• December 05, 2019, 07:41:26 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Make device freely choose between router and two extenders  (Read 2361 times)

Emni

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Make device freely choose between router and two extenders
« on: December 19, 2013, 04:17:01 AM »

Hi there

I'm new here but have a question.



I have a D-Link DIR-655 Router (acting as access point) and two DAP-1320 extender set up in a long hallway with many offices.

Alone the D-Link DIR-655 Router cannot cover the entire hallway and offices.

Therefore the D-Link DIR-655 Router is places in the middle and a DAP-1320 extender in each end.

This way there is a good coverage.

Initially I had a setup with the same SSID and password in all three D-Link devices assuming, that a PC or smartphone automatically would "jump" to the best signal.

But ... firstly I couldn't know which SSID i was connecting to, at secondly, moving from one end with good signal to the other would result in bad signal, that is my PC og smartphone would not "jump" to the best signal.

I've read, that this only would happen if the PC completely lost it's first signal, and after that would find a new known signal (with the same SSID).

Would it help to configue each extender and the router to its separate channel?

Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance

Emni, Denmark
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47953
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Make device freely choose between router and two extenders
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2013, 07:45:19 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.

I try the following,
  • Try setting Medium or Low power output settings and test again Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

The connection of the devices will depend on those devices and how there WiFi is designed to handle signal quality and reception. If they are mobile, traveling around, will dictate which signal is best and when they connect. If devices don't move around much then the first best signal that is closest will probably always get connected there.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47953
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Make device freely choose between router and two extenders
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2014, 11:44:38 AM »

Any status on this?  ???
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting