• December 01, 2020, 02:58:50 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: "Routers are unable to detect your Internet connection type."  (Read 10946 times)

HivJiriel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2

This is going to be a quick question, and I pray that it gets a quick answer, because I've been having problems with this particular router all day & all night.

I bought this router a few days ago, and I have followed the setup instructions to the letter. I'm currently using a Win7 netbook to attempt to set up & connect to the router through a wired connection, and every time the router attempts to detect the type of internet connection I have (cable internet), the message in the topic title always appears. Is this some sort of issue with the firmware version of my router (1.02 out-of-the-box), or is there another problem with this particular model that I don't yet realize?  :(
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49373
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: "Routers are unable to detect your Internet connection type."
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2014, 07:28:56 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on Router
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

kevdt67

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: "Routers are unable to detect your Internet connection type."
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2014, 03:57:26 PM »

i had same problem but i just set mine up manually. get DNS server addresses from you ISP and go that route
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49373
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: "Routers are unable to detect your Internet connection type."
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2014, 04:16:41 PM »

We need to find out what ISP and modem services he has first...

Using Automatic DNS works for me however I do use manual DNS with DNS Relay OFF. Name Bench is good to find better DNS over ISP DNS>..
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

HivJiriel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: "Routers are unable to detect your Internet connection type."
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2014, 04:29:52 PM »

Link>Welcome!
*waves*

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
Hardware Version A1; Firmware Version 1.02.

  • What region are you located?
North America, United States.

  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
I am currently attempting to set up the router through a wired connection.

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
Cox Communications High Speed Cable Internet.

  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
The modem we currently use is manufactured by CISCO, and the model number is DPQ3212.

  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
Dynamic.

  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
Unknown.[/list]
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49373
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: "Routers are unable to detect your Internet connection type."
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2014, 12:56:52 PM »

Any status on this?

Does a PC directly connected to the ISP modem exhibit the same thing?

I recommend that you have your ISP check the cabling going to the ISP modem, check signal levels going to the ISP modem. For cable Internet, RG-6 coaxial cable is needed, not RG-59. Check for t.v. line splitters and remove them as they can introduce noise on the line and lower the signal going to the ISP modem. Connecting to the ISP modem could result in a false positive as the signal to the modem could be just enough to that point then adding on a router, could see problems. The router operation is dependent upon getting good data flow from the ISP modem and the modem is dependent upon getting good signal from the ISP Service.

There is newer FW available too. However I have had any issues with v1.02.

 If you choose to update, please follow this:
FW Update Process

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.