• September 24, 2020, 08:55:24 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 17

Author Topic: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20  (Read 139493 times)

MPDamon

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« on: May 19, 2009, 08:15:55 PM »

I am running 1.20 and have been since it was released in Beta.  Did all the settings from scratch.  No config file upload. 
Every few days I have to reboot the router as the wan connection doesn't respond.  Tonight it was actually really slow and the 4500 would not allow a logon to it's web interface from a wired or wireless computer.  After the reboot everything is fine again. 

Been on these forums for quite some time trying to get things worked out with the 4500 offering as much feedback as I could on issues.  It's really getting old though. 

Also I want to note that as I posted in the beta feedback thread if I turn on auto calculation of the internet speed I get crazy numbers.  Like 48 meg uploads and such.  I have Charter Cable.  20 Down and 2 Up.
Logged

defaultPlayer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2009, 08:27:59 PM »

Same issue here, I described mine in under the UPnP thread since that was the initial issue I saw after flashing with 1.20:

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=5462.0
Logged

rileyper

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • Twitter
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2009, 09:08:54 PM »

I can confirm this, kinda wish i could downgrade :-\
Logged

MPDamon

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2009, 06:58:23 AM »

Just wanted to add that the reason I posted about the crazy auto detect upload speed is because I wanted to make sure it wasn't related.  Wouldn't seem to be but it is odd and it's possible the new firmware has a problem either with my isp or modem.
Logged

arod

  • Guest
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2009, 10:01:14 AM »

Is there anything in the log indicating the router is locking up? Maybe you can try using a syslog and see what it spits out.

How do you have router configured?
Please list DNS servers, firewall settings, Network settings etc...
Logged

RobNyc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2009, 12:53:44 PM »

I can confirm this as well. Only had like 1-2days after the flash and it happened to me lastnight went to sleep and samething in the afternoon. Rebooted DSL & Router and its fine lets see how long it last.
Logged

SkyOwl

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2009, 01:04:29 PM »

Seeing the same problem.  Had been using v1.15 since it came out with no reboot required unless settings change required it.  Installed v1.20 the day after it came out.  WAN access (and configuration access) totally froze up yesterday.  Recycled power and all was well again.

Has all the symtoms of a memory leak issue within the router firmware. Using all default firewall and
WAN access settings.  Using Comcast DNS, not advanced DNS.

Other than that firmware seems to working ok with 9 computers, a home server, 2 PS3's, and serveral printers on the local network.

Logged

MPDamon

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2009, 01:26:15 PM »

Is there anything in the log indicating the router is locking up? Maybe you can try using a syslog and see what it spits out.

How do you have router configured?
Please list DNS servers, firewall settings, Network settings etc...

Can't ever get to the log.  Would much rather see you guys start testing and set up a syslog but I will try to install kiwi tonight if I have time.  Is it still free? 

Using Open DNS,  SPI is off.  Network settings I use reservations.  Gamefuel is on with auto classification plus 2 rules for the 360 and PS3 for all traffic on all ports to get highest priority.  Some port forwarding rules but nothing major.  Been really the same setup I have had since buying the router. 
Logged

arod

  • Guest
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2009, 03:30:00 PM »

I do test and don't see the issue. I'm using a 4500 at home with no problems.

I believe kiwi is still free.. You can probably look around on line and find it. if you can't PM me and I'll send you a link
Logged

MPDamon

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2009, 05:05:39 PM »

I do test and don't see the issue. I'm using a 4500 at home with no problems.

I believe kiwi is still free.. You can probably look around on line and find it. if you can't PM me and I'll send you a link

what hardware version do you have at home?
Logged

defaultPlayer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #10 on: May 20, 2009, 05:48:27 PM »

I have just set Kiwi to SysLog the router. It always seems to freeze up around 5:30 PM EST and it did so today (I think that's what time it was when I last flashed it with 1.20).
Logged

arod

  • Guest
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #11 on: May 21, 2009, 08:33:44 AM »

I'm using A1.

How is the environment where the router sits? Any cordless phones, microwaves, mirrors etc..
Logged

MPDamon

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #12 on: May 21, 2009, 09:10:15 AM »

I'm using A1.

How is the environment where the router sits? Any cordless phones, microwaves, mirrors etc..

Nothing like that.  Again the problem just started with 1.20.  Nothing has changed except the firmware.
Logged

arod

  • Guest
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #13 on: May 21, 2009, 01:49:25 PM »

When your router reports 40 megs up can you do a speed test see what it is actually reporting

then try locking your uplink speed to 2megs and reboot the unit from the router not but taking out the power cable. do another speed test.
Logged

Puffnstuff

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 292
Re: 4500 requires reboot every 3 or 4 days with Firmware 1.20
« Reply #14 on: May 21, 2009, 02:07:56 PM »

Ok guys it just happened to me.  My internet started slowing down and then basically halted.  I had to reboot the router and then everything was fine again.  This is the first time that this has happened to me on fw 1.20 nevertheless I'm starting to get concerned that there may be another problem lurking in this fw.  The other versions never required me to reboot to maintain the connection.  I also noticed that it was racking up lan side errors.  I ran the kiwi syslog earlier today and didn't see anything abnormal.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 17