• November 21, 2019, 09:20:31 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-868L wifi flakes out and loses ability to connect to anything every 10-15min  (Read 33432 times)

pmc123

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6

I have a DIR-868L with firmware 1.04.  About every 10 or 15 minutes, randomly my computer connected to it via wifi fails to connect to anything.  Not just things on the internet, but even the router admin page on the lan or other computers on the lan.  Computer is a macbook pro retina 15.  A macbook air displays the same problem.

After a few minutes it seems to correct itself and be ok for a while again.  I do think it might be firmware related because with 1.02 this problem was much worse.

This happens with either 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz.  I've tried everything listed in other threads (turn off IPv6, QoS, etc. etc. etc. found the exact right MTU, etc etc, did factory reset before and after firmware upgrades, etc etc etc)

I've spent hours trying to make this thing work consistently.  It's very frustrating.  One other thing to note is there are a lot of wifi routers in the area, maybe about a dozen, so maybe interference is causing it to choke.  But I also have an ancient linksys G router that never misses a beat.  I'd return this thing because it's been so problematic, but I'm a couple days past amazon's return deadline.  :(

Any ideas?   Thanks
« Last Edit: September 28, 2013, 04:28:49 PM by pmc123 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

Where did you get v1.04 FW? Did it come loaded with it?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
  • Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options, Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
  • Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
  • Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench
  • Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
  • Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
  • If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
  • Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall. Enable or Disable SPI to test.
  • Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used.
  • Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
  • WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
  • Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. Tools/Time.
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something thats already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Any cordless house phones?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, HT 20/40 Co-exhistance and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
  • Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
  • Try setting Medium or Low power output settings and test again Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

3rd Party Security Software Configurations
  • Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
  • Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
6" minimum safe distance between devices.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2013, 01:23:19 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

pmc123

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6



  • What region are you located?

North America


  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?

wired

  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?


As I stated in my first message, yes


  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?



As I stated in my first message, yes
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?
no, same issues

Where did you get v1.04 FW? Did it come loaded with it?
Dlink's DIR-868l product page


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
comcast cable

  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
ARRIS DOCSIS 3.0 Touchstone WideBand Cable Modem
HW_REV: 3
VENDOR: Arris Interactive, L.L.C.
BOOTR: 1.2.1.25
SW_REV: 7.4.63A
MODEL: WBM760A



  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
20mbps/8mbps, roughly



  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
I've already determined that 1472 is the right MTU

  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
n/a

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
  • Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options, Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
  • Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
  • Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench
As stated in my first message, I tried all of that.

  • Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.

did that

  • Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
this is the case

  • If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.

ipv6 is disabled

  • Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall. Enable or Disable SPI to test.
  • Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used.
did that

  • Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
did that

  • WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
set to 1000mbps

  • Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. Tools/Time.
did that


have cat 6
 
Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something thats already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
did that

  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
using n and a.  tried all combinations


  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.

tried that

  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.

WPA-Personal

  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
2 macbooks, a wireless printer, 2 iphones, 1 windows laptop

  • Any cordless house phones?
no

  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

about 12.

  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, HT 20/40 Co-exhistance and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
  • Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
  • Try setting Medium or Low power output settings and test again Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
tried that

3rd Party Security Software Configurations
  • Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
  • Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

n/a

Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
6" minimum safe distance between devices.

nothing near by
Logged

pmc123

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6

seems to be a range issue, I think.  When I'm in the same as the router, it works fine.

when I'm in my bedroom which is probably less than 35 feet from the router, it is very flaky despite my mac showing full signal bars.

Note my ancient old linksys G router has absolutely no trouble reaching the bedroom.

What can I do to boost the range on this?  Getting a repeater seems preposterous for such a short distance.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

So you say you have about 12 other WiFi routers near by? Can you find any option channels, 1 6 or 11 or maybe 4 or 8 on 2.4Ghz? These can impact WiFi performance when there is some interferences going on.

Does this happen on 5Ghz as well?

I loaded my 868L up. Currently is running as an AP for a 865L bridge downstairs. Both radios are going and haven't seen any issues on either radio. I have about 4-5 other neighbors on WiFi. I use Single N, WPA2 AES Only, Auto Channel and BandWidth, and HT20/40 Co-existence OFF.

Is your HT20/40 Co-existence OFF?

One reason why your wireless G router didn't seem to have this problem was due to that it didn't have the Good Neighbour Policy
« Last Edit: October 07, 2013, 09:31:59 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

pmc123

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6

ok, I did a wifi survey - there are actually twenty-five (25)  2.4Ghz hot spots in range from my apartment. about 80% also have corresponding 5Ghz SSIDs.  Not terribly surprising considering where I live.


I moved the 868L away from everything electrical and within 35 feet of my laptop.  Now I only get the drops once ever hour or so.  Better, but not exactly acceptable.

HT20/40 seems to do nothing.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Any status on this?  ???

I have a DIR-868L with firmware 1.04.  About every 10 or 15 minutes, randomly my computer connected to it via wifi fails to connect to anything.  Not just things on the internet, but even the router admin page on the lan or other computers on the lan.  Computer is a macbook pro retina 15.  A macbook air displays the same problem.

After a few minutes it seems to correct itself and be ok for a while again.  I do think it might be firmware related because with 1.02 this problem was much worse.

This happens with either 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz.  I've tried everything listed in other threads (turn off IPv6, QoS, etc. etc. etc. found the exact right MTU, etc etc, did factory reset before and after firmware upgrades, etc etc etc)

I've spent hours trying to make this thing work consistently.  It's very frustrating.  One other thing to note is there are a lot of wifi routers in the area, maybe about a dozen, so maybe interference is causing it to choke.  But I also have an ancient linksys G router that never misses a beat.  I'd return this thing because it's been so problematic, but I'm a couple days past amazon's return deadline.  :(

Any ideas?   Thanks
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

pmc123

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6

Any status on this?  ???


It's much better with firmware 1.07

stays connected most of the time.  Will get an occasionally drop ever couple of days.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

What are your power output settings currently set for?

Try Medium?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting