• October 15, 2019, 07:48:40 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: How to change from one router to anoter router.  (Read 8849 times)

Lars H.

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
How to change from one router to anoter router.
« on: March 15, 2014, 11:35:41 AM »

Hi.
 At home I use a Netgear router, but at sea I want to use my camera with another router. I saved all settings before leaving home, but how do i connect to the mobile router at sea? I connect wireless on both routers.

Lars H.
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: How to change from one router to anoter router.
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2014, 12:28:40 PM »

So long as the DCS-933L is configured for DHCP (without a static IP) and the new router has a WPS option, the two devices should be able to easily handshake and connect. If you are viewing the live feed via mydlink, the camera should remain associated with your mydlink account regardless of what router it's moved to.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2014, 06:17:24 AM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

Lars H.

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: How to change from one router to anoter router.
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2014, 01:11:36 PM »

I'm not using DHCP, the address on the routers are 192.168.1.10 and 192.168.0.10. I'm not using mydlink.
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: How to change from one router to anoter router.
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2014, 01:55:12 PM »

Do you have a static IP address set in your DCS-933L?
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

Lars H.

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: How to change from one router to anoter router.
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2014, 07:51:55 AM »

Yes, I have static LAN address set to ease port-forwarding for the routers.
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: How to change from one router to anoter router.
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2014, 08:55:20 AM »

It's best if you keep the static IP address within the range of the router. In any case, if your new router has a WPS option, you should be able to link the two devices without issue. To pair the DCS-933L press the WPS button on the rear of the camera for > 3 seconds until the blue LED flashes. Then you'll have 60 seconds to initiate the WPS search on option on your router. The router should pick up the DCS-933L.

As far as static vs. reserved IP addressing, I recommend you read the following FAQ entry: DCS Network Cameras - Should I Use DHCP, Static IP, or Reserved IP Address?
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

Lars H.

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: How to change from one router to anoter router.
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2014, 10:53:16 AM »

I don't have a WPS button at the mobile router.
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: How to change from one router to anoter router.
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2014, 11:11:17 AM »

I don't have a WPS button at the mobile router.

Does the router have a WPS option in the router web UI? WPS is a standard feature on just about every router. Some routers have a physical button on the case, while others have WPS implemented as a feature available through the router firmware (i.e. web UI).
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: How to change from one router to anoter router.
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2014, 11:16:29 AM »

BTW . . . what is the mobile router make and model number?
(Also as per my last post, you should look for a software implementation of WPS on the router web UI)
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

Lars H.

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: How to change from one router to anoter router.
« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2014, 12:00:39 PM »

You may find the manual for the router at http://trudelutt.com/manuals/User_Manual_R90.pdf


Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: How to change from one router to anoter router.
« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2014, 12:29:04 PM »

You've got me, no WPS option!

I read through the router manual. Log into the router web UI:

  • Take note of the Name (SSID), Security Option, and Pre-Shared Key (if used) selected under Setup > Basic Wireless Settings as you will have to add this setting to the DCS-933L
  • Next, navigate to Advanced > Wireless Settings and make sure Wireless On and SSID Broadcast On are checked

I will presume that this is the only router you presently have access to, so you'll first need to connect the DCS-933L to the router using a wired connection. Log into the DCS-933L web UI:

  • Navigate to SETUP > Wireless Setup
  • Enter the router Name (SSID) in the DCS-933L SSID field
  • Select the router Security Options in the DCS-933L WIRELESS SECURITY MODE section
  • Enter the router Pre-Shared Key in the DCS-933L WPA-PSK / WPA2-PSK Settings section
  • Save the camera settings

If you disconnect the DCS-933L wired connection, the router should pick up the camera via wireless.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2014, 01:09:31 PM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

Lars H.

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: How to change from one router to anoter router.
« Reply #12 on: March 17, 2014, 02:16:11 AM »

I will presume that this is the only router you presently have access to

Nope, - for the moment the camera is connected wireless to a Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router WNDR3700v3. Yesterday I disconnected the camera and tried to connect to the R90 router, but ended up with a mess. Now the camera is back to the Netgear router after hours of banging my head!
« Last Edit: March 17, 2014, 03:07:20 AM by Lars H. »
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: How to change from one router to anoter router.
« Reply #13 on: March 17, 2014, 04:33:11 AM »

I will presume that this is the only router you presently have access to

Nope, - for the moment the camera is connected wireless to a Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router WNDR3700v3. Yesterday I disconnected the camera and tried to connect to the R90 router, but ended up with a mess. Now the camera is back to the Netgear router after hours of banging my head!

One point I forgot to mention. You should remove the static IP address from the DCS-933L and leave the camera as DHCP, then perform the steps I've outlined.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

Lars H.

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: How to change from one router to anoter router.
« Reply #14 on: March 17, 2014, 05:51:17 AM »

Thanks, that worked! I got connection to the R90 router wired. Then I changed to static with settings for the R90 router, removed the wire, turned of the power to the camera and re powered the camera. A little tricky, but I don't have to do the operation so often. In wintertime I use the camera at home with the Netgear router, and at summertime  with the R90 router in my leisure boat http://trudelutt.com.

Lars H. :)
http://trudelutt.com/webcam
Logged
Pages: [1] 2