• October 19, 2020, 05:58:19 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DSL-2770L used as switch+AP  (Read 2994 times)

Haldo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
DSL-2770L used as switch+AP
« on: April 05, 2014, 07:20:04 AM »

I inserted a DSL-2770L in my existing home network using it only as switch+AP.
Everything works fine: DHCP disabled, no ADSL configured and no LAN port configured as WAN.
PCs connected to the router correctly reach the network and the Internet.

The only drawback is that the router "believes" to be offline. In the admin interface it says "Internet Offline".

If I configure a LAN port to act as WAN then it works and it says that it is online. But then my network is split in two and I have problems with deices to reach the other half of the LAN

How can I tell him that the Internet arrives through a normal LAN port?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2770L used as switch+AP
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2014, 10:33:42 AM »

I presume some modems are not compatible with using them in wired AP modem. I would refer you to the user manual to see if wired AP mode configuration is supported.

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2770L used as switch+AP
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2014, 07:03:40 AM »

Any status on this?  ???
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Haldo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: DSL-2770L used as switch+AP
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2014, 01:13:33 AM »

Hi, I searched more and more on the Internet. I think the problem cannot be solved.
The only way to have a modem to "believe" its connected to the Internet is to use the ADSL port or to configure a LAN port as WAN port.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2770L used as switch+AP
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2014, 10:21:36 AM »

Does this work?
It would be for wired AP mode operation...
Turning a router into an AP.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Haldo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: DSL-2770L used as switch+AP
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2014, 05:50:12 AM »

The guide you suggested turns the modem/router into a switch+AP, which is like saying: use a layer 3 device as a layer 2 device. It's a switch.
And, in fact, the device works perfectly in this configuration. PCs and peripherals connected to it obtain an IP address from the DHCP and reach other devices and the gateway to surf the internet.

As I said in my first post, the network is working well.
However, the device does not see that it is not connected to the Internet using the ADSL port or a LAN port configured as a WAN port, but through a simple LAN port. Again, everything works; the only drawback is that, for example, it does not search for firmware updates automatically, but you have to upload the file manually.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2770L used as switch+AP
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2014, 07:25:53 AM »

FW updates if using the auto check feature requires the WAN port or connection of the ADSL phone port for connection.

I recommend using manual FW updates and following this for any FW updates:
 FW Update Process

Good Luck.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!