• May 28, 2020, 05:19:45 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 17

Author Topic: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20  (Read 138575 times)

hikari

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #30 on: May 22, 2009, 02:08:19 PM »

FYI i have not tried to much as i do not have much time to sit around testing.

I did try a fresh install with adding my configure info from scratch with no luck.

Why doesn't D-Link collect config.gws files from people having trouble and find the LCD.

All i know is i have a router that is no longer reliable and maybe time to buy a new one.

If you need specific information concerning my setup please let me know.


Logged

DLP

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #31 on: May 22, 2009, 02:24:50 PM »

I to am not seeing this issue and I have this set up at home and works great.. I'm not ignoring the fact that some of you users are seeing this which is why I'm asking all these questions to get LCD of issue. I am keeping tabs of activity at home to see if I can catch anything.

Follow what d01100100  posted and give that try. Also try contacting ISP and see if they can provision your modem, then clone your PC's MAC address so you'll pull the same IP everytime.

has anyone tried to power cycle modem as well? and when I mean power cycle I mean keep modem off for about 5 minutes.
then configure your router from scratch, save settings, turn off router, boot up modem wait for it to fully boot then boot router.

Surely you're joking. Contact my ISP and get them to provision my modem? With all due respect, please fix your code. This is not the time to be pointing fingers elsewhere.

And yes, I did a full reset and built from scratch.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2009, 02:26:47 PM by DLP »
Logged

kcsupratt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #32 on: May 22, 2009, 03:39:11 PM »

This is truly a firmware issue. I have been using this modem almost since the day it came out and been using all the Beta code and latest versions without any issue until 1.20. Which has cause me nothing but headaches.

 >:(
Logged

MPDamon

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #33 on: May 23, 2009, 09:09:55 AM »

I can't pinpoint what it is.  I have started from scratch.  I guess nothing is left to do but to turn everything off and see if it works and start turning one thing on at a time.   Just had to reboot again this morning.
Logged

V@no

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #34 on: May 23, 2009, 12:51:24 PM »

What about torrents? Do you guys download torrents? I've noticed that routers dies more often when there are hundreds or thousands of simultaneous connections, plus it dies faster when upnp turned on...
Logged

NKYadav

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #35 on: May 23, 2009, 01:01:54 PM »

I'll do the 30/30/30 reset later on tonight an report back.

As for torrents - no - I do not use torrents or any other type of file sharing.

Finally, I had some minor issues with 1.15, none really with 1.16, but this one has been flawed since I almost installed it.  I tried downgrading, without realizing that I could ot, so I am stuck with it....
Logged

hikari

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #36 on: May 23, 2009, 01:59:12 PM »

I do not use torrents either.

But keep in mine was running fine for months before this patch.
Logged

DLP

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #37 on: May 23, 2009, 02:33:40 PM »

I do use torrents, 24/7.  I know that can put a strain on routers, but if a $40 WRT54G can handle it...
Logged

RobNyc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #38 on: May 23, 2009, 02:42:39 PM »

I do torrents 24/7
I have UPnP enabled as well
am On Wifi-N on my MacBook Pro
and Lan on my Lenovo-R61 laptop

1.15 firmware was perfect for me. I had about 50 days uptime without rebooting the router , now with 1.20 only 1 day and then have to reset the router otherwise it starts not working.
Logged

d01100100

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #39 on: May 23, 2009, 04:12:14 PM »

I use torrents periodically.  I had a 2.4MB/s (yes that's capital B as in bytes) torrent going earlier today.

I only have 1 computer on my network running torrents to reduce the overall entries in the NAT table.  I cap the global maximum number of connections to 100.

I do not enable the UDP features of the torrent (DHT network or Local Peer Discovery), too easy to flood the router table.  I only keep a TCP Virtual Server in place, single port forwarded.  I do not use UPNP, I consider it too much of a security risk.  I don't torrent over wireless, LAN only.
Logged

phat78boy

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #40 on: May 23, 2009, 04:54:02 PM »

I'm seeing this exact same issue. I think it has to do more with incoming connections like torrents, WHS, and gaming. The only reason I say this is if I don't download torrents or remote in to my WHS everything seems to run smooth. If I start some large torrents this issue seems to show up after that. It has also showed up when I remote into my WHS and either remote console in or upload files. I said gaming as I had it lock up during an Xbox Live session, but I also had torrents going on at the same time. Nothing in the log seems to show anything out of the normal.

My ISP is COX, using a Motorola SB5101 cable modem, and I have 16MB DN 3 UP. This only started happening since the upgrade to 1.20 also.
Logged

Puffnstuff

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 292
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #41 on: May 24, 2009, 02:52:02 AM »

I think that torrents might be the key here.  When my kids bt heavily the problem occurs although nothing in the logs is abnormal.  No bt and the problem doesn't surface.
Logged

emas

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #42 on: May 24, 2009, 07:15:55 AM »

I think that torrents might be the key here.  When my kids bt heavily the problem occurs although nothing in the logs is abnormal.  No bt and the problem doesn't surface.

i disagree ... first I had no problems at all with this firmware but now i have to do a reboot pretty often ... wireless disconnects, speed decreasing to a few kilobytes, shareport unavailable (no device found until reboot) etc.

I don't torrent at all!
I have 3 wireless clients (2 PC, 1 Wii) and 3 wired clients (1 PC, 1 Xbox1, 1 Xbox360) online, but the error occurs even if only one computer is online.

I never ever had these issues using an older firmware (not even using beta ones)!
And yes, I did everything from scratch as I do every time I flash a new fw to my router.

My cable modem shows:
Quote
Downstream Channel

Downstream Status
    Operational

Channel ID
    124

Downstream Frequency
    562000000 Hz

Modulation
    256QAM

Bit Rate
    55616000 bits/sec

Power Level
    8.0 dBmV

Signal to Noise Ratio
    39.0 dB

Upstream Channel

Upstream Status
    Operational

Channel ID
    3

Upstream Frequency
    41000000 Hz

Modulation
    16QAM

Bit Rate
    5120000 bits/sec

Power Level
    49.7 dBmV
Logged

Routers

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #43 on: May 24, 2009, 08:15:51 AM »

Wow so torrents cause the router to lockup? Wow. I have FIOS internet and replaced their Actiontech router for the DGL-4500 because of the small nat table on the Actiontech. The actiontech router would freeze when the nat table floads. Now you guys are telling me that the DGL-4500 is the same.. This really stinks.
Logged

Hong Kong

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #44 on: May 24, 2009, 08:18:21 AM »

I honestly regret buying a Dlink product. I have had nothing but problems since Feb and the support is total rubbish.

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=5652.0
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 17