• December 11, 2019, 11:56:44 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: DIR-655 reboots every 100 minutes  (Read 11084 times)

Gabbiman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
DIR-655 reboots every 100 minutes
« on: May 12, 2014, 11:03:59 AM »

I recently bought a new Asus G750 laptop and my DIR-655 reboots every so often (ranging from every 60 to 120 minutes), but only when that computer is connected. I traveled away for a week and the connection up-time was 7 days when I came back, meanwhile my parents were still at home and doing their usual internet business. I then connected my laptop and an hour or so later the router rebooted.
I never had this problem with my older Toshiba Satellite L755D.
What should I do?

Hardware: DIR-655 B1
Firmware: 2.09

I can provide with any info you might need.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47980
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-655 reboots every 100 minutes
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2014, 11:08:36 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
FW Update Process

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz Routers only: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

Ensure that the LTs WiFi and LAN adapter drivers are up to date.
Does this happen on both Wifi and wired LAN connections?
What OS platform is loaded on the LT?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Gabbiman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: DIR-655 reboots every 100 minutes
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2014, 11:20:50 AM »

I am in Sweden.
Wireless, zero wired connections at all.
No factory reset yet.
None before the latest FW update, but it wiped my configs so I had to redo it all.

Mixed N and G already enabled
20 MHz already enabled
WPA-Personal
TKIP and AES
No corded phones at all

EDIT:
Currently changing around setting that you suggested.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2014, 11:27:28 AM by Gabbiman »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47980
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-655 reboots every 100 minutes
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2014, 11:31:13 AM »

Let us know if wired LAN connections does the same thing on this LT...
Try single mode N/ WPA2 and AES only and test.

Keep us posted.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Gabbiman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: DIR-655 reboots every 100 minutes
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2014, 11:33:44 AM »

Testing that now.
The whole router reboots, as if you pull the cord and put it back in again.
All lamps turn off and turn on a couple of second later.
Will post later if it reboots within 3 hours
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47980
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-655 reboots every 100 minutes
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2014, 12:07:21 PM »

Let us know.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Gabbiman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: DIR-655 reboots every 100 minutes
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2014, 01:06:45 PM »

It rebooted again D:
At 20:07 router time (it keeps on switching the time.(Router might have changed it to that, because the logs say it booted up again at exactly 20:07:00))
Circa 90 minutes of uptime
I have notes of reboot times if you want them
« Last Edit: May 12, 2014, 01:10:04 PM by Gabbiman »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47980
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-655 reboots every 100 minutes
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2014, 01:10:41 PM »

Can you test with Single mode N, WPA2/AES only and Auto 20.40Mhz?
Then test Single mode G WPA2/TPIK only and Auto 20/40Mhz?

Also try disabling Short GI under Advanced/Adv Wireless.
If you see HT20.40 Co-existence there, disable that as well with this configuration for single mode N. Enable it for Single mode G test please.

What is the Mfr and model # of the WiFi adapter in the LT?
What OS platform is on this LT?


Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Gabbiman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: DIR-655 reboots every 100 minutes
« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2014, 01:13:53 PM »

This test was with the top one; Single N,WPA2/AES and Auto 20/40 MHZ
Will try the other suggestions and see if it restarts, but I cant wait for it to work because I have school in the morning and its late here.
And what is a LT?
I cant change HT20/40, Its greyed out and locked to disabled.
I am using win8.1 and Broadcom 802.11ac Network Adapter
« Last Edit: May 12, 2014, 01:18:17 PM by Gabbiman »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47980
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-655 reboots every 100 minutes
« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2014, 01:30:54 PM »


This test was with the top one; Single N,WPA2/AES and Auto 20/40 MHZ
Will try the other suggestions and see if it restarts, but I cant wait for it to work because I have school in the morning and its late here.
And what is a LT? LapTop
I cant change HT20/40, Its greyed out and locked to disabled. It should be not greayed out if you configure with single mode N, WPA2 and AES only with Auto 20/40Mhz enabled.
I am using win8.1 and Broadcom 802.11ac Network Adapter. I wonder if there could be an issue with this adapter. Is there any advanced settings with in the adapters configuration? I'd refer to Broadcoms web site for help and information regarding this.

Come back tomorrow and get some rest.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Gabbiman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: DIR-655 reboots every 100 minutes
« Reply #10 on: May 13, 2014, 06:28:06 AM »

I am now back home from school, first I checked the router page with my cell and it said 16 hours uptime.
I started my LT and router reboot within 10 minutes. 100% sure it is directly linked to my new LT.
Might be the wireless network card as you say, gonna go and see if others experiencedifficulties with that card/adapter.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47980
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-655 reboots every 100 minutes
« Reply #11 on: May 13, 2014, 06:59:31 AM »

Keep us posted on what you find out. Could be a combination of Windows 8 and the adapter as well.

One other thing to test, disable IPv6 protocol on the LT. Also set Local connection only for IPv6 on the router.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Gabbiman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: DIR-655 reboots every 100 minutes
« Reply #12 on: May 13, 2014, 07:06:15 AM »

Broadcom does not seem to have any support on their site what so ever.
There are lots of advanced configs:
Option Name - Option Setting
20/40 Coexistance - Auto
40MHz Intolerant - Disabled
802.11h+d - Loose 11h
802.11n Preamble - Auto
Antenna Diversity - Auto
AP Compatibility Mode - Higher Performance
ARP Offload - Enabled
Association Roam Preference - Disabled
Band Preference - None
Bandwidth Capability - 11a:20/40;11bg:20MHz
Bluetooth Collaboration - Auto
BSS PLCP Header - Auto (Short/Long)
Disable Bands - None
Disable Upon Wired Connect - Disabled
Fragementation Threshold - 2346
BSS54g(tm) Protection Mode - Auto
IBSS Mode - 802.11a/b Only
Locally Administred MAC Address - Not Available
Minimum Power Consumtion - Enabled
Mixed Cell Support - Disabled
NS Offload - Enabled
Power Output - 100%
Priority & VLAN - Priority & VLAN Disabled
Rate (802.11a) - Best Rate
Rate (802.11b/g) - Best Rate
Roam Tendency - Auto
Roaming Decision - Auto
RTS Threshold - 2347
Short GI - Auto
Wake On Magic Packet - Enabled
Wake On Pattern Match - Enabled
WiFi Rekeying Offload - Enabled
WMM - Auto
WZC IBSS Channel Number - 11(20MHz)
XPress (TM) Technology - Disabled
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47980
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-655 reboots every 100 minutes
« Reply #13 on: May 13, 2014, 07:14:36 AM »

Broadcom does not seem to have any support on their site what so ever.
There are lots of advanced configs:
Option Name - Option Setting
20/40 Coexistance - Auto
40MHz Intolerant - Disabled Might test this enabled
802.11h+d - Loose 11h
802.11n Preamble - Auto
Antenna Diversity - Auto
AP Compatibility Mode - Higher Performance
ARP Offload - Enabled
Association Roam Preference - Disabled
Band Preference - None
Bandwidth Capability - 11a:20/40;11bg:20MHz I don't see N here.  ???
Bluetooth Collaboration - Auto
BSS PLCP Header - Auto (Short/Long)
Disable Bands - None
Disable Upon Wired Connect - Disabled
Fragementation Threshold - 2346
BSS54g(tm) Protection Mode - Auto
IBSS Mode - 802.11a/b Only Any other modes here?
Locally Administred MAC Address - Not Available
Minimum Power Consumtion - Enabled Might try this disabled
Mixed Cell Support - Disabled
NS Offload - Enabled
Power Output - 100%
Priority & VLAN - Priority & VLAN Disabled
Rate (802.11a) - Best Rate
Rate (802.11b/g) - Best Rate
Roam Tendency - Auto
Roaming Decision - Auto
RTS Threshold - 2347
Short GI - Auto
Wake On Magic Packet - Enabled
Wake On Pattern Match - Enabled
WiFi Rekeying Offload - Enabled
WMM - Auto
WZC IBSS Channel Number - 11(20MHz)
XPress (TM) Technology - Disabled


I don't see much in N mode support on this adapter...I'm wondering if it is fully supporting of N mode. I presume it is. Before changing anything above, set the 655 to single mode G, WPA and TPIK only with Auto 20/40Mhz and test.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Gabbiman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: DIR-655 reboots every 100 minutes
« Reply #14 on: May 13, 2014, 07:19:33 AM »

I don't see much in N mode support on this adapter...I'm wondering if it is fully supporting of N mode. I presume it is. Before changing anything above, set the 655 to single mode G, WPA and TPIK only with Auto 20/40Mhz and test.

Will test that, almost exactly what I had before.
Also found "802.11a/b/g/n Auto" under the IBSS option, I enabled it
« Last Edit: May 13, 2014, 07:22:58 AM by Gabbiman »
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3