• September 23, 2019, 02:48:49 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: 2750E Wireless SSID not discoverable  (Read 8117 times)

2750E Newbie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
2750E Wireless SSID not discoverable
« on: September 26, 2013, 10:26:10 PM »

I just bought and setup a new DSL 2750E modem.

On the 1st day, I was able to connect a few PCs & tablet to the wireless SSID that was newly setup. I tested all by launching the web browser of each & every device in order to ensure that web surfing is able to work properly.

However on the 2nd day, other than the notebook PC that was used to setup the modem, all other devices were not able to "see" or discover the SSID setup(ed). I have check that the WPS is disabled. SSID is visible & the MAC filtering is off.

Can anybody offer any help or suggestion ?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 2750E Wireless SSID not discoverable
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2013, 07:04:50 AM »

    Link>
Welcome!
  • What Hardware version is your modem? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the modems web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

 
Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something thats already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz Routers only: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • Any cordless house phones?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, HT 20/40 Co-exhistance and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Recommended settings are default.
  • Enable WMM Enable

Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
6" minimum safe distance between devices.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

2750E Newbie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 2750E Wireless SSID not discoverable
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2013, 09:08:40 AM »

Thanks for the reply.

I called up the Dlink helpline few hours ago. They suggested I set the modem to use only Channel 9. Previously it was set to Auto. After I done that, my other devices are now able to discover the SSID and connect to it.

What I do not understand is why it was discoverable by other PCs earlier when I 1st setup the modem ?

Why use Channel 9 ?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 2750E Wireless SSID not discoverable (RESOLVED)
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2013, 09:15:00 AM »

Does seem odd however maybe for your region, chl 9 is prefered. Here in the NA region, 1, 6 and 11 is recommended.

I'll keep 9 in mind for future reference.

Could be an issue with your devices and how they interact with this modem on WiFi too. It's usually recommended to use manual channels sometime. I use manual on my routers.

Also having other Wifi neighbors can effect this as well.

Glad it's working now for you.

Enjoy.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting