• April 10, 2020, 02:39:48 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: My DNS 320L wont start at all  (Read 20940 times)

padalov

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
My DNS 320L wont start at all
« on: September 11, 2013, 09:36:29 AM »

Hello guys,

I have a problem with my device. After several months of working without problem, today I sow that the power button was blinking and cant find my device in the network. I tried to reset it and restart it, but nothing happens. Only power flashing and nothing else. I have 3Tb  Seagate plugged and I also tried to switch the places of HDD but the problem is the same. Can somebody save me :)
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: My DNS 320L wont start at all
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2013, 09:42:41 AM »

First, try powering down and unplug the unit to see if that works. Next, you may want to try performing a factory reset. While the DNS-320 is powered-up, press and hold the reset button on the rear of the unit > 9 seconds. This procedure will remove all user settings, but should not impact HDD configuration or stored data.

* Note: Although your data should not be impacted, you should always maintain a backup of your data before performing any restorative procedure such as this.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

padalov

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: My DNS 320L wont start at all
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2013, 11:16:06 PM »

I have tried to reset the unit, but nothing happens. The power led is blinking and that's it. After severel tries  I have to say that probably the unit is defective. I have other NAS that is for backup and there is no problem with the HDD.
I don't know what to do next. Maybe to go to repair service.
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: My DNS 320L wont start at all
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2013, 04:57:52 AM »

IS the DNS-320L less than one year old? If so, you should be able to have D-Link repair or replace at no cost to you.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

kredkink

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: My DNS 320L wont start at all
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2013, 11:25:42 PM »

Hello guys,

I have a problem with my device. After several months of working without problem, today I sow that the power button was blinking and cant find my device in the network. I tried to reset it and restart it, but nothing happens. Only power flashing and nothing else. I have 3Tb  Seagate plugged and I also tried to switch the places of HDD but the problem is the same. Can somebody save me :)

I think you have broken HDD. Remove your HDD an perform factory reset. For me it happened in the past month.
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: My DNS 320L wont start at all
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2013, 07:31:07 AM »

Any update on this issue? Did you try remove the HDD?
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

cmazzi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: My DNS 320L wont start at all
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2013, 08:08:24 AM »

I have the same problem.
The Nas is restarted after it has cooled.
Seems a temperature sensor problem.
I reset the device and restored the firmware but the problem is not solved.
The nas boot only when the temperature is low.
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: My DNS 320L wont start at all
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2013, 08:17:01 AM »

I have the same problem.
The Nas is restarted after it has cooled.
Seems a temperature sensor problem.
I reset the device and restored the firmware but the problem is not solved.
The nas boot only when the temperature is low.

This seems like a different issue. The OP's DNS-320L does not start at all.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

deivist

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: My DNS 320L wont start at all
« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2014, 11:43:02 AM »

maybe someone tells me, - was this problem solved? My power led always blinking, but no hdd's led, and hdd's won't turn on...
Logged

dslguru

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: My DNS 320L wont start at all
« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2015, 07:47:20 AM »

I had the same problem some days ago. I read this topic and I waited to cool down the decive, but nothing changed.
When I became very desperated, I thought that maybe I should try to cool down the NAS to lower temperature. I put it in the refrigerator and voilą, it works.
I hope I can help.

Have nice day!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48557
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: My DNS 320L wont start at all
« Reply #10 on: August 03, 2015, 07:58:50 AM »

Test the power adapters power output with a multi-meter. If the output is lower than whats posted on the sticker, then this could also be a cause of unis failing to power up or maintain operation.

I had the same problem some days ago. I read this topic and I waited to cool down the decive, but nothing changed.
When I became very desperated, I thought that maybe I should try to cool down the NAS to lower temperature. I put it in the refrigerator and voilą, it works.
I hope I can help.

Have nice day!
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FlDlkUsr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: My DNS 320L wont start at all
« Reply #11 on: January 17, 2017, 05:29:15 PM »

I'm having the same issue, today. After a power outage, I find I can power up the box itself (blinking blue light), but the disks do not start. I will wait overnight and then try again, assuming it's the temperature sensor.

One other "different" question, though.   Is it possible to pull the already formatted and full hard drives out of an older unit that has a hardware failure, place them in a new DNS-320L, and then have them fire up?  I tried this, and while both the new unit and the old disks power up, eventually the blue blinking lights of the disk drives turn "orange/red."   I'm not sure what that means. 

Any thoughts, greatly appreciated.

Thanks much!

 
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1471
Re: My DNS 320L wont start at all
« Reply #12 on: January 18, 2017, 08:28:03 AM »

You had a power outage and now things don't work.  The first thing you should do is test the output from the power brick (they can and do fail under a power surge).  Ideally you should test under load to see that it is supplying correct voltage and Amperage (12v @ 3A).  If it does not supply that voltage under load there is no way the disks will spin up.

You can also test by using another known good power supply that has the same size concentric plug and supplies 12 volts @ 3 Amps, or more.

To answer your second question.  It depends on two things, 1) how the disks were setup (which RAID, JBOD or Single disk).  RAID 1 and Single disks might work if 2) the NAS should be of the same model number and series with, preferably, the same firmware.

If you don't have those conditions then you need to read the Recovery sticky at the beginning of this forum and make a backup of your data.  You can then format the disks in the new unit and restore from that backup.
   
Logged

FlDlkUsr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: My DNS 320L wont start at all
« Reply #13 on: January 18, 2017, 09:53:54 AM »

You had a power outage and now things don't work.  The first thing you should do is test the output from the power brick (they can and do fail under a power surge).  Ideally you should test under load to see that it is supplying correct voltage and Amperage (12v @ 3A).  If it does not supply that voltage under load there is no way the disks will spin up.

The voltage is correct and adequate.  I have four (4) 320Ls mounted on the same dedicated 20amp circuit. Two of them are model A2s with 1.00 firmware.  The other two are model A3's with 1.02 firmware.  I also have two new A3's not yet in service.  The two A3's that are in service powered right up after the power outage.  The two A2's did not.  After 24 hours, they remain unable to power up the hard drives. I have switched  AC adaptors, etc. and the A3's power up with the same adaptors that the A2s were on.

To answer your second question.  It depends on two things, 1) how the disks were setup (which RAID, JBOD or Single disk).  RAID 1 and Single disks might work if 2) the NAS should be of the same model number and series with, preferably, the same firmware.

All of my "in service" 320Ls are two disks each, RAID1 configuration.  Unfortunately, the only two A2's I have are the two that no longer function properly because of the outage. All of my other 320Ls (including two new spares) are A3's with 1.02 firmware. I gather then that a disk formated under an A2 with firmware 1.00 will not function in a new case with A3 and firmware 1.02, correct?

If you don't have those conditions then you need to read the Recovery sticky at the beginning of this forum and make a backup of your data.  You can then format the disks in the new unit and restore from that backup.
   

I attempted to try the Ext2IfS executable in "read only" mode. That didn't work, as there's some kind of "incompat" flag set on the drive that the Ext2IfS module can't support (which I discovered by running the "mountdiag.exe" executable) . Apparently, the only way to resolve it now is to have the drive be read by a Linux based machine.  This means I'll have to build one (don't have one presently). That's Ok, since I may very well migrate to Linux/Ubuntu after WIN7 EOL (did not go with WIn8 or Win10). 

If there's anything else I can try, I'm happy to listen.  Otherwise, it looks like I'll be building a Linux box over the next day or two.

One other question. Is the problem of the faulty temp. sensor resolved in the A3 models of 320L? If so, then I can easily migrate to them, once I recover the data on my 2 A2s that aren't working.

Thanks.

Logged

FlDlkUsr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: My DNS 320L wont start at all
« Reply #14 on: January 19, 2017, 04:37:20 AM »

UPDATE:  I have found a free Windows based Linux file system reader that worked, and I have recovered the data on the disks.  I am now free to put the disks in my spare new A3 units and reformat them, while I search for a longer term solution.  Ultimately, I think I'll be retiring these 320L units and seeking something more reliable and that has a greater capacity.   

That said, I still am using a D-Link 24 port Gigabit switch that has performed extremely well. I'll stick with that.

Thanks for all your help.




Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3