• January 25, 2020, 07:14:41 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Blocked tcp packets?(Furry)  (Read 4384 times)

XMINTYX

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Blocked tcp packets?(Furry)
« on: November 18, 2013, 09:54:09 AM »

Hey Furry.... Long time no talk:) What would be the reason for the router to all of a sudden start blocking tcp packets and a couple udp and icmp packets? Im wondering if i should save my settings than go to default. Let me know what you think. When i am gaming i get a lag stutter dropped frames then back up quick again.When i tested in game menu in Battlefield 4. Its says i am losing alot of  packets as well. Then i checked router and it confirms its blocking the packets. Never had this problem till recently. Router going bad? Is my baby dying? Or is it a simple adjustment. Thanks

Oh and i am on firmware 1.15
« Last Edit: November 18, 2013, 10:03:29 AM by XMINTYX »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48236
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Blocked tcp packets?(Furry)
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2013, 10:17:07 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
I recommend that you have your ISP check the cabling going to the ISP modem, check signal levels going to the ISP modem. Check for t.v. line splitters and remove them as they can introduce noise on the line and lower the signal going to the ISP modem. Connecting to the ISP modem could result in a false positive as the signal to the modem could be just enough to that point then adding on a router, could see problems. The router operation is dependent upon getting good data flow from the ISP modem and the modem is dependent upon getting good signal from the ISP Service.

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
  • Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options, Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
  • Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
  • Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench
  • Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
  • Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
  • If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
  • Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall. Enable or Disable SPI to test.
  • Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used.
  • Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
  • WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
  • Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. Tools/Time.
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.

What gaming platform are you using with BF4? XBL?

Could be any reasons that the FW is blocking items. Could that it's doing its' job by blocking too.

Do you have GF setup for gaming?
« Last Edit: November 18, 2013, 10:20:05 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

XMINTYX

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Blocked tcp packets?(Furry)
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2013, 11:06:58 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
I recommend that you have your ISP check the cabling going to the ISP modem, check signal levels going to the ISP modem. Check for t.v. line splitters and remove them as they can introduce noise on the line and lower the signal going to the ISP modem. Connecting to the ISP modem could result in a false positive as the signal to the modem could be just enough to that point then adding on a router, could see problems. The router operation is dependent upon getting good data flow from the ISP modem and the modem is dependent upon getting good signal from the ISP Service.

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
  • Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options, Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
  • Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
  • Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench
  • Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
  • Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
  • If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
  • Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall. Enable or Disable SPI to test.
  • Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used.
  • Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
  • WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
  • Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. Tools/Time.
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.

What gaming platform are you using with BF4? XBL?

Could be any reasons that the FW is blocking items. Could that it's doing its' job by blocking too.

Do you have GF setup for gaming?


Chicago
Comcast
Motorola Surf Sb6121
Yes i have gf set for my pc.
But i just disabled all for now.
Started troubleshooting disabling things here and there on eat a time on your list.
Might be my isp as well. Who knows kind of strange. I will keep testing. Thanks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48236
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Blocked tcp packets?(Furry)
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2013, 11:52:48 AM »

Also how is your GF rules set up?
uPnp enabled?

Keep us posted.  ;)
« Last Edit: November 18, 2013, 12:24:03 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

XMINTYX

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Blocked tcp packets?(Furry)
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2013, 12:29:06 PM »

Found out it was not GF. Considering it still happening.
Upnp is enabled.
Tried disabling spi. Still nothing so far.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48236
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Blocked tcp packets?(Furry)
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2013, 12:38:19 PM »

I might do a clean factory reset, just set up Wireless SSIDs and PWs. Turn everything OFF accept for 1 wired PC and then test.

How is your GF rules  and NAT Endpoints set up?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

XMINTYX

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Blocked tcp packets?(Furry)
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2013, 08:02:26 PM »


udp and tcp set to endpoint independent

GF is disabled and still doing it but  set to my priority 1 ip local is my ip - remote ip range 0.0.0.0-255.255.255.255  protocol any
Logged

XMINTYX

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Blocked tcp packets?(Furry)
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2013, 08:21:31 PM »

Reset to default still doing it. arghhhh bad cat6? bad rg6? Here we go arghhhh!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48236
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Blocked tcp packets?(Furry)
« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2013, 07:10:52 AM »


Any status on this?  ???
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting