• July 17, 2019, 03:22:23 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: could the dsm-510 be used without the remote?  (Read 22340 times)

lleiro

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
could the dsm-510 be used without the remote?
« on: October 23, 2013, 01:40:15 PM »

Hi everyone I am new in this forum....

I just got my self a used DSM-510 on a garage sale and when I got home I realized it needed a remote. (I know is dumb but I only spend $10 so I took the risk that something could go wrong)

Ideally I would love to use it to stream the contents of my PC into my hdtv through HDMI wireless.

Do you think I will be able to do that without spending more money finding a remote? If not is there any app for android that could help?

I appreciate any tips and advice. Thanks!
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: could the dsm-510 be used without the remote?
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2013, 08:41:30 AM »

I don't know of any apps, but I did do a quick search online and found a few sites offering the remote for < $10.  That would double your investment, but it's better than nothing.  If you already own a programmable universal remote (e.g. Logitech), there's a good chance the device is supported.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

lleiro

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: could the dsm-510 be used without the remote?
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2013, 04:47:50 PM »

Thanks for your reply. I couldn't find any for less than $25. Are those model specific? I've found some for the 520 but I am not sure if they are compatible.
Logged

modbass

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: could the dsm-510 be used without the remote?
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2013, 01:50:52 PM »

you can configure Windows media player to be your server.  then as you ad files to the play list you can just click on them on the PC and hit play and it will force the DSM-510 to play MP3's and video's at least
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: could the dsm-510 be used without the remote?
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2013, 10:37:28 AM »

Thanks for your reply. I couldn't find any for less than $25. Are those model specific? I've found some for the 520 but I am not sure if they are compatible.

When I performed my search they were model-specific, but can't speak to the shipping costs.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC