• September 26, 2020, 03:05:20 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Multiple DAP 1522s on network?  (Read 15671 times)

Infantrytrophy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Multiple DAP 1522s on network?
« on: November 22, 2013, 11:19:37 PM »

Is it possible to have more than one DAP-1522 devices set up as access points on a network?  I have wired ethernet throughout my home and need a total of 3 access points to ensure good WiFi signal.  The goal is to connect three DAP-1522s to the router by ethernet cable, set the 1522s in AP mode and broadcast WiFi from 3 points.  

I'm asking because the default IP address for the DAP1522 is 192.168.0.50.  Since each device must have a unique address, how do I assign a different IP address to the second and third access points?

Any other tips or advice?  My router is a Dlink DIR-655.  Thanks.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2013, 11:24:35 PM by Infantrytrophy »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49210
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Multiple DAP 1522s on network?
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2013, 12:24:39 PM »

I presume it should be possible...just as long as you set each one on a different channel, like 1, 6 and 11. Be sure to make sure the 655 router is on it's own channel as well. You can use the same SSID name and pw. Ya, the host IP address for the DAPs is .50 however I think they will acquired an alternate IP address from the 655 router so you should be able to use that IP address to log into the router. Or you could set up a manual Static IP address on the DAPs I believe. Something like .21, .22, and .23. These should be out side of the normal DHCP IP address pool and will work for you.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49210
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Multiple DAP 1522s on network?
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2013, 07:33:06 AM »

Any status on this?  ???
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Infantrytrophy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Multiple DAP 1522s on network?
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2013, 07:49:44 PM »


Patience, Grasshopper   :)

I went ahead and ordered 2 more DAP 1522s; they arrived a few days ago.  I'll try to install them this weekend and post a status report.

FurryNutz - Thanks for the post.  If you think of any other pointers, please pass them along.  In order to assign a static IP address to the additional DAP 1522 devices, I assume that I will need to connect a computer to the DAP1522 using ethernet cable, correct?  There are explicit directions in the manual discussing setting up a static IP address, but it's not clear exactly how to first connect to the DAP1522 to do this.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49210
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Multiple DAP 1522s on network?
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2013, 01:15:08 PM »

Yes, I recommend connecting directly to  each DAP first and getting them set up. Once thats all done than you can connect them up an then reconnect to them using there new IP address assignment.

Good Luck my Padawan learner.  ;D
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Infantrytrophy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Multiple DAP 1522s on network?
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2014, 11:15:05 PM »

Any status on this?  ???
OK FurryNutz and any others who might be awaiting the result of my attempt at a multiple-access point network --- here it is!!  ;D  (Sorry for the delay - too many holiday activities)

I have successfully connected 3 DAP 1522 devices as wireless access points to my network.  I found a simple article in the smallnetbuilder.com forum and went from there:
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-basics/30355-how-to-add-an-access-point-to-a-wireless-router

Another link to useful articles:
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-basics?start=10

Adding multiple wireless access points is a better solution than adding a repeater or range extender -- the throughput will be better (see above article).

As you suggested, I configured the network addresses manually.  The default IP address for a DAP1522 is 192.168.0.50. For the second AP, I used the manual configuration procedure to set the IP address to 192.168.0.49.  For the 3rd AP, the address is ...48.  Note that these addresses are outside of the allowed range for the IP addresses  configured by the router's DHCP [corrected] (for my DLink 655 router, that IP address range is 192.168.0.100 through ... 199).

If the APs are close enough to have substantial signal overlap, you need to change the wireless channel to one that is 5 channels apart from others.  As you suggested, I used channels 1,6 and 11 for my 3 access points.  

Each access point is set up with a separate SSID.  The reason for this is explained in the article.  The short version is that the 802.11N wireless protocols don't specify a good way for the network to hand off connections from one AP to another as you move about.  Once a wireless device connects to an AP, that link tends to be "sticky" - the link won't release from a weak signal to join a stronger signal.  All said, it's just easier to set up each AP with a separate SSID and manually connect to the strongest signal, depending on where you are located with a particular wireless device.

Each AP is connected to the router by Ethernet cable.  Everything works great.  There is good signal throughout the entire house now, and each connected device can "see" the other devices even though they might be connected to different access points.

So, what do you think?  (And thanks for the advice).
« Last Edit: January 07, 2014, 06:31:35 PM by Infantrytrophy »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49210
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Multiple DAP 1522s on network? (RESOLVED)
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2014, 08:40:39 AM »

Can also review this as well for AP setup:
Turning a router into an AP.

Glad you got it all working.

Enjoy.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Infantrytrophy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Multiple DAP 1522s on network? (RESOLVED)
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2014, 08:55:54 AM »

Can also review this as well for AP setup:
Turning a router into an AP.

Glad you got it all working.

Enjoy.

Thanks, good article.

Your article mentioned using the same SSID for two or more access points.  How does this work in practice?  Will your mobile devices (iPhones, Android phones, iPads, etc.) actually reconnect to an AP with a stronger signal as you move about?  Or will they tend to "cling" to a weaker signal?  I would like to experiment with changing the SSIDs, but I don't want to upset anything now that the multiple APs are working (with a different SSID for each AP).  I have always done well sticking to the saying, "The enemy of good enough is better."
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49210
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Multiple DAP 1522s on network?
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2014, 09:07:07 AM »

Depending on how devices are designed, they should move to a more stronger signal and not cling.

You can use the same SSID and PW across multiple APs. The only this is that each AP needs to be on a different channel when using this AP mode configuration. Bridge and relay is different.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Infantrytrophy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Multiple DAP 1522s on network?
« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2014, 02:10:07 PM »

OK, got it.  Same SSID and pswd, different channels.

Thank you.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49210
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Multiple DAP 1522s on network?
« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2014, 02:11:19 PM »

 ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!