• November 21, 2018, 10:37:27 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Maximum current load  (Read 3880 times)

DrewW

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Maximum current load
« on: May 12, 2014, 09:30:20 AM »

Has anyone seen specifications for the maximum current load that this device can switch on/off? Without this figure it is impossible to determine (before buying) if it can control anything more than a simple lamp.
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • Level 15 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12142
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Maximum current load
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2014, 10:01:17 AM »

Good question! I've reached out to D-Link and will get back to you when I have more information.  :-\
« Last Edit: May 12, 2014, 10:08:49 AM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

Doctor Doom

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
Re: Maximum current load
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2014, 10:44:16 AM »

15 Amp 110/120v

Logged

JavaLawyer

  • Level 15 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12142
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Maximum current load
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2014, 11:09:44 AM »

Here is what I have back from D-Link:

UL certifies all products by a max of 12.5 Amps (which is their testing) so if you use a bit of Ohms law, with the United States 120 volts power lines, that would be:

12.5 Amp x 120 Volts = 1,500 Watts Max power!

The unit does comes equipped with a temperature sensing mechanism that will turn off all power if the internal temperature of the device reaches 65 degrees Celsius = 149 Fahrenheit
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

DrewW

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Maximum current load
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2014, 11:43:50 AM »

JL, thanks for digging up that figure.

Would you also know if the hardware is open sourced any way - schematics? And perhaps a hardware breakdown will tell us more of cpu, dram, I/O components.  I did find that Anandtech has already posted a gallery of W215 internals.
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • Level 15 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12142
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Maximum current load
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2014, 11:59:44 AM »

JL, thanks for digging up that figure.

Would you also know if the hardware is open sourced any way - schematics? And perhaps a hardware breakdown will tell us more of cpu, dram, I/O components.  I did find that Anandtech has already posted a gallery of W215 internals.

D-Link typically does not release anything in the way of schematics. I am not aware of any instances where D-Link open sourced hardware or firmware.

Here's a link to the anandtech DSP-W215 breakdown: anandtech - DSP-W215
« Last Edit: May 12, 2014, 01:07:21 PM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC