• October 25, 2020, 07:26:29 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-626L - can't access admin panel  (Read 9852 times)

JesterRaiin

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
DIR-626L - can't access admin panel
« on: May 19, 2014, 02:53:05 AM »

Hi! Sorry if this should go to other section, I can't see dedicated DIR-626 sub forum.

Anyway:

Just got DIR-626L with 1.03 firmware.

I managed to configure it - it works as intended, however, for some reason it rejects access to admin's panel now.

After entering my password it says only:
500 Internal Error
System busy, please try again.
mini_httpd/1.19 19dec2003


Here is screenshot with that:
http://awesomescreenshot.com/09d2tqz9a5

Additionally, when I select "disable Internet connection" in Windows and re-enable it later, it does nothing. There's only the information saying that my computer tires to enable network and that's all. System works, connection doesn't.

I tried to:
- access it with all possible security disabled (AV, Firewall, things like that)
- access it from multiple Internet Browsers
- access it from multiple systems (Win XP/Win 7/Win 8.1/Linux Fedora/Linux Mint/Linux Debian)
- access it from multiple computers
- access it via wi-fi
- access it via Android application and mydlink page (both smartphone and tablet)
...to no avail.

Any help?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-626L - can't access admin panel
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2014, 07:35:37 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.

Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
3-6' feet minimum safe distance between devices.
Placement on main level floor and central in the building and WELL ventilated is preferred. Not in basements or closets as building materials, or near by electronics devices could interfere or hinder good signal propagation.

PC 3rd Party Security Software Configurations
  • Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
  • Turn off all devices accept for one wired LAN PC while testing.



PC Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8, 9, 10 or 11, set compatibility mode and test again.
Disable any security browser Add-ons like No Script and Ad-Block or configure them to allow All Pages when connected to the router.
Clear all browser caches.
Be sure to log into the Admin account on the router.
Try turning off these features in Chrome:
Top right corner, little bars for options > Settings > Settings (on left) > Show advanced settings.
Uncheck these:
Use a web service to help resolve navigation errors
Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar
Predict network actions to improve page load performance
Enable phishing and malware protection
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

JesterRaiin

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DIR-626L - can't access admin panel
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2014, 08:12:13 AM »

I appreciate the answer, but most of these points (actually all, aside of FR which was performed a few times) were addressed in my initial post and the rest I can't work with, since they either address the problem I don't have (router placement), or rely on accessing admin's panel - the one I can't access...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-626L - can't access admin panel
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2014, 09:06:41 AM »

The reason for my questions, not answers, is to help us get a better idea of your situation and we need more information to make better suggestions and give you better feed back in a good direction to point you to that will lead to a resolution or continued support with D-Link.

If you can't access the routers web page after doing a factory reset,
Please follow this and reload the FW file from dlinks main web site for your region:
Emergency Recovery Mode

Please provide answers to the questions presented so we can further help you better.

Thank you.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

mikkimus

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: DIR-626L - can't access admin panel
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2014, 10:43:05 AM »

Sounds like a reboot of my thread
http://www.dlink.com/no/nb/support/product/dir-636l-cloud-gigabit-router-n300 My device
http://www.dlink.com/no/nb/support/product/dir-626l-cloud-router-n300-plus    Op's device
Look at the date of latest firmware. It's the same.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2014, 10:46:07 AM by mikkimus »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-626L - can't access admin panel
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2014, 11:03:33 AM »

Issue maybe similar. I'm hoping a re-seat of the FW might help.

I don't see any other FW versions for the 626 though...

If the OP can respond to answer the questions, we can go from there.  ::)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

JesterRaiin

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DIR-626L - can't access admin panel
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2014, 12:24:29 AM »

If you can't access the routers web page after doing a factory reset,

Look at the date of latest firmware. It's the same.

Gents, I'm far beyond "just reset it" and while this might help, it's NOT the solution, merely "quick patch", since the issue comes back. Router which has to be rested (with working config restored) for no reason on random occasions is obviously flawed.

My thoughts: I'm not 100% sure, but administrator's password could be a culprit. Each time the issue came back, it involved me reconfiguring a few options - each time something different. The only thing common was password. It always involved a few same letters, like "breakkkk" (don't ask).

Could someone with same router/firmware confirm it?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-626L - can't access admin panel
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2014, 07:14:46 AM »

Can you try using the following and see what happens?
626

Then try (copy and paste this)
$!@#$%^&*()!@#$

If you leave the PW blank, does it problem continue?

PC Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8, 9, 10 or 11, set compatibility mode and test again.

Does it happen with different browsers?

Did you do the reload of FW?

It would be helpful if you could answer some of the questions presented...Please.

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

JesterRaiin

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DIR-626L - can't access admin panel
« Reply #8 on: May 21, 2014, 12:24:49 AM »

Since yesterday:

- it stopped working sometime in the middle of the night
- it didn't recover after simple on/off
- after restoring last good *.cfg it started to work, but sluggish, very sluggish
- a few computers had their IPs revoken and assigned wrong ones (some random from DHCP table, instead of MAC assigned ones)

Another thing... It might be just a coincidence, but remote status checking via MYDlink account might be the culprit - it didn't want to connect, refused passwords, and a few minutes later router "died" another time. I disabled my router on MyDlink account - we'll see if that changes anything.

Can you try using the following and see what happens?
626

Then try (copy and paste this)
$!@#$%^&*()!@#$

If you leave the PW blank, does it problem continue?

Yes.

PC Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8, 9, 10 or 11, set compatibility mode and test again.

Does it happen with different browsers?

Did you do the reload of FW?

It would be helpful if you could answer some of the questions presented...Please.

Allow me to copy & paste that part of my initial post that's for some unknown reason is disregarded whole time.

I tried to:
- access it with all possible security disabled (AV, Firewall, things like that)
- access it from multiple Internet Browsers
- access it from multiple systems (Win XP/Win 7/Win 8.1/Linux Fedora/Linux Mint/Linux Debian)
- access it from multiple computers
- access it via wi-fi
- access it via Android application and mydlink page (both smartphone and tablet)

...to no avail.


I hope this sheds some light on software part of my problem. Additionally, YES, I do recover FW each time when things stop working.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-626L - can't access admin panel
« Reply #9 on: May 21, 2014, 06:30:28 AM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email. Ask for an RMA.
Let us know how it goes please.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

JesterRaiin

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DIR-626L - can't access admin panel
« Reply #10 on: May 21, 2014, 11:15:11 PM »

Let's see...

- People in the office told me that the wi-fi ceased to work 2-3 hours after I left the place.
- During last night router revoked assigned IPs and replaced them with IPs from entirely different pool - instead of 196.128.1.x/255.255.255.0 I saw 169.254.71.x/255.255.0.0, NO ACTIVE GATE and NO DNSes. Simple restart did nothing, wrong IPs were still assigned.

Here's a screenshot with that:



Ok, this is far beyond funny, I don't have time to seek the culprit and in all honesty, I couldn't trust that **** anymore, so I'll simply replace it with something else.

Thanks for attention and patience.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2014, 01:37:50 AM by JesterRaiin »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-626L - can't access admin panel
« Reply #11 on: May 22, 2014, 06:38:28 AM »

I think that a simple phone call to D-Link support will resolve this issue...This is probably a defective unit that they would replace.

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.


Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!