• September 18, 2019, 05:14:39 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: How do I setup all of these steps on DIR-815?  (Read 5832 times)

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
How do I setup all of these steps on DIR-815?
« on: September 25, 2013, 09:05:05 AM »

I would like to set this up exactly as all 5 steps are applied. How would I be able to do this? Would someone please be able to assist me? I have the DIR-815 model. Would this be possible with the model I have? Thank you!

1. Commercial grade router with it's firewall configured for full stealth mode, sometimes referred to as "silent running", etc.

2. Commercial grade router with NAT turned on.

3. Commercial grade router with Statefull Inspection turned on.

4. Commercial grade router with uPnP turned off.

5. Commercial grade router with a default server "honeypot" created to trap any wayward inbound traffic and let it "time out." Great to nail those unsolicted inbound ARP requests.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47759
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How do I setup all of these steps on DIR-815?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2013, 09:39:42 AM »

Link>Welcome!
  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?


I would like to set this up exactly as all 5 steps are applied. How would I be able to do this? Would someone please be able to assist me? I have the DIR-815 model. Would this be possible with the model I have? Thank you!

1. Commercial grade router with it's firewall configured for full stealth mode, sometimes referred to as "silent running", etc. Firwall is already ON and working in stealth mode. Most ports should be closed and reported as stealth.

2. Commercial grade router with NAT turned on. NAT is already a feature of most DIR series routers and is already ON.

3. Commercial grade router with Statefull Inspection turned on. There is a setting under Advanced/Firewall that this router may have SPI options.

4. Commercial grade router with uPnP turned off. Usually uPnP should be ON if your gaming or use various client devices to connect to other LAN side devices. If your Port Fowarding and don't need any devices for that, uPnP can be disbled under Advanced/Adv. Networking.

5. Commercial grade router with a default server "honeypot" created to trap any wayward inbound traffic and let it "time out." Great to nail those unsolicted inbound ARP requests. You'll need to look for honeypot application services or applications or Mfr who support this kind of application.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: How do I setup all of these steps on DIR-815?
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2013, 09:48:34 AM »

Thank you so much! Would the honeypot application be free, and it's not already an application on my DIR-815 router?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47759
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How do I setup all of these steps on DIR-815?
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2013, 09:57:15 AM »

I don't know about the honey pot application. I presume it could be or have a trial. It's nothing installable on any router. I presume it would be set up on a device or a PC.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47759
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: How do I setup all of these steps on DIR-815?
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2013, 10:03:57 AM »

Thank you!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47759
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How do I setup all of these steps on DIR-815?
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2013, 10:04:57 AM »

Good Luck.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting