• July 22, 2019, 12:48:12 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: How to repeat a Dir-655 signal with another router(netgear)  (Read 6349 times)

maraxion

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
How to repeat a Dir-655 signal with another router(netgear)
« on: September 10, 2013, 11:01:38 PM »

Hello.
I have a few routers at my house doing various jobs. Im curently using an netgear as a repeater for an 300Mbit jensen 1000G. To get this working I had to set the jensen to WDS mode and put the MAC adresses from the other router inside both routers. http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2745/~/how-to-set-wds-(repeater-function)-on-wndr3300%2Fwnr3500%3F

I now want to move the netgear on to the dir 655 instead.
But since the dir-655 dont have WDS, how can I get it to work since I cannot put in the netgears MAC adress? Keep in mind I dont want to use the 655 as the repeater part, just the base station.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2013, 11:11:48 PM by maraxion »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47581
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

maraxion

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: How to repeat a Dir-655 signal with another router(netgear)
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2013, 01:35:36 PM »

Ok.

But if it can be host router, then  I should be able to use another router to extend its signal?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47581
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How to repeat a Dir-655 signal with another router(netgear)
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2013, 01:40:18 PM »

Yes, something that natively bridges or extends WiFi signal from a main host router like the 655.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

maraxion

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: How to repeat a Dir-655 signal with another router(netgear)
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2013, 01:42:52 PM »

Yes, something that natively bridges or extends WiFi signal from a main host router like the 655.

So what you are saying that my pickings are slim, and that normal routers with bridging options might not work. Hm, I hoped my Netgear WNR1000V3 could do it.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47581
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How to repeat a Dir-655 signal with another router(netgear)
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2013, 02:01:50 PM »

If the NG has supported bridging or repeating fuctions, I believe it should work.

ISP modem>DIR-655<Repeated WiFi signal>NG device repeater<>Connect client devices to NG repeater.

If the NG fails or doesn't have any repeater features, You'll need to seek NG support help on this to make sure it can be properly configured.

If that doesn't work, I would recommend getting into a D-Link DAP model AP that has bridging or repeating features. There are a few models that can do this in your region:
http://www.dlink.com/uk/en/home-solutions/connect/access-points-range-extenders-and-bridges
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting