• December 20, 2014, 12:38:40 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

New BETA firmware for DGL-5500 v1.13.b02. Visit it's board for more information.

Author Topic: new router. cannot log into 192.168.0.1  (Read 1465 times)

fattony67

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
new router. cannot log into 192.168.0.1
« on: September 14, 2013, 06:14:54 AM »

Just purchased a new dir--655

Using the setup wizard and program times out searching for router.  When manually setting up computer cannot connect to router.  router is broadcasting a wireless signal and all leds are working properly, even the internet signal when connected to modem.  Led will light for correct port when cable is plugged in.  Running xp on an older computer and house is wired for cat 5.  When I reconnect my old router everything works fine.

router is firmware v 2.10na and in the chicago metro are.

Any advise?

update: I have successfully logged on using my fiancés computer running vista.  router is now configured and working.  However my xp computer cannot logon to router or access internet.  I am using automatic settings for my ip address and do have the sp2 update for xp.

what gives, can my net work adapter be too old?
« Last Edit: September 14, 2013, 08:52:57 AM by fattony67 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28939
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: new router. cannot log into 192.168.0.1
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2013, 10:19:57 AM »

    Link>
Welcome!


Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
  • Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options, Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
  • Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
  • Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench
  • Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
  • Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
  • If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
  • Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall. Enable or Disable SPI to test.
  • Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used.
  • Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
  • WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
  • Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. Tools/Time.

3rd Party Security Software Configurations
  • Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.


Also SP3 is the last available SP for XP. You might upgrade.
Ensure the cable between the XP PC and router is in good condition, swap out. The use of CAT6 is recommended.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2013, 10:24:22 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

fattony67

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: new router. cannot log into 192.168.0.1
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2013, 10:42:13 AM »

configured router to your specs. confirmed I am running service pack 3.  ran a different cable direct to router (2 Xboxes and computer I am using now are all working directly or through managed switch).  Still no response.
Logged

fattony67

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: new router. cannot log into 192.168.0.1
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2013, 10:43:52 AM »

turned off anti virus software also.
Logged

fattony67

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: new router. cannot log into 192.168.0.1
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2013, 10:45:27 AM »

I can see the computer on the routers web page.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28939
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: new router. cannot log into 192.168.0.1
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2013, 10:48:19 AM »

So all other devices accept for the XP PC is working right?

Can you do a ipconfig /all from the command line in xp? What are the results?
Might do a ipconfig /release, ipconfig /flushdns then ipconfig /renew from the command line as well.


Might un-install the adapter drivers from the PC, Move the NIC to a different slot on the Motherboard, then reinstall the drivers. Do this with the LAN cable disconnected.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

fattony67

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: new router. cannot log into 192.168.0.1
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2013, 11:32:29 AM »

phys address 00-50-50-c0-00-01
dhcp enabled no
ip 192.168.0.1
subnet mask 255.255.255.0
default gateway

dns suffix dsdl.il Comcast.net
description realtek rtl8169/8110

Phys address 6c-f0-49-16-6e-61
dhcp enabled yes
autoconfig yes
ip address 192.168.0.100
subnet 255.255.255.0
default gateway
dhcp server 129.168.0.1
dns server 129.168.0.1

ran commands you recommended still no result.
this issue is only with the xp pc, but this pc worked before switching routers and if I connect old router again.

I will try moving card, will follow up shortly
Logged

fattony67

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: new router. cannot log into 192.168.0.1
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2013, 11:57:40 AM »

Ethernet connection is on the mother board  :(
Logged

fattony67

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: new router. cannot log into 192.168.0.1
« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2013, 12:08:03 PM »

uninstalled and reinstalled drivers while cable was unplugged and we have success!

computers and machines suck, but I love them.

Can you forward me the link for the proper router setting for gaming/multiple consoles.  I saw it on here while searching on this problem but have been unable to find it since then.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28939
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: new router. cannot log into 192.168.0.1 (RESOLVED)
« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2013, 12:10:45 PM »

Glad you got it working.

Gaming and QoS for XBL

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting