• February 25, 2020, 07:16:45 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Instalation blues  (Read 3369 times)

okiedokie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Instalation blues
« on: May 22, 2014, 10:16:35 AM »

Hello.

I recently purchased a DIR-826L router to get a hdd online where me and my coworkers can access some files whenever from wherever without having to hire a service like Dropbox.

After the router was unboxed and installed and it worked fine. By worked fine I mean that the wifi is working, I get internet access from all computers linked to the router. Nothing more than that.

The setup I currently have is a GVT Powerbox, that converts the external line into a home/usable signal and also works as a router.

This powerbox is connected to the D-Link router and another switch that connects to all computers.

The powerbox is already configured to DMZ the dlink router.

My question is:

Where should I setup the dlinkddns settings? In the GVT powerbox or the dlink router?

How do I access the files from the dlinks router locally?

Best regards,
Joao
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48383
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Instalation blues
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2014, 10:34:16 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?

You can find DDNS under Tools/Dynamic DNS on the routers web page.
Please review pg 97 of the user manual for information.
Be aware:
Dyn to Shut Down DynDNS Free Service

You can use D-Link SP utility to access a USB connected drive or try this:
 How to map a USB Drive to your PC without using Shareport software

Example here:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=52676.0

FYI:
USB HDD Max Size FAQ - New FAQ - USB HDD Max Size FAQ
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

okiedokie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Instalation blues
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2014, 05:41:25 AM »

THanks for the feedback Furrynutz, please find below some of the info you asked:

1. Hardware version: A1
2. Firmware: 1.04
3. Region: Brazil

4. ISP -> GVT, they have optic fiber service that somewhere near my office it gets transformed into a "telephone" looking wire, so I believe itīs DSL.

5. The modem is a PACE v5471-002 with special firmware by GVT
6. We have dynamic IP address.

As for the dyndns, I already setup the account, but my question is where to set it up, the DLINK router or the GVT router?  The dlinkddns address doesnt respond.

Thanks for the help.
Joao.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48383
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Instalation blues
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2014, 07:29:04 AM »

I would presume that DDNS should be set up on the router if its the main router for handling DNS and all other operations...I don't think you'd need to set it up on the client device...

You could try either one and test them both out...

Does this ISP modem have a built in router by chance? Need to make sure it does not.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

okiedokie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Instalation blues
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2014, 10:23:58 AM »

It does have a built in router with media server and some other crap, but their USB port doesnīt allow for usb storage sharing.


Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48383
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Instalation blues
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2014, 10:28:43 AM »

This maybe the issue:
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on Router
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!