• December 06, 2019, 07:34:21 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: When SSID hidden not possible to connect  (Read 11925 times)

dbknopke

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
When SSID hidden not possible to connect
« on: June 27, 2014, 07:33:58 AM »

Hi,

region EU(Belguim)

DIR-880L (White)

when SSID hidden not possible to connect, un-hidden all OK????

Grtz
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: When SSID hidden not possible to connect
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2014, 07:59:44 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
« Last Edit: June 27, 2014, 08:20:51 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

dbknopke

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: When SSID hidden not possible to connect
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2014, 08:09:37 AM »

firmware 1.00
Hardware A1

NO Neighbours
Changed SSID name

Wireless mode:
2.4Ghz: g/n
5 Ghz: n/ac
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: When SSID hidden not possible to connect
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2014, 08:21:53 AM »

And you are manually inputting the SSID and PW of the hidden network into the devices?
Can you test with WiFi security temporarily disabled and see if the hidden network can be connected to
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

dbknopke

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: When SSID hidden not possible to connect
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2014, 08:36:01 AM »

Manual input SSID and PW NOT-hidden (works)

Same SSID and PW hidden no connection possible. Get no IP-adress
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: When SSID hidden not possible to connect
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2014, 08:37:56 AM »

Can you test with WiFi security temporarily disabled on the 880L and see if the hidden network can be connected to?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

dbknopke

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: When SSID hidden not possible to connect
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2014, 09:13:57 AM »

Security mode: None,Wep,WPA with SSID hidden don't works  >:(

Wifi works only in Visible mode  >:(

New router from today...

I switch my Dir 857 ---> DIR 880L For a stronger wifi signal
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: When SSID hidden not possible to connect
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2014, 09:23:52 AM »

Does the hidden feature on the 857 do the same thing or does it work?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

dbknopke

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: When SSID hidden not possible to connect
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2014, 09:38:05 AM »

On My 857

Same SSID,PW,WPA/WPA2 with hidden SSID works Fine.

On 880L
With the same configuration NOT  >:(
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: When SSID hidden not possible to connect
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2014, 09:40:10 AM »

Ok, I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

fredde

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: When SSID hidden not possible to connect
« Reply #11 on: June 27, 2014, 10:17:23 PM »

My clients stopped connecting when I just changed the network to hidden on the router. Looks like you have to reconnect the clients by removing the stored wireless profile, or rename the SSID and then reconnect.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: When SSID hidden not possible to connect
« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2014, 08:42:29 AM »

Please let us know if Fredde's solution works for you...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: When SSID hidden not possible to connect
« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2014, 03:15:45 PM »

Fredde, were you able to connect your devices to the hidden SSID? I had my buddy whos working with my 880L here in the NA region and he said he could not get any of this devcies to connect or remain connected. Even after deleting the profiles and forgetting the remembered networks and manually entering the SSID and PW, the devices are not connecting right...please let me know.

My clients stopped connecting when I just changed the network to hidden on the router. Looks like you have to reconnect the clients by removing the stored wireless profile, or rename the SSID and then reconnect.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

hwdan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: When SSID hidden not possible to connect
« Reply #14 on: June 28, 2014, 04:47:28 PM »

I replaced a DIR-855L with the DIR-880L (North America) last week.  I reused both SSID's and passwords from the old router on the new router.   I had the old SSID's hidden on the old router and set them both to "invisible" on this new router as well (confirmed with inSSIDer, everything hidden).   I was all set to have to go through every device I have to recreate all the profiles but I didn't need to.  Every device whether Windows, Android or IOS connected just fine with the original profiles without intervention at all.  I've had it running for a full week now and it's been rock solid.  

If it might make a difference, I've set fixed channels on both bands (as I run another wireless router for a separate network next to it so I don't ever have any overlap), plus set the 2.4ghz band to N only and the 5ghz band to a/n/ac only.  I haven't tried it any other way otherwise.

« Last Edit: June 28, 2014, 04:50:11 PM by hwdan »
Logged
Pages: [1] 2