superhub does not allow changes to be made to DNS settings

It's been hit and miss.
I had it set up happily yesterday and working fine, but today (for most of the day) I was back to not being able to use it.

I have followed the various bits of advice on this thread as well as I can
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=55734.0

I also updated the firmware to 1.10. Nothing changed.
In the end, as suggested right at the end of the thread, I tried 1472 as a test MTU and, lo and behold, open DNS starts to work.

I am on a cable modem.

I don't know if this is what made the difference to my connection, or if I have inadvertently changed something else that has made the difference.
I am a relative newbie to all this.

Can anyone advise/explain?

I will update if anything changes.

Thanks
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!