• November 18, 2019, 07:28:15 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Help - DIR 635 Guarantee  (Read 8105 times)

Dir635

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Help - DIR 635 Guarantee
« on: September 05, 2013, 08:32:34 AM »

Hi

I don't know where to post this so sorry if I'm in the wrong place,
 
I'm in the UK My DIR 635 router has stopped working, its still in guarantee. I've tried emailing (3 days ago no reply) and phoning UK Dlink for technical support. I don't know what the calls cost per minute is, but I waited 20 minutes yesterday (hoping its not a £ per minute) and gave up in the end is support always this bad with D link?

All i need is the procedure to return the unit or what ever?

Thanks for any assistance you can give me.
 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Help - DIR 635 Guarantee
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2013, 08:36:24 AM »

    Link>
Welcome!
  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?

How do you mean it's stopped working? No power? Not connecting? No Internet?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.

You'll need to remain on the phone to get your router into an RMA request...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Dir635

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Help - DIR 635 Guarantee
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2013, 12:17:48 PM »

Hi

First thanks for replying so quick

I read your reply typed out the answers to your question then struggled to figure out how to reply realised i needed to login then because I logged in lost the thread 'I'm not good with forums'.

Ok
 
Hard ware Ver.A1
Firm Ware Ver. 1.09W
Region: Iím in Cornwall, South West England
The router was wired from the modem to pc. and it was being used as wireless to the lap top
The modem is working so I have internet when the router is removed.
The power cable to the router is showing 5v with a volt meter.

I went away for a week and switched off the main was plug to all things used with the pc including the router.  After I returned and switched everything back on the router would not provide wireless internet to the lap top, I have tried the reset a couple of times.

Iím using Virgin Ėcable
With a virgin modem 256V2

I donít really understand the last part of your question list but all was fine before!
ē   Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
ē   For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
You'll need to remain on the phone to get your router into an RMA request...

So from what your saying if I understand you correctly -taking into account my answers above I would need to have everything connected and call Dlink to fix it, while on the phone?

Is that correct?


Logged

Dir635

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Help - DIR 635 Guarantee
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2013, 12:21:49 PM »

Question 

 "You'll need to remain on the phone to get your router into an RMA request..."

What does  RMA mean?

Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Help - DIR 635 Guarantee
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2013, 12:30:28 PM »


 
Hard ware Ver.A1
Firm Ware Ver. 1.09W
Region: Iím in Cornwall, South West England
The router was wired from the modem to pc. and it was being used as wireless to the lap top
The modem is working so I have internet when the router is removed.
The power cable to the router is showing 5v with a volt meter.
Is there a 5V label on the back of the router stamped into the plastic where the power plug goes? Just verifying which voltage this router uses. Some are 5v, some are 12v. Whats the voltage say on the power adapter label? Look under OUTPUT. Does the router power up at all?


I went away for a week and switched off the main was plug to all things used with the pc including the router.  After I returned and switched everything back on the router would not provide wireless internet to the lap top, I have tried the reset a couple of times.
Does a wired LAN PC connection work with the router? Can you access the routers web page at 192.168.0.1 if it powers up? If you can get it to power up and connected to the routers web page, then there could be something else thats not working right. There is newer FW available.

Iím using Virgin Ėcable
With a virgin modem 256V2
Do you know if this modem has any built in router features by chance?

I donít really understand the last part of your question list but all was fine before!
ē   Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
ē   For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
You'll need to remain on the phone to get your router into an RMA request...

So from what your saying if I understand you correctly -taking into account my answers above I would need to have everything connected and call Dlink to fix it, while on the phone?

Is that correct?

If the router fails to power up at all, you'll need to phone in and talk to D-Link support and ask for an RMA. RMA Means Return Materials Authorizaion. Just means that you'll be sending the router back to D-Link for repairs or getting another same model unit.

Be advised that this router is no longer in production or developed on.






Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Dir635

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Help - DIR 635 Guarantee
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2013, 01:39:14 PM »

Hi
it is marked 5V
Green lights are on

Unfortunately I donít have the laptop here at the moment to try your suggestion, Iíll try that tomorrow.

Iím pretty sure the modem does not have a built in router Ė no aerialís or spare connection sockets.

ďrouter is no longer in production or developed onĒ Question - What happens in this case with it still being under guarantee

Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Help - DIR 635 Guarantee
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2013, 01:44:42 PM »

Ok, let us know if you can access the web page. If you can, then theres some configurations that we can do and perform a factory reset and maybe we can get it working.

Also swap out the cable between the ISP modem and router. Link> Cat6 is recommended.

Is this guarantee from the place you bought it? Or you have information that says it's from D-Link? How long have you had this router?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Dir635

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Help - DIR 635 Guarantee
« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2013, 02:50:43 PM »

Hi

Ill try tomorrow ts an 11 year warrantee it states it in the Dlink book/info. I bought it in 2008

Thanks
Logged

Dir635

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Help - DIR 635 Guarantee
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2013, 01:38:22 AM »

Ok back

The lap top I was using last week has gone back to university with my son. so I borrowed another and attempted to connect, trouble is to connect I need a CD from the Internet provider to set it up.

Thinking about it, the test with the cable is the same test as when I put the 'modem-to router-to desktop'  that connection is by wire. it won't work then, thats the same test as using a laptop.

so that shows that the wire connection and the wireless are not working

Does that make sense?

From what you have said, the power is to the router is there because it lights up, but connections are not work wire or wirerless.

I'm guess I need to phone and get a RMA do you agree?

(I need to get it working because i'm ordering another laptop this week)

Thanks again   
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Help - DIR 635 Guarantee
« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2013, 07:20:58 AM »

Can you access the routers web page at 192.168.0.1 using the wired connection cable?

You shouldn't need any CD software to set up the router. It has a on board wizard to help you set up the router to the cable modem.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Dir635

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Help - DIR 635 Guarantee
« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2013, 08:49:55 AM »

Hi

I ment the laptop needed a cd to set it up fir network

So now
 
I've set up the modem to router to latop leaving out the desktop

browser  = server cannot be found
clicked the network icon bottom left - windows network diagnostic = this computer has limited connectivity

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Help - DIR 635 Guarantee
« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2013, 08:57:19 AM »

Is the laptop wired connected? Check to ensure that the laptops networking is set for automatic IP address obtain.

If you open up a Command Line box, Can you ping 192.168.0.1?

Do a factory reset of the 635 using the back button for 10 seconds then let go. Try the ping and routers web page once more.

If all this fails then yes, you need to RMA this unit to DLink in your region.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Dir635

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Help - DIR 635 Guarantee
« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2013, 09:13:57 AM »

Hi
I keep having to recnnect to desk top to reply

Yes wired connected
Had to look up "Check to ensure that the laptops networking is set for automatic IP address obtain".
Yes it was set on that

got to open the command line box how do i ping it, do i just put in the ip and click enter?
it says administrator>   
 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Help - DIR 635 Guarantee
« Reply #13 on: September 06, 2013, 09:16:35 AM »

ping 192.168.0.1
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Help - DIR 635 Guarantee
« Reply #14 on: September 06, 2013, 09:17:10 AM »

You can also do a ipconfig /all for me and let me know what you see there...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2